We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
twinsis48
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Grand Velas, Nuevo Vallarta from 2-12-12 to 2-19-12, Suite 735. We had an uneventful flight, non-stop, Newark to Puerto Vallarta. Trip to the resort was easy using the VIP Services provided by the hotel. Check-in was a breeze. We stayed at Casa Velas last year and even though we loved that resort we wanted to try something new this year and I am so glad we did. Grand Velas is amazing. The suite was a very nice size with a separate bedroom and great view. Pools are large and lounges plentiful. Drinks and food provided in this area are served by very friendly staff who go out of their way to make sure you have anything you want. The food in all of the restaurants is exceptional. Our favorite is Pilaf, the French restaurant. We ate there 3 times. My husband and I live 2 hours from Philadelphia and 1 1/2 hours from Manhattan, are real foodies and appreciate all that goes into creating a fine dining experience. Grand Velas was right on in every way. I have been to numerous spas, both destination and day. My spa experience here was the best I have ever had. Of course, the service is exceptional in every way by everyone we had the pleasure of dealing with. I can't wait to return in October with my twin sister and her husband and my mother and her husband. We celebrate our wedding anniversaires on the 21st and 22nd and can't think of a better place to do it. One more, very important thing I want to stress. We felt very safe both while at the resort and while traveling by taxi all over the area to play golf. A trip to Puerto Vallarta, and a Velas property will be a vacation you won't soon forget!

Room Tip: room 735 was centrally located with great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twinsis48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,997
    289
    65
    30
    31
See reviews for
872
839
27
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This place was amazing. Huge rooms, friendly staff, wonderful buffet, beautiful pool, restaurant food was truly 5-star. I'll be back. (I'm not going to comment on value, since work paid for this trip as a perk)

Room Tip: I think they all face the beach, so, they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericpeltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Note that this is written from the perspective of paying $700/night for a luxury all-inclusive stay. At $500 all on, I would give this 4 or 4.5 stars.

Facilities - magnificent. Pool is beautifully laid out, spacious. Never a problem getting chaise lounges. Our room, an oceanfront suite, was big, modern, and comfortable, with fantastic views of the beach and the ocean. The beds were first class. 

Food - generally good but not always terrific. The poolside and casual dining were universally good. The main casual dining room, Azul, has a fantastic view of the beach and the surf. The menus in the better restaurants were uniformly enticing, but the main dishes were disappointing to us.The restaurants are beautiful, if a little overly formal feeling.

Poolside service - enthusiastic and friendly. Mostly someone is checking on you all the time. The last day we were there, they seemed short staffed, so it wasn't perfect.

Restaurant service - Restaurant service is friendly but not as professional as they should be. Pacing is terrible - in the better restaurants, we were rushed through our meals a couple of times. 

Experience - Hit and miss. It was fabulous at times, other times frustrating. Our main complaint is that there was a convention there at the same time as us, and this caused problems sometimes. We couldn't actually get into any of the better restaurants one night (one was closed), requiring us to go to the concierge to get squeezed in, which was a hassle and should not be necessary. There were a lot of people there that, in our opinion, couldn't have paid anything close to the $600-700/night that we were. Nobody likes to feel like a sucker.

Concierge - fail. We went a couple of times to ask simple questions. Instead, we were subjected to hard selling for the spa, and for a time share promotion. I know it's Mexico, but it's not OK at the price point we were paying. I felt sorry for the woman doing it, she seemed friendly enough, and was obviously under orders, but that doesn't excuse it.

In room Wifi - near fail. It cost $10-15/day, which is bad enough at an otherwise all-inclusive resort. What made it worse was that the second device option we paid for didn't work, and when I went down to the business center to sort it out, I got put on the phone with a service rep (they outsource this service, it's not billed to your room)....and after spending 10 minutes on the phone being the diagnostician for the company, hung up in disgust. So I got wifi, but they need to look at the whole setup, it's not appropriate for a 5 star hotel.

Overall I doubt we'll be back, at anything close to the price point we paid. This resort should not be benchmarked against the Four Seasons or St Regis, it's not in the same class.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ensco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here for New Year's and have stayed at the Grand Velas Riviera Maya (our favorite!) as well. We had a large room with a view of the ocean. The living room and bedroom were spacious and comfortable.

The food at the restaurants was delicious and had good variety. The pool-side service was great. Throughout the resort, the staff is very welcoming, helpful, and friendly.

The swimming pools and beach are beautiful. Our only complaint about the pool was the adults-only pool is quite small and there was a constant stream of kids getting in the pool, only to be asked by the staff to return to the family pool. Some of the kids were quite rude to the staff, despite a clearly posted sign that said adults-only.

The Wi-Fi isn't good at the resort. There are only 1-2 computers with internet access in the business center and there were usually people waiting to use the computers.

We attended the New Year's celebration dinner at the resort. The entertainment was pretty cheezy (magicians and singers), but the fireworks show at midnight was definitely impressive.

Overall, the resort is beautiful and luxurious, the service is excellent, and the food is wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyctraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I've stayed at numerous luxury all-inclusive properties and have to say Grand Velas deserves to be called a luxury property. From the moment of check-in to our departure, everything was perfect.

We were greeted by name even though we arrived by taxi (how did they know) - we never had to go to the front desk for our keys or provide a credit card, our concierge kept us comfortable on over-sized sofa's while we were refreshed with cold aromatic towels and a tasty beverage. Within minutes we were on our way to our fabulous room.

It was exactly what we ordered and then some. It had a large balcony overlooking the ocean and pool with comfortable clean furniture. Our mini bar was stocked with beer, wine, soft drinks, bottled water and snacks and a variety of alcohol. We also had a nice coffee maker with a variety of coffees.

Our bathroom had a nice bath amenities and plush over-sized bath towels. The bed was very comfortable with fabulous sheets, down pillows and a fluffy down duvet. We also had nice robes, slippers and a wicker basket for use at the beach.

Our room smelled clean and fresh and everything was in perfect working order. We had an oversized juccuzi tub in our bathroom that had a flexible wall to open or close for privacy.

The food in all four restaurants was exceptional and the service superb! We enjoyed the heated pool and hot tubs which are hard to find in Mexico. The bartenders were friendly and remembered our favorite beverages from day to day which added to the overall experience of feeling pampered.

Speaking of pampering, we enjoyed spa treatments that were out of this world. Our massages and aromatherapy treatments were close to the best we've ever experienced. I can't wait to go back.

I am so happy we stayed at Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta and would recommend it to even the most discerning guests.

Room Tip: High floor for best views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ARubins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

What a wonderful place!! The food is awesome. Every restaurant had many menu choices and everything we had was fine dining and excellent. The Azul buffet was very good, a nice setting and lots of choices. The staff is so accomodating. They have all been very well trained on customer service and they all go out of their way to get you anything you need. Very friendly, and they know your name after the first day.
There are lots of little surprises like a massage when you check in, and mini massages every day around the pool, popsicle wagon, fresh fruit and juices poolside, and they even come around and clean your sunglasses.
We were upgraded to a suite with a hot tub and private balcony. Our room very clean and confortable with every amenity you could want. With 24 hour room service and great customer service, what more could one ask for?
This is a beautiful place, and the grounds very well maintained with lots of flowers and greenery. Three pools and a large hot tub deck by the beach make it a perfect day spot.
We stayed at this resort Jan29-feb4th. The weather was great, cool at night so you don't need to turn on the ac. We will definitely return next year! Loved it!!

Room Tip: All the room seemed nice. We booked a parlor suite ocean view, but got upgraded to a penthouse ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank twofromcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the Grand Velas, Nov 25th - Dec 5th. It's the nicest hotel we have stayed at in Mexico. The hotel seemed to be at 30% occupancy at the time and we really had a quite and relaxing vacation.

Us:
Family of three, including a 10 year old daughter. We visit Vallarta about twice a year and have stayed at the Melia, Riu Vallarta, Riu Palace Pacifico and Vallarta Palace in the past.

Arrival and check in:
We took a cab from the airport which always works out the best for us. The check in is done at the lobby sitting area instead of standing at the counters. You are given a hibiscus welcome drink and a choice of a 5 min head or hands massage. You are also given cold towels to refreshen up. Instead of the usual plasticky all inclusive bracelets you are given what looks like a designer bracelet of soft material. Someone escorts you to the room and
shows you around and provides details regarding the room and the hotel. They take time and explain every detail which we found to be quite useful. You are also asked what time you prefer the room to be cleaned and the turn down times. BTW, these times were never followed but still... Best check process we have ever experienced.

Room:
We had booked a standard room and were placed on the third floor overlooking the gardens and the pools. No view of the ocean whatsoever. Lower floor rooms are blocked by the big palm trees. The room iteself was very spacious, 900+ sq. feet. It had a hugh balcony with a day bed, almost like a small room in itself. The bathroom was big with very nice bath amenities. There was a flat screen TV and a DVD player. There were three phones in the room, including one in the toilet. The safe is of good size and will fit standard size laptops. The fridge had water, sodas and three kinds of beer, Heineken, coors and something else. Hard liquor is provided through room service. You get to order two bottles at any given time. Once a bottle is empty they will come and replace it with your choice of liquor. We ordered Don Julio and 1800 reposado. They have premium liquors here, just ask to see the menu. Our room did not have one but the rooms also include a beach bag that you can use.

Be sure to get room serivce. The menu is extensive and better than the ones at a la cartes at other resorts. They will bring a table and set it up, either in the room or the balcony. The setting is just as if you were in the sit down restaurants and the food choices and quality is amazing. Rooms also have a snack tray that has an amazing variety of chips, nuts, chocolate and food bars, etc.

Food:
The resort has three AAA four diamond a la carte restaurants for dinner. Frida(mexican), Piaf(French) and Lucca( Italian-Mediterranean). The concierge was nice to provide us advance reservations for all 9 evenings to these restaurants. They have menus for these restaurants online at their website that you can take a look at in advance. There was always live music being played and the decor and the overall dining experience was excellent. The food was gourmet quality and easily the best among all a la carte restaurants we have ate at, at other resorts. We enjoyed eating a variety of dishes including escargot, veal, osso bucco, lamb, seafood, and more. Desserts here are delicious also.

You also have the ocean front Azul restaurant which serves buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can also order off the menu at Azul. It has some very nice choices in case you want something other than what's at the buffet. The ocean front view at Azul is awesome.

Resort grounds:
Very nice grounds. Three levels of infinity pools all at different temperatures, nicest pools we have encountered in Mexico. Three restrooms on three sides of the pools, never a far walk away. There is an awesome poolside snack bar that you can go to or they will take your order poolside and serve you at your loungers in trays. And these are no ordinary snacks like hotdogs, burgers and fries as at other places. Besides these usual things, you also get to
choose from ceviche, seafood cocktail, three different types of tacos, and many other dishes. Try the coconut icecream with baileys for dessert.
Poolside, they come by giving out popsicles, massages, offering to clean your sunglasses, passing around chocolates, etc. No towel cards, you go to the towel hut and they will setup the loungers you select. No need to worry about lost towels or cards.

Evenings:
Pretty boring. This is a resort where the idea is to unwind and relax. There are no evening entertainment shows or other activities. Someone plays live music at the lobby bar and that's it. The lights are dimmed everywhere at the refort and its pretty quite. Almost like they want you to put to sleep. The room above the lobby bar has some pool tables, etc. No one used it when we where there. We are used to other resorts where they have nightly entertainment and it is lively with bright lights and people mingling and things happening so it was a change for us. You pretty much eat your dinner and have a quite evening. There was supposed to
be a Mexican show once a week in the evening but even that got canceled, due to low occupancy I suppose. However, if you prefer to just relax and have a low profile evening this is perfect for you.

Overall:
A great resort that will pamper and spoil you. A place to truly unwind and relax. You will get gourmet food and excellent service. They carry more than 10 different kinds of beer and any top shelf liquor you want. Just have to ask. We look forward to going back at the Grand Velas, again and again, cost permitting... Excellent food, booze, pools, service, etc. Very luxurious.

We took a couple of bicycle tours to Vallarta Adventures to see the dolphins, sea lions, etc. They had a tequilla class one day at the pool bar and showed how to make different tequilla drinks. Also had pool voleyball that my family enjoyed. The boogie boards were available and in very good condition. They also have tennis courts.

We took a bus to the Puerto Vallarta zoo in Mismaloya and had a wonderful visit there. Took a bus on the way back and topped by Costco, did some shopping and took a taxi back to the hotel. On another day we took a bus to Puerto Vallarta to see the Malecon and do some shopping. Took the bus back too. There is also a touristic bus that you can take from Grand Velas and it is free and runs in the nearby area including Paradise Village.

Comparison with other resorts we have stayed at:
Riu's and Melia's don't even come close. Grand Velas is by far the better resort. However, we stayed at the Vallarta Palace six months earlier and it runs a second close for us, especially considering that it was about 35% cheaper. Not to mention that at Vallarta Palace you get unlimited calls to US and Mexico from your room phone, free wireless internet everywhere on the resort including your room(Grand Velas charges 200 pesos a day for wireless), no
reservation required at the a la cartes and the awesome $1500 resort credit that you can use for dolphin swim, spa, excursions, room upgrades. Grand Velas has none of these. Rooms at Vallarta Palace though are very small and with those useless French balconies. They have a few, about 35 or so, concierge level rooms with real balcony but those are for adults only. But for one third off at Vallarta Palace, I would be content to go there and splurge at Grand Velas when I can afford.

Bottomline, Grand Velas is a very luxurious place that will pamper you from service to food to your stay, to everything. Go here if you can, you will not regret. Gotta stay here at least once if you visit Vallarta often. Note that if you stay here you can also go to their sister resorts, Casa Velas and Velas Vallarta.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are the standard rooms and do not have ocean view as it is blocked by the hugh pal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank agshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
4.4 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
6.4 km away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
21.9 km away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
1.3 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,040 reviews
1.9 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Address: Av Cocoteros 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most luxurious all-inclusive resort in the Puerto Vallarta area; a retreat of lavish beauty and comfort that is sure to exceed your expectations. Having revolutionized the all-inclusive concept, Grand Velas is pleased to offer you a "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare" vacation experience with exceptional gourmet dining, world-class hospitality, and luxurious accommodations in a spectacular setting on Mexico's golden coast. Experience a breathtaking resort and spa near Puerto Vallarta that seduces your senses and rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort
Grand Velas Hotel
Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Vallarta
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit Nuevo Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing