We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, quiet & small.........” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, quiet & small.........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We just returned from a very relaxing week at the Bel Air in PV. Let me begin by saying that this isn't our first time in Mexico or at and an AI. This is not your typical Big Box AI resort. it is a small, quiet resort located in Nuevo. What really makes this hotel is the people. If you read other reviews, the are correct, there is no all day buffet or pounding music and they are in the process of converting to all inclusive. While we did have to sign for everything, we got over that relatively quickly as the waiters (on the beach Rafael particularly was awesome) kept the drinks (even water) coming. Nolitours advertised 4 restaurants, and in fact there was only 1 (Palm Terrace)and a "Sushi Bar". They served a breakfast buffet every morning, which was good, and they served a buffet dinner on the weekend, and 1 night was Mexican night. The food was good, but with only 2 menus it does get tiring. Oscar the restaurant manager was amazing, and really helped us with some of our group that had dietary restrictions, as well as all the wait staff in the restaurant were outstanding. But they do lack the variety you expect on this type of vacation. It is a short 20 minutes to Bucerias, and you can bus or cab to PV easily. In our group (ages 16-83) we all agreed, it was nice not having to get up, race to the beach/pool to "grab a lounger", there were enough, and on one day when we could find one a waiter, a went and grabbed additional chairs for us. They do have some issues to resolve here, but any concerns we had were addressed quickly, and any short comings of the resort were made up but the outstanding staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    486
    333
    175
    125
See reviews for
827
671
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just returned from Bel Air, we had a wonderful time, We had three two bedrooms booked as we were joined by parents and grandchildren. We like this resort because it is smaller than most of the mega resorts. The resort has free coffee and tea early in the morning and later in the day. I found all the staff wonderful and helpful. The resort very clean. We used the spa for massages, manicures and pedicures, the ladies there were very professional. The beach is fabulous. The water aquasize was great. The draw back is there is really only the one resturant to eat at in the evening although they offer two menus. While we were there we talked to several tourists who just loved the food and other who hated it. My opinion, they do need some improvement in the resturant.in the evening. Some of the items described in the menu was not exactly what was served. There is not many resturants near by you can walk to easily in the evening. We did cab it to several fantastic resturants in Nuevo and Bucerias. We had kitchens, several days we had breakfast and lunches in our room. A few years ago this resort had an italian resturant Cardinelli's which was very nice.
The bus service to Puerto Vallarta was good. We walked to Bucerias a few times.
We will be back next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the one bedroom and studio suites, we had one friend who came with nolitours and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We went in January 2012, renting a unit from a friend who is an owner. Had to wait 20 minutes to check in, they couldn't find our reservation, finally did. Our room was a two bedroom lockoff. Both apartments had kitchens, neither of which was fully equipped. Each had a fry pan, neither had a pot so we couldn't boil water or make rice or spaghetti. The coffee maker only makes 2 cups, there was only one coffee maker in the two apartments, no decaf coffee was available, and only one coffee packet was delivered on only 2 days, despite my repeated requests. Towel deliveries were sporadic, clean kitchen towels were only delivered once. The refrigerator leaked so we had puddles on the floor every day. Despite BelAir's web site advertising how new and modern this place is, we found the unit to be old and decrepit. The worst part was the horrible stench that came from one of the closets. We complained, and they brought us a room ionizer that didn't help at all. We asked to change rooms, they told us to come to the desk Monday for a change, and when we went on Monday, no rooms were available. This was not an ordinary stench. After repeated laundries at home, I had to throw out several items that were in the smelly closet because the smell would not come out. As for the rest of it, there was a wedding Saturday night, so the whole place was taken over by the wedding party, making the restaurant crowded and making the property very noisy at night. There is only one restaurant, despite advertisements about two or three. The food was OK, nothing special, I'm glad we had a car and were able to go to other places in the area for meals. In short, we would never return to this place. On the other hand, we liked Nuevo Vallarta and would consider going to another place in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get ocean front, but they are rarely available. We couldn't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catlady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful week at the Royal Decameron in Riviera Nyarit. However, we were booked at the Bel Air and lasted only the first night. Why?? We go on several business/personal vacations a year, often staying at all-inclusive resorts so "it's not our first rodeo" so to speak. Our hotel was not ready at 4:00 when we arrived and after flying for over five hours we ended up walking around the resort with our carry-on luggage for 45 minutes. No complimentary drink was offered and we felt very singled-out. When our room was finally ready, we went to it and realized that it was 10 x 12 with no room for our suitcase and a lovely view of the adjacent hotel's air conditioner units. Yuck! We decided to check out the pool and realized that for every drink, yes even water, you had to sign and write your room number down or you would be chased by the staff. Now who's to say that someone wasn't using our room number? What ever happened to resort bracelets???? And then there was the wedding - oh yes the wedding whereby people were fighting, throwing up in the elevator, and making everyone else uncomfortable. We woke up to all this and ashes on every table at the pool the next morning. Oh and the four restaurants that Nolitours advertises, there is ONE buffet and an outdoor sushi bar for clarification. Well let's just say that by 11:00 the following morning, we made our way to a hotel which felt sorry for us and even checked us in at that early time into an ocean-view room. The rest of the week was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your feedback.

Im sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced, on your arrival, I have shared the information with the front desk staff, to avoid this situations to happen to any guests.
We are not a classical all inclusive hotel, even thought we have breakfast buffet, the rest of our meal are a la carte, we have indeed one terrace, that The Palms Restaurant, and Dolce Mexico share, however we provide both menus at the same time.
We also have the Shipwreck Island snack restaurant, and as you mention the Sushi bar.
Again, thank you for your comments, and I can assure you that they are taken under all my consideration.

Sincerily
Omar Vazquez Gaytan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Our group of 4 women arrived after 3 pm (check-in time). We booked through Nolitours and were assured we would be able to have 2 rooms, each with 2 double beds. This resort said that that wasn't possible. We were supposed to arrive to a welcome drink, that was never offered. We had a wait at check in and then 1 of our rooms still wasn't ready. When we asked if our rooms were at least on the same floor, the reply I received was, "just come with me" from the check-in clerk that shouldn't be working in any public relations job! (and we weren't on the same floor) Our rooms were very small - no room for suitcases - only 1 very small rack to hang a few clothes up. Next we ordered nachos at the bar - they were awful (others we talked to at the resort said the same thing). When we went to have dinner we learned that there is only 1 restaurant - they just have 2 menus that you can ask for with different foods! There is only 1 block of rooms that Nolitours book - the others are privately owned (timeshare). only 1 pool - not very clean when we were there. (there is 1 other very small pool in the kids area) Not enough staff around to keep the grounds clean. We sat at the outdoor bar for 2 hours and no one ever picked up napkins that had been left on the floor from before we were there. We were booked in for a week - we changed resorts after the 1st night and were very glad we did!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your feedback.

We are very sorry to find out that we were unable to met your expectations, I have shared this comments to the whole staff, I can assure you that they are concerned about what you said. And that we are working on every comment that are send by our guests.

Sincerily,
Omar Vazquez Gaytan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Upon arrival there was a 20 minute wait at the front desk to check in. Once we got into our room it was extremely small 10' x 20' with a king size bed. No room to walk around we had to store one of the suit cases in the washroom. We had friends that paid $160 to upgrade to a nice room but who wants to dish out $$ when we already paid more then the value of the resort itself. Also, many ants in the room that we brought back in our suit cases that had to be left outside to get rid of them upon our return.

Most meals were cold and not a very big selection on the buffets. When there was a buffet. My husband got sick one night and we have been on multiple AI and never been sick.

The wait staff did an excellent job looking after us. If you want good service make sure to leave a good tip. We knew they talk to one another to say who tips and who does not. Look for RAPHEAL...impeccable service and made up for some of our hard feelings of this resort.

Evening entertainment was nil unless you count movie night that played "Happy Gilmore" entertaining and you like to listen to karokee from 8-10 , 2 nights a week.
No lobby bar, nothing. Evenings very Dull!

My wife and I wanted to get away to celebrate our first wedding anniversary with a little R&R not a good place for couples too many screaming kids running around this Very Small resort. Good place to go if your injured in any way because there is very little walking to be done.

Despite all the bad reviews we read, we went, as it was too late to cancel. We did not read trip advisor before booking. Big Mistake!

Attention all future travellers listen to the reviews these people are not wrong. We talked to people who paid $$ to change resorts and met them on the plane to say we should have done the same. That it was well worth it.


Management didn't do any thing for us and we confirmed with staff that the resort was NOT full. That this is there quiet season.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parksr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Director General at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate the time you invested in sharing this comments ,
I have directed your comments to the proper staff, to make sure that this kind of situations does not happen again.
Even though we have a breakfast buffet, most meals are a la carte, in fact you can order from the menu, even when the buffet is set for guests convenience.
We specially appreciate your comments about the staff, we believe that is one of our biggest assets.
Thank you again ,
Sincerely

Omar Vazquez Gaytan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed four weeks in an excellent room facing the ocean on the seventh floor. We only had one complaint. With the wedding receptions on Saturday, the noise floated up to the seventh floor. The service at the resort is excellent. Anwar, Trinidad, Edgar and Carlos exemplify service. My husband and I had an excellent vacation. We can't wait to next year.

Room Tip: Building two and seven are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.3 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
6.0 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.3 km away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.8 km away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Property: Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Bel Air Vallarta the perfect hotel for a family vacation" Family vacations are made to be on the Riviera Nayarit. Enjoy the beauty of the traditional Puerto Vallarta, the beautiful and colorful Bucerias, or maybe the exclusive Nuevo Vallarta where you will find everything you were looking for and more. Can you imagine spending a day at the spa pampering yourself at one of the best hotels in Nuevo Vallarta? Imagine your kids having a blast at our Kids Club, everything is possible here. A destination like this provides much as you can imagine, activities on land, sea and even air is what awaits you. Stay with with your family and enjoy the best time of your lives together and create your own #BelAirMoment. Bel Air Vallarta offers 215 spacious and luxurious rooms where you can enjoy a deserved rest after those long days at the beach, pool or enjoying the gastronomic offer that we have for you along with all the entertainment options that this resort has. In addition to luxury hotel rooms in Nuevo Vallarta Bel Air Vallarta offers luxury amenities that will make your stay a unique and memorable vacation, the "Bel Air Delights" those great little details that will give your holiday a touch of sophistication and also will make you feel at home. Welcome Cool Amenitie Welcome cocktail Early Bird Breakfast View all Bel Air Delights In Bel Air we know that your holiday should be something memorable that's why we have created a series of experiences that will fulfill all your dreams and needs to make your vacation something you cannot forget. Personalized vacation experiences with a touch of luxury and sophistication, the "Bel Air Experiences". All Gourmet Experience All Romance Experience All Spa Experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing