We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Grand Mayan and pools
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grand Mayan and pools
Grand Mayan Water Park Grand Mayan and Pools
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Grand Mayan and pools
Grand Mayan Water Park
Grand Mayan and Pools
Bedroom
Dining Area/Kitchen
Living room
Grand Mayan Kiddie Pool
Main Buildings
On-site golf course
room layout
Grand Mayan Water Park
On the Back 9
On the Front 9
Water Slide at the Grand Mayan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nuevo Vallarta, Pacific Coast

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
SoyMaye
Chula Vista, California, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Once you got used to the confusion of the shuttles and taking so many to get to the exit everything was fabulous. I never felt pressured to buy a time share which made our stay so relaxing and wonderful. You feel a little secluded at first but once you settle in you don't want to leave. Took morning walks everyday which were beautiful no matter what course you decided to take. The grounds are just breathtaking. If I had a complaint it would be that it's geared for families and the pools are way to shallow. Overall though, the place is beautiful and I would stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Thank you for your nice reply. I'm glad you had a great vacation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddjwms
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed, But Still a Great Stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I have put off writing this review because I couldn't decide what to say. We had a great time at the Grand Mayan and would go back in a minute. It is a beautiful place with great pools and friendly--if very slow--employees. And yet, we had the same problems as everyone else and then some. Yes, it is a vast place, hard to get around. Our son and daughter-in-law who were with us had an infant and a toddler. But when we tried to get to our car, they would have to load the stroller and little ones onto one shuttle, then get off and walk through the transportation center and catch another shuttle, loading and unloading everything again. And yes, there are lots of restaurants, but they are all very expensive. But our major disappointment was that we chose this destination for two reasons: the good things we had heard about the Lazy River and the inviting pictures of the children's water area on their website. We had read some reviews the week before we went that said the Lazy River had been closed, so we called and asked about it. We were assured that it was open. Well, you guessed it: we got there, and it was closed. In fact, it stayed closed the whole week we were there. And not only that, but the children's area had been closed for renovations! So while we enjoyed our stay, it was not what we had envisioned. I don't want anyone to think that it isn't a great place: it is. And we had a great time despite the problems. But we were disappointed.
We had a two bedroom condo, and we agreed to the timeshare presentation in order to get upgraded to an oceanview room. It was worth it to us, although the presentation dragged on and on, but we just kept saying "no" till we finally escaped.
Our grandson loved the plunge pool on the balcony as well as the waterslide by the wave pool.
As others have noted, the stoves in the kitchen don't heat up very quickly, but we did discover that the back burners are faster than the front. The fridge is small; there is no dishwasher; bring your own salt and pepper and anything else you might want for cooking in the room.
But despite all the negatives, it is a great place, beautifully landscaped, clean and safe. You will have a great time in beautiful pools and beautiful surroundings. We did, despite everything...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pools
Liked least: That the Lazy River and children's pool area were closed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Property too large”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wasted our money and time staying at this resort. Had to take golf cats no matter where you had to go on the property. Purchased coupons for dinner and was restricted to what we could order on the menu. We were asked to attend a 90 minute meeting which lasted 6 1/2 hours , these people don't take "no" for an answer. Never do we want to see this place again. I would recommend highly Paradise Village.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Sorry you had such a bad time of it--most of our clients love the resort and everything it has to offer. I wish you had reserved with us because we send all our clients a document which discusses how to handle the sales people and provides a complete discussion of the resort. Your experience with the sales people is certainly the record--our experience has been much less than 6 1/2 hours, but we tell our people to not take the tours and presentations; not a requirement. You just have to say no quickly and firmly, or better just don't take the tour.

Yes the resort is big with large pools and beautiful gardens. Lots of people like the large size and availability of pools and restaurants. But we have found that the shuttles take you where you want to go in 5-10 minutes.

As to restaurants, we don't recommend the resort's meal plan and coupons. Our understanding was that sometimes you had to use two coupon for the expensive entrees, but otherwise you could get anything. Actually, we like to go to the large number of good restaurants a short distance from the resort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macorry
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, more pluses than minuses”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful resort that is constantly being expanded. The resort includes the Mayan Palace, the Grand Mayan, the Luxe and the Bliss. We are owners at the Grand Mayan and stayed over the Thanksgiving week. The rooms are lovely, very spacious and clean and we had a fabulous view. (Ask for rooms on the 4th floor or higher. Odd numbered rooms face the beach.) There are several pools, a lazy river, a wave pool with a partial sand bottom and a giant water slide. All the pools are kept very clean and the landscaping on the resort is really lovely. The property is beachfront and the beach area is also clean and well maintained, stocked with umbrellas and beach chairs. It is a nice sandy beach, great for body surfing and just splashing. Jet skis and banana boat rides are available for rent, as well as parachute rides.
There are several restaurants on the property and the food and drinks were always of high quality but more expensive than what you would pay in Puerto Vallarta. Service is excellent.

The only negatives are the high price of internet, about $85 a week (and it's very unreliable), the fact that they want to charge for the water bottles and the coffee that are placed in the room. (Most high end resorts would provide that free of charge - at least to owners). Also the new property configuration makes it very inconvenient to get a taxi to go to town.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pam3535
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good for children”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The suite was very nice,more modern than old mexico. very clean & staff cleaning good.

check-in was nightmare. arrived at 11:30 & not in room til 5:30. seemed they were delaying on purpose to endure the unending sales staff. You do not get a choice for ocean view rooms,unless owner. room nice,but no view & outside staff area which was noisey all through night.

seemed they were constant effort to get additional monies--charge for safe inroom,wifi,towels. even though prepaid for week,additional nightly charge of $5.82.

restaurants on grounds good,but no for low cost quick. Unless could be guaranteed better choice of room,would not return . If you are considering buying, think hard. Unless owners get better rooms--

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2013
Sorry you got such a bad room and a bad experience--next time you might rent through us. Our customers always get free Wi-Fi, free in-room safes, and towels. And, since we are high-priority owners, our guests almost always get high-floor, ocean view. The restaurants at the resorts are lovely, but there are also several lower cost, and very good, options within a short walking distance from the resort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing