We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Our suite overlooked the marina, which is okay, but it was right near a grid to hold the water back when it rains, and the grid makes a loud click whenever a vehicle goes over it, which is all day and all night.

The rooms themselves were great. The pools were very crowded with people reserving chairs with towels before 8 a.m. I was never able to find a decent chair except at the kiddie pool, which is very nice for children up to about 2 or 3 years of age. The lazy river was very lazy, which was fine with me.

The food in the restaurants is expensive.

We did the timeshare presentation, and we found it not to be very long or pressured. For it, we got $100 off our bill and 10% off other things.

When we arrived by taxi, no bellboys helped us with our luggage. When we came back with groceries, no one offered to help. I found this strange.

All in all, I prefer the Mayan Palace over the Grand Mayan. Mayan Palace is supposedly a step below the Grand Mayan, but it has much better pools and a better view. And it is closer to things on the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront. We did but didn't get it. Make sure you don't get a marina view as tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,119 - 2,125 of 3,554 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

The property is spectacular, the pools and waterslide were great for a family with 4 young children. Our 3 oldest children (4,5,8) went to the kids club 3 times and loved it! The ladies that run the kids club(Isis,Alex and Elizabeth) are really outgoing and really treat the kids well, they also speak fluent English and they vary the program by day so it doesn't get old and the night programs are a good value and give adults enough time to have a nice meal.
The grounds are huge, this is not a cozy quaint resort. Expect long walks to the beach and back to the room. They discourage bringing our own food and drink to the pool areas, we brought thermos' for the kids with drinks and kept snacks in our beach bags.
We travelled with Grand Luxe members and so we were never bothered by time share sales people. although friends of ours went to the "owners breakfast" and we're treated poorly as per the other reviews, just avoid the breakfast at all cost and you'll have a great trip. The 10 percent discount does not apply to some items and I saw a lot of angry customers at check out.
The beach was nice, not white sand it has a grey color, but it certainly is long and a nice walk. The ocean water was cool, not a bright blue, somewhat grey as there is a river mouth nearby. The water is shallow for quite a distance which was nice for wading in with the kids. They have a sea turtle hatching program which was nice for the kids to see.
We took a cab to the Wal Mart 80 pesos there and 80 back, bought a weeks worth of groceries and water and the bellman brought it up to the room on our return. We ate most meals in our room, the stove and pots are rudimentary and the cooking utensils are very basic, keep your meals basic and it's not a problem. We used the hotel water for washing, the ice maker for drinks and we ate the fruit we bought at Wal mart without any incident of illness. There is a mini mart on the premises but the prices are at least 50percent higher than t Walmart. There is another convenience store off the grounds towards the marina past the sea garden hotel that would be cheaper.
We ate off the resort near the Marina and our meal was very good, there is a lot of choice in restaurants off the resort about a 5 minute walk.
On the resort we did not eat at any of the restaurants but we did eat at the burger restaurant by the kids club and the food was good. We also ordered a 3kg red snapper from the small fish market near the kids club and brought it up to the room, it was fantastic, they dress and cook the fish and provide rice and sides, it was well worth the cost and probably the best value in food on the resort. We took the kids to the snack bar and had Gellato and Crepes and they were very good.
The rooms are nice and large and they gave us a pack and play for the baby to sleep in as well as a high chair., house keeping is nice and we always left a 2 dollar tip daily, however do not take any valuables. My wife had a silver necklace stolen, it was the only thing of value that we brought with us and my wife kept it at the bottom of her toiletries bag under her makeup and the maid went through it and took the chain. Thankfully she left her jewellry at home!
If you want a specific location to sit then you need to go down to the pool by 8 to reserve it. There are day beds in shaded areas which are perfect for small children to nap on.
Be careful with your bags and valuables on the resort as a couple near us had a bag stolen while they were swimming.
Overall we had a fantastic family holiday at this resort and we will return.

Room Tip: Avoid construction area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This place is very deluxe,has great service and has beatiful pools and a gorgeous very manicured lush tropical jungle they created. The spa, gym and activities were pretty impressive.It feels like a disney project in Mexico. My husband and I were there because of an invite to my sis's time share. We prefer to stay close to the natural culture of the area we are visiting, so we took long walks out of the resort and spent some time in old Vallarta and Zona Romantica. The resort is very expensive. My sis passed on a "cleaning fee" of $1350 and the restaurant were superb but very expensive. I guess I was anticipating a big bill because of it being so high end,it's just not the Mexico I remember from times past.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This hotel and grounds were impressive to look at but remote. This hotel would be a good choice for those who are interested in just hanging by the many pools but you wouldn't want a room too close to the main entrance. The original room we were in was near the main entrance were you will find these mammoth Mayan Gods which were impressive but the drum music being played kept us from getting a goods nights sleep. We were enjoying taking the city buses but they didn't run to this location often enough for us.

Room Tip: Again stay away from the main enterance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohannaS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at the one bedroom suite for one week. Very spacious and clean. Not 5 star luxury, but very nice. The room cleaning maid service was very good. We declined the Time Share presentation and contrary to some reviews, we were not pressured to do it. View overlooking the garage, but that did not matter as we didn’t spend much time in the room during the day. The grounds are beautiful. The Lazy River is great fun. The beach is a long and wide stretch, great for walks, but the water colors have shades of brown mixed with the blue and we did not see people swimming. The lounge chairs are uncomfortable and should be replaced. My 28 years old son got backache from the lounge chairs. The chairs also had stains of birds dropping. Enjoyed the walk to the point where the river meets in the beach with tons of pelicans around. Walked to the Marina for dinner (turn left from the lobby exit and walk pass Sea Garden and cross the street to the marina). Our favorite restaurant in the Marina was “Guido's Italian Restaurant” and in Puerto Vallarta “Cafe des Artistes”, which is worth the trip to the city. Taxi to Puerto Vallarta is about 200 pesos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a higher level floor and away from the ice machine and elevators. It is unlikely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTD-Travel-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have a time share with this company purchased when the GM was only 2 years old in NV. I think my payments have gone to build the Gr. Bliss, because they sure aren't going to upkeep at the G. Mayan. The furniture was shabby, bathing suit marks on all the chairs, cupboard doors scummy, dents in the stove hood, graphite all over the back of the bathroom door where someone lubricated hinges. We booked very early in the year, but were put in a room on the back of the property overlooking the parking garage. No amount of cheerful persuasion had any effect on the management. Vida Vacations is not the good company tha Grupo Mayan was. Very sad and feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alrak56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have been Mayan/Grand Mayan owners for a long time, and enjoy the Nuevo Vallerta location the best. Great place, great staff, great service. Whether you want to participate in all the activities or kick back, you can do it here. However, the enticements offered to attend the timeshare presentation aren't really worth it. They say 90 minutes - but you can expect 4-5 hours and multiple "attacks" with different people trying to up the pressure each time. It will ruin the rest of your day, rest assured. (If you are there for just a week, it is TOO BIG A PRICE TO PAY!!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Farmer6951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
7.4 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.7 km away
Hotel Villa Varadero
Hotel Villa Varadero
#15 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
893 reviews
1.1 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,619 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,287 reviews
1.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Náutico Turístico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayarit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing