We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful room in a full service resort provided...”
other travellers have booked this property
Grand Mayan and pools
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grand Mayan and pools
Grand Mayan Water Park Grand Mayan and Pools
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Grand Mayan and pools
Grand Mayan Water Park
Grand Mayan and Pools
Bedroom
Dining Area/Kitchen
Living room
Grand Mayan Kiddie Pool
Main Buildings
On-site golf course
room layout
Grand Mayan Water Park
On the Back 9
On the Front 9
Water Slide at the Grand Mayan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nuevo Vallarta, Pacific Coast

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
triplets4...
seattle, wa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful room in a full service resort provided a very relaxing vacation!”
Reviewed 1 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite in the Grand Bliss for a week. Our hosts were very considerate and made sure we had all information we needed before our trip and checked in during our week. The room was huge. Two full bedrooms and bathrooms and a kitchen and sitting area. The Bliss pool is my favorite and only steps from the beach. We spent our days going back and forth, swimming, reading, and relaxing. Our hosts provided a free round of golf and a 2 for 1 spa treatment (and we used both). We ate outside every night and a couple of times on the beach enjoying music and shows provided by the resort. It was a perfect vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2018
Thanks for your great review. Please come back again. Dean and Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyCoop
Stratford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Luxurious Time-Share Resort”
Reviewed 27 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed here with another couple the second week of December. We booked a two bedroom suite but it is really a one bedroom suite with a connector door to another full room with a king bed so we had lots of room. Check in was fairly quick and painless. We were asked once to attend the Time Share breakfast and when we said no the woman got her boss to come over and ask us again but we said no, and that was the end of it. We were never bothered again. The check in lobby is gorgeous! We walked to the Grand Mayan hotel where you check in again to get your room key (which is a bracelet - very convenient!). WE did not get an ocean view but were on the 8th floor and it was fine. Yes you overlook the staff parking garage which at times was noisy but the mountains are in the distance and we enjoyed many mornings and evenings on the balcony with drinks and playing cards. The first evening therewe walked to the Harvest Moon restaurant on the beach for a dinner with great service and watched the sunset. WE were starving after a long day of traveling from Toronto.The next day we walked to the main taxi stand area where they called us a cab and went got groceries at the Mega (like a Costco but no membership is required). WE bought breakfast and lunch stuff and ate dinner out every night. Our cabbie even waited for us and it cost us $20 US round trip! The grounds are spectacular! tons of different pools and the lazy river is great! the Joy Squad staff are amazing and we played Tequilla Volleyball every day at 2pm! Liz, Alejandro, America, Sergio, Matt and Manuel (and more!) are great! Yes, people reserve chairs early in the morning but we never had too much trouble finding 4 chairs together. We brought our own drinks down with us in "bubbas" and never had any problem. We did buy some Happy hour drinks 3-4 times. The food at the pools are expensive but very good. Tip: Walk up the beach to the Sea Garden hotel (a Vidanta hotel) and walk through the loobby and up the street to Eddies and Azzuro. We ate at both twice - excellent food and service. Azzuro is Italian, Eddies is a variety of Mexcian and very very good! There is a drug sotre and a variety store too if you want to buy water, etc. I would highly recommend you buy bottled water to drink. The water from the tap at the hotel tasted like chemicals and we hated it. We even used bottled water to make coffee in the room. You can buy some food at the small store on the resort at La Plaza but it is quite expensive. Bring your own coffee from home - as they will charge you if you use the coffee they provide in the room. The kitchen was fairly well equipped and the beds were comfy - lots of pillows and bed was made up every day and turn down service at night. We did tip each maid. We went on the Rhythms of the Night excursion by Vallarta Adventures and it was worth every penny! The boat ride was so much fun. It was all you can drink there plus they have an amazing staff! Very funny and keep you entertained. The buffet dinner on the beach was excellent with torch lights providing a romantic ambiance. The show was Cirque du Soliel style and amazing! Loved it! Very well done from beginning to the end when we were dropped off at the marina. We also took a cab into Puerto Vallarta one morning and enjoyed walking around the ocean side market there. Had lunch and bought a few trinkets. I would also recommend you take the first day or two to just walk the resort paths to get acquainted with your surroundings. There is so much to see just doing a nice walk around - I did this one morning alone and it was lovely and quiet. We loved our holiday here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2017
Thanks for the review. We are happy you had a great time. You provided some excellent tips for future guests.

Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellylirw...
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect no brainer vacation for a family with kids that love pools!”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a one week vacation & the owners were very attentive to our needs. They were able to secure an ocean front room for us - which was perfect & also arrange free transportation to the resort from the airport (which is very close)! We bought groceries for breakfasts but ate most lunches down by the pool/at the beach. The food was great (not cheap but not overly horrendous). We went off site each evening for dinner & to experience some culture - El Dinamita, Fajita Republic were 2 of our faves. The resort has a great gym, kids club, pingpong, pool, lazy river, water slides, wave pools etc. etc. Perfect vacation for everyone! Time Share guys try to suck you in at check in & then call throughout the week but we just gave them a firm 'no thanks' right from the get go & that was all it took.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Level of service & amenities.
Liked least: Havana Moon Restaurant
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you Kelly. We very much appreciated your kind review. Let us know if we can help you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelc7...
Hayward, California
1 review
“Slight of hand”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Be warned that Grand Mayan will promise you one thing and deliver another. Loud construction noise started before 7am, even on weekends. When the Mayan resorts push owners to upgrade, they coincidentally shut off the air conditioning so the old buildings get the stench of mildew, close easy access roads so that you have to drive 2km, pay through the nose for parking and then walk 15min to get to your building, they put in only 3W worth of lighting in the bathroom (barely useful for a nightlight, much less to apply makeup) and otherwise let the building fall apart. They have the pushiest hardcore timeshare salespeople around, trying to sell their timeshares and, once you buy, they only put you in the worst rooms. Forget about a view of the ocean unless you're trading in with RCI. When we first arrived and asked for assistance with our disabled parents to make the now 15min hike to the building (that we used to be able to drive right up to), they flatly refused any assistance. Keep in mind that their staff are still allowed to drive right up to everything (certainly, it is such a hike that their own staff have Segways and golf carts) but all the direct access roads staff use have signs up stating that residents aren't allowed. We can walk to within a few meters from the public road (certainly, our building is right next to the public street) but they put up a chicken-wire fence (that residents keep tearing down - can't imagine why...) to keep you in. They even have an electronic gate that grants easy access to the street for their staff but residents are forbidden to use it, they're so intent on keeping you in the resort, presumably to keep you spending money at their overpriced (and not very good) restaurants. This is what I imagine Bernie Madoff is experiencing at Club Fed. On the plus side, the water park was lots of fun, while it worked. Too bad the lazy river has been offline for a month (seriously, what could possibly take a full month to fix?!?) and the water is cold. I was wondering why people were occasionally doing push-ups in the wave pool until I felt the water temperature and realized they were doing it to keep warm. These were people with more 'natural insulation' than I so I could only take it for a few minutes. I would recommend here only if you trade in (get a good room), like cold water parks that may not work and prefer an expensive cruise ship experience. Staff was nice but not able to address problems bigger than dead remote batteries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Water park
Liked least: Designed like a prison to keep you in
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Gosh, I wish you had rented with us. We can often steer our clients around issues such as yours and always give them a nice FAQs document that discusses the resort. We had several clients staying there in January and none of them mentioned the lack of air conditioning or the lazy river not running.

Here are some other comments.

We are currently down here (Feb, 2016) and the construction at the Grand Mayan entrance is finished.

I don't remember the air conditioning being off in the 15 years we have been going here.

The resort stopped all car traffic between buildings about three years ago and replaced it with a system of shuttles that come regularly to take you between the buildings. We don't recommend taking a car here (unless you live in Mexico) as it's much cheaper to take taxis. Also they provide free transportation from the airport. The staff certainly can't drive into the resort and Segues are only used by the waiters on the beach

It is a short walk from the Grand Mayan to the shuttles, much closer to the Grand Bliss, and door-to-door from the Grand Luxxe. I admit it is a problem for disabled. We have been told that with a 15-minute request they can provide a wheelchair. Or you can rent your own wheelchair ($20 per day plus $40 delivery, cheaper by the week) or scooter ($40 per day plus $40 delivery, cheaper by the week).

I can't believe the Lazy River was off-line for a month—perhaps for a few days for maintenance. We have seen it closed for a few days only once in the 50 or so weeks we have been here. It's running fine now.

We agree with you that the timeshare people are pushy. We always recommend to our clients that they just say no, politely. If they continue, just say no, rudely.

Finally, RCI and other time-share traders are generally given the worst rooms, rather than the best. What you described certainly sounded like what they would give non-members coming in from other timeshare companies.

I'd like to hear more about your bad experiences. Please email us and we can continue this discussion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoyMaye
Chula Vista, California, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Once you got used to the confusion of the shuttles and taking so many to get to the exit everything was fabulous. I never felt pressured to buy a time share which made our stay so relaxing and wonderful. You feel a little secluded at first but once you settle in you don't want to leave. Took morning walks everyday which were beautiful no matter what course you decided to take. The grounds are just breathtaking. If I had a complaint it would be that it's geared for families and the pools are way to shallow. Overall though, the place is beautiful and I would stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Thank you for your nice reply. I'm glad you had a great vacation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddjwms
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed, But Still a Great Stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I have put off writing this review because I couldn't decide what to say. We had a great time at the Grand Mayan and would go back in a minute. It is a beautiful place with great pools and friendly--if very slow--employees. And yet, we had the same problems as everyone else and then some. Yes, it is a vast place, hard to get around. Our son and daughter-in-law who were with us had an infant and a toddler. But when we tried to get to our car, they would have to load the stroller and little ones onto one shuttle, then get off and walk through the transportation center and catch another shuttle, loading and unloading everything again. And yes, there are lots of restaurants, but they are all very expensive. But our major disappointment was that we chose this destination for two reasons: the good things we had heard about the Lazy River and the inviting pictures of the children's water area on their website. We had read some reviews the week before we went that said the Lazy River had been closed, so we called and asked about it. We were assured that it was open. Well, you guessed it: we got there, and it was closed. In fact, it stayed closed the whole week we were there. And not only that, but the children's area had been closed for renovations! So while we enjoyed our stay, it was not what we had envisioned. I don't want anyone to think that it isn't a great place: it is. And we had a great time despite the problems. But we were disappointed.
We had a two bedroom condo, and we agreed to the timeshare presentation in order to get upgraded to an oceanview room. It was worth it to us, although the presentation dragged on and on, but we just kept saying "no" till we finally escaped.
Our grandson loved the plunge pool on the balcony as well as the waterslide by the wave pool.
As others have noted, the stoves in the kitchen don't heat up very quickly, but we did discover that the back burners are faster than the front. The fridge is small; there is no dishwasher; bring your own salt and pepper and anything else you might want for cooking in the room.
But despite all the negatives, it is a great place, beautifully landscaped, clean and safe. You will have a great time in beautiful pools and beautiful surroundings. We did, despite everything...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pools
Liked least: That the Lazy River and children's pool area were closed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Property too large”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wasted our money and time staying at this resort. Had to take golf cats no matter where you had to go on the property. Purchased coupons for dinner and was restricted to what we could order on the menu. We were asked to attend a 90 minute meeting which lasted 6 1/2 hours , these people don't take "no" for an answer. Never do we want to see this place again. I would recommend highly Paradise Village.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Sorry you had such a bad time of it--most of our clients love the resort and everything it has to offer. I wish you had reserved with us because we send all our clients a document which discusses how to handle the sales people and provides a complete discussion of the resort. Your experience with the sales people is certainly the record--our experience has been much less than 6 1/2 hours, but we tell our people to not take the tours and presentations; not a requirement. You just have to say no quickly and firmly, or better just don't take the tour.

Yes the resort is big with large pools and beautiful gardens. Lots of people like the large size and availability of pools and restaurants. But we have found that the shuttles take you where you want to go in 5-10 minutes.

As to restaurants, we don't recommend the resort's meal plan and coupons. Our understanding was that sometimes you had to use two coupon for the expensive entrees, but otherwise you could get anything. Actually, we like to go to the large number of good restaurants a short distance from the resort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing