We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,612)
Filter reviews
2,612 results
Traveller rating
2,143
302
89
34
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,143
302
89
34
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club world spa lemmon grass sister property demi pool omaggio restaurant insu sky lounge short golf cart ride brunello wine rooftop bar bedroom penthouse vip area sea lions full kitchen beach access private pool washer dryer
Filter
Updating list...
1,952 - 1,957 of 2,612 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We were at the Marival Residence from Dec 11 to the 19th. I will start with the dislikes, there are only a few: we booked our vacation 3 months in advance and requested a room on the fifth floor. Several different staff members informed us that the resort was less than half full while we were there. We arrived at noon and check in was at 3. We asked about our request for the fifth floor when we arrived and we were assured with a nod and a smile from the front desk manager that they always try to grant special requests if possible. When we checked in at 3 we were given a room on the 3rd floor and told we couldn’t be on the fifth floor today, but maybe we could move tomorrow. Another couple traveled with us and requested in advance to be located close to our room. They were on the second floor in a different building. They were taken to their room in a golf cart and given a tour of the resort. We had to drag our luggage across the lobby, out the back, around the pool and over to the elevator - no tour, no golf cart, no attempt to accommodate our room request = no tip and a poor start to our holiday. We didn’t unpack that day incase we got moved to the fifth floor. Day 2 we were told no rooms available on the 5th floor. Very disappointing since it was obvious many of the rooms on 4, 5 and 6 were not in use that entire week. Ath the end of the week we didn’t leave the resort to catch our flight home until 10:15 pm and had to check out at noon. Our travel agent had also requested a late check out for us when we booked the holiday. Guess what? no late check out. We were told the night before it would cost $50 to keep it till 5 p.m but since it wasn’t very busy he would check in the morning to see if we could get it for free, In the morning the price had gone up to $169. NO WAY! At the airport we found out that another couple had paid $100 to keep the room till 7:30 that night #@! Zero points for service from the front desk. That was our main dislike. The beds were very hard, typical of other resorts we have been to. We did not like giving out our room number every time we ordered a drink, got food or took the shuttle to the beach. Why does the staff have to know that we have left our room and won’t be returning for several hours? Did not feel good about that at all. There were no cocktail menus to order drinks from. No information available at this resort on the facilities at the other resort. When we asked the concierge for information on the restaurants over there we were told it was best to go over there to find out. The concierge we booked our tours with did not give us the correct information for the length of some of the tours, be careful, the city tour left at 7:45 a. m and did not return until 6 pm and we were told it was from 9 to 3. NOT happy about that. There were at least 7 other resorts on our very large tour bus and we wasted a lot of time picking up and dropping off people. We were NOT told that if we booked a tour and didn’t show up we would be charged $50 each we found that out from talking to other guests. That didn’t happen to us because we showed up for all of them, but we should have been told that when we booked them. So be ware of that. Also beware of all the sea life in the water at the beach, make sure you take water shoes to wear in there. The dress code for dinner is not strictly adhered to. We saw several men in shorts and sandals it surprised me they were allowed in dressed like that.
On with the good stuff, lets leave the negative behind and enjoy our vacation. No towel cards, no towel game, no reservations for dinner, no waits for tables or food or drinks, remember it was less than half full. The quality of the food, drinks, and service was top notch. We tipped most of the staff and we liked that they did not stand and wait for a tip but obviously appreciated it when we did, don’t forget to leave the cash on your pillow for the cleaning staff and do it each day, not at the end of the week. The walk to the beach is about 10 mins to get to the public beach and another 10 mins to get to our private beach area., and we had to wait for someone to come with the key to open the back gate. The shuttle ride is about 5 mins, but add to that time a 5 min wait each way for the shuttle to arrive, it was never there waiting for us. We did the city tour, the snorkel tour, the canopy tour and the sunset tour. If you would like more details feel free to send me a message and I will respond. We didn’t golf, but talked to another couple who did, they paid $90 for the cart rental, and $60 for the cab ride to the golf course. All in all it was a nice vacation at a beautiful new resort and we would go back, but only if we got in on the same great sale price that we paid this time. We felt that we received very good value for the money we spent at this resort, but if a comparable sale price is not offered here again we will be going to the Riu Palace just up the road from here in March of this year for our next get away.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelcanada9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review. Rest assured we will carefully review all your comments and will take action where needed. Your input is greatly appreciated and hope to have you back in the future to give us the opportunity of showing you our improvements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We just returned from a 7 day vacation at the Residences. The hotel all in all was wonderful and we had a great time. We purchased the all inclusive package.

Rooms - We stayed in a room with a king bed and a pull out sofa which fit the 4 of us comfortably (with 2 young children). It was very beautiful and bigger than my first apartment with luxurious upgrades. Huge shower (tip- F is for HOT, as my dh thought the shower was broken for the first day thinking it meant freezing!) and we never ran out of hot water. Chandelier, a personal bottle of wine to enjoy, full stocked kitchen with a magical fridge to replace your free soda/beer/water every day. The only negative was the bed was very hard. Otherwise, the room was 5 star. On xmas eve, we even got a cookie to put out for Santa and the first night included chocolate dipped strawberries. Turn down service was poor though. Because of our children, we needed turn down at 8 pm. Out of the 7 days we were there, this only happened 3 times. 4 more they were late or didn't come at all. Once, they incessantly rang the doorbell at 10:30pm awaking everyone. (we did not have a privacy door hanger so that is my fault for not requesting one but I thought it was still late to ring someones door.) There were 2 bathrooms and a washer/dryer which was great for drying off the swimsuits. The room was kept very clean and all the rooms faced the ocean! They were very quite and we never heard any noise from the outside.

Food - the food was great and a huge selection. There are 3 restaurants to choose from. Upstairs is the Insú Sky Bar. There is a beautiful view and the food was my favorite here. It served things like sushi, shrimp cocktail, more appetizer like. My daughter's chicken strips were amazing and the tuna was to die for. They have more drink selections too. I ordered mango martinis and there was a larger collection to choose from. The staff was the most accommodating here as well and spoke the most fluent English.
Lemongrass is in the middle. I personally did not care for the food here for lunch. They served a breakfast buffet which was nice as I had made to order omelets most of my stay. I was most upset at the quality of the staff in this part. One of the day waiters was downright rude at times and the English was very poor so we often had to explain in detail what we wanted. 1/2 the time they either got it wrong or didn't come back at all. We had christmas dinner here one night and the food was amazing as well as the service so it seemed to turn around later in the day.
Omaggio - they had theme nights here. They had a Mexican food night, Italian, seafood, special xmas eve meal with lobster and steak... Each night had a full menu to choose from and there was a small buffet for kid's foods. The steak was my favorite and the tuna my husbands. No matter how busy it was though, the service was very slow which is really hard with little kids as they get bored easy. I would still prefer it over most all inclusive as who ever heard of gourmet food 3 meals a day?
You can also eat at all of the restaurants in the sister resort. The steak one was best but you need to give them reservations at least a day in advance. Most of the food there was downright awful which made me appreciate staying at the residence even more.

Pools/activities/etc : This resort is more geared to those that are there to relax. Any activities happened over at the sister resort. I was disappointed to learn that the yoga/pilates classes were over at the other resort and in a musty run down gym. I would have loved to had them at the residences. The pools were very clean and the service by the pool was nice. They even go by with a cart filled with sun lotions and magazines. The beach is easily accessed by either a short walk (it took us around 10 minutes) or you could wait for a transfer (the drive and wait was about the same). The nice thing was that there wasn't a lot of loud children and activity so you could truly sit by the pool and rest. There was a kid's club that is supposed to be open at 9. We went to use it once and it was closed. You also can't use it and do off tours so it didn't matter much. We were hoping to do a bike tour but it would have been against the rules anyway.
The other hotel was very loud and busy so I was thankful for this peace. As far as the other hotel, there is a special vip section for the residence guests which is VERY nice. While the rest of the resort is sipping their free drinks in plastic tumblers, you get top of the line treatment - bed like chairs, upgraded dishes, luxurious towels, lotions, magazines, eat on the beach... It really made me feel special.

Tours - we did the zipline, dophins, and yapalas tour. All were amazing. Do bring extra pesos though as we weren't prepared for all the transfer fees. They range from $35-$200 pesos so not expensive but it is helpful to have many small bills (we used 20 peso bills the most). Also, always ask the taxi drivers first how much it cost to get to point a and b as this can vary widely and ask your hotel how much it should cost too)

All in all, thank you for a great vacation Marival. We have already mentioned you to several friends and family and you made our stay enjoyable. Special thanks to Carlos and Reggie as they were a constant presence and available noon and night to make you feel truly special.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snapdragon96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2011

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for such detailed review, we really appreciate it as it helps us monitor our improvement areas. Your review will be shared with the administration and will be carefully considered. Also thank you for recommending us to your friends and we hope to have you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed at Marival Residences in December, Booked through Transat Holidays. Thank you Transat for a great flight both ways with complimentary meals and excellent service.
Our experience at Marival was the best we have had at an all inclusive property. Residence was beautiful and kept spotless for our entire stay. Meals were excellent with varied choices. Drinks were wonderful, and room service was free. We loved the free excursions and took advantage of sealion encounter, city trip, ziplining and sunset sail. The concierges were professional and courteous and always eager to help make our stay enjoyable. Unfortunately this experience has left us reluctant to stay anywhere else but the Marival in future, and we will be back. Thank You Marival for showing us the true spirit of the Nuevo Vallarta area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albertagirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Dear Traveler: Thank you for your review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation with us and even more to learn that you will be back :) Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Our stay could not of been better the service and staff were wonderful.
Weather was great!
After this we will never go anywhere on SUNWING!!!!!!!!
Please do not waste your money on Elite Plus you get absolutely nothing that any other passenger gets for free!!!!!!!!
As a matter of fact our plane was not full and passengers from the back of the plane just came up to the front and made themselves comfortable in the larger seats (which are a joke they are not 35" leg room) and you get NO pillow and No champagne
After paying 160.00 for this we have put in a complaint to see about a cash refund but apparently they have recieved a lot of complaints so it will take awhile to hear back.
Please dont be put off by the flight because the resort was wonderful!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mobile808738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2010

Dear Traveler: Thank you for you review, we love to hear our guests enjoyed their vacation with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We returned from our 7-day stay at Residences last Thursday and what a sad day that was for us as we came back to below zero temperatures and tons of snow. We had decided to join my parents who have been repeat guests at Marival for approx. 20 years now. They were sent over to Residences last March and came home with such high praise and unbelievable menus that we decided to hook up with them for the last leg of their holiday. We have traveled extensively and are very demanding guests and I have to say that this resort definitely delivers on its' promise of a luxurious all-inclusive. The bonus for us was that my parents were well known by staff and that certainly contributed to heightening our total experience.

As a restaurant critic and ecstatic foodie, I was much impressed by the quality of the food, the effort and creativity that goes into the regular menus in each location on premises as well as at the VIP Beach Club (YUM!) in addition to the daily specials. The executive chef, Alfredo Jiménez, has had extensive experience catering to the very discrimating at the Beverly Hills Four Seasons Hotel and is passionate about what he does. The private Beach Club offers VIP service, canoped beach beds and fabulous food and drinks. Julieta and Ernesto who are members of Edith's team are a delight and cannot do enough for your comfort and pleasure. A real treat!

Back at the Residences, not to be missed is sunset hour up at Insu, the fabulous sky lounge. Fernando who manages this stunning location, is a master of his art and I could not believe that he had only started his new challenge 9 days prior to our arrival. He made it feel as though he had been part of the Marival landscape forever and treated us like royalty. The Marival family is a tight knit group of hospitality professionals which will stop at nothing to make your stay absolute perfection. A note to Amanda who had a bottles of my favourite bubbly transfered over to Residences in sufficient quantities to cater to us for the duration of our stay. Daphne runs a tight ship and the staff is ever so eager to please and will fulfill any request with a smile and a pretty good sens of urgency for Mexico...

The rooms are stunning and comfortable. If there was one criticism was that the beds were a little too firm for my liking but the nice fluffy pillows balanced the whole experience out. Also, I was grateful for none of that standard touristy mexican music usually pipped in to every nook and cranny of Mexican resorts. The music was very lounge and pleasant reflecting the high-end quality of the resort. It definitely contributed to setting the right mood for a different kind of guest. Carlos, the concierge, is an angel on wheels and Mariette the sweetest and most efficient wedding planner you would ever want to meet (Note for those who are looking for the perfect destination to get married at, no glitches here guys!). Can't forget a special mention for Reggie, my party guy and resident PR expert.

The people Residences made this vacation as wonderful as it was and they are far too numerous to name. The trainees are well indentified, but are as effective as the regular staff. I was not as keen about the food over at Marival although the menus were well thought out with interesting elements, it was inconsistent at best. My husband got in a few wonderful games of golf. Green fees are included, all you have to pay for is your cart and cab ride there and back. He raved about the conditions and feels very privileged to have played on these world renowned courses. Last but not least, how many resorts do you know of that actually include excursions as part of the all-inclusive experience, well this resort does and they are not shabby at all. A couple went with their kids on the Catamaran outting, snorkeled, saw dolphins and whales and really enjoyed their day. We went out on the City tour and it was well worth the trip to see Puerto Vallarta if you have not visited this wonderful City. Another short outing you can do on your own is Bucerias where the market deals are better that in the City.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the whole Residences Team for making our experience unforgettable. We have found a new family in Nuevo Vallarta.

Cheers, Shawn

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shawnmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2010

Dear Traveler: Thank you for your wonderful review! we liked it so much, that it was posted it on our other media networks and will definitely share it with all hotel personnel. Thank you again and we hope we can serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews