We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice...... Travel out of the resort too! No beach view...not going back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice...... Travel out of the resort too! No beach view...not going back.”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Beach has staff that with bargain with you on local goods, get your hair braided, etc. Confusing as heck to walk anywhere! There are many paths with some signs but you can easily get off track if not paying attention. Took us a few tries, the map is not that great. In Feb. It was very quiet by 9pm. Pricey everywhere there, 60 bucks for lunch, etc. The staff is very helpful. We did not experience anything with the timeshare folks, but we saw many people doing their free $20 breakfast and doing the tour. Not worth our time, but whatever floats your boat. Probably not going back, the people that own there really dont seem that happy with the place. Oh, and paradise village has everything you need, including all type of sunscreen, a pharmacy, grocery store with beer, water, and wine. Short $3 cab ride. The store on site at the GM is limited, but has emergency stuff. Don't worry about packing beach towels. The only thing we brought that we needed was my travel corkscrew, the one in the room was weird. Bringing your favorite coffee may not be a bad idea either. Dont over pack! There are some pretty cool bowls that we bought that you'll see everywhere. Buy them from the beach vendor girl in Bucerias. Have fun, but really, dont buy, or do the tour. There are other places for breakfast. Like Eddy's Place.... Yum, and safe. Would have given 5 stars, but when they built the place, they messed up not making ALL units with an ocean view. Too bad. My recomendation is to not use the ice machines or drink the water anywhere in this area unless your used to it. Good luck!

Room Tip: Good luck trying to get an ocean front. No guarantee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,587
    797
    358
    158
    146
See reviews for
1,516
773
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Spent a week there and had one hot shower. No hot water and when maintenance came to check, they said that we needed to turn on all of the faucets in the sinks (kitchen and 3 bathroom sinks) for about 10 minutes and THEN the hot water would go on in the showers; tried it and still had a week with no hot showers. Whirlpool jets were coated with black slime.

Ordered room service for dinner. Two days later, called the front desk to have the trays from that dinner removed from the hallway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maryann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

DO NOT fall for the time share presentation at this place; it is nothing but a waste of 5 hours of your time. They told us the day before it would only take 90 minutes of our time and we would receive a funpack vacation package good for a 7 day vacation to any one of numerous locations. Once we got there and were checked in we were told it would take 90 minutes AFTER breakfast. Bottom line is this;
1) It took 5 hours start to end
2) the funpack vacation package is worthless because it was never activated on their end
3) first offer was $60,000.00 for 2 weeks + an $1800.00/ week usage fee
4) second offer $45,000.00 for the same as above
5) third offer was $27,000.00 for the same as above
This went ON AND ON AND ON
When we finally had enough and said we needed to leave they told us they were taking us to get a cab but instead they took us to another location where two more salesmen tried to twist our arm with 405 other offers final offer was $2000.00 for 4 weeks. If I wasnt so frustrated I would have taken his last offer but by that point all I wanted to was to give him a black eye. Great place but if you want a timeshare just google Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta and you will find tons of timeshares for sale or rent

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank peeweeisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san carlos, ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

If you have kids under the age of 10, this resort is fantastic. We have a 2.5 year old and a 5 year old. This has the best Kid's Club I've ever experienced. It's completely affordable and has full day activities and night-time theme parties! It's geared for the 5-12 crowd, but they took my 2.5 year old if we paid cash for the "babysitting" which worked out perfectly. We never did the full day, but they were always busy and the kids always looked like they were having a blast and certainly well cared for. We did use the night-time theme parties A LOT. It's from 7-10:30pm and it gave us a chance to have nice quiet dinners! I highly recommend it!

As for the pools, the kids never got bored with the selection, the water park, the wave pools, the warm pools, the toddler pools, there are plenty of options. The beach is also fantastic and the kids spent hours playing in the waves and on the rocks. The baby turtles were also a huge hit!

As for the timeshare presentation. It's not nearly as painful as many suggest. If you plan on going to the presentation, know that it will never be 90 minutes, we were there from 8:30am-noon. We did it knowing we weren't going to buy and just stayed calm. We were respectful and so were they. As for perks for attending, don't accept less than 2,000 pesos, 10% off your room bill (spending, meals, spa, etc.,not nightly rate) and the 60% off excusions. We were staying for two weeks and knew what excursions we wanted, so it was worth our time. They also threw in a free city tour, that we didn't use.

Overall we had an amazing trip and would go back tomorrow if we could!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank owen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We (2 couples) just returned from the GM in NV. We were in a 2 Bedroom suite. When we checked in, they had overbooked & sent us to the Grand Bliss for the 1st night-a bit inconvenient, but we were on vacation, so no worries. We were somewhat concerned about the GM after reading some reviews, but we had absolutely no issues. We even went to the sales presentation but did not encounter the issues that other reviewers had talked about; we were treated nicely and did not feel the high pressure sales pitch that everyone commented on. The resort was fabulous-no we did not get the ocean front rooms because we are not owners, but none the less had a beautiful view of the grounds and golf course. Our coffee pot died on day #2 & we had a brand new one within 15 minutes of advising the housekeeper.
Spent one day in Bucerias which was a ton of fun. If you rent a car, do not get insurance online because the car rental company will make you purchase liability insurance anyway!

Room Tip: I just asked that we please not have a view of the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuvID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This property is typical of all the Grupo Maya Hotels. Very grandiose design externally but extraordinarily poor interior design. The Nuevo Vallarta campus is now full of lush greenery and no longer resembles the bomb site it did two years ago. But this means that all rooms on floors 1-3 are completely blocked by dense vegetation and have no view at all. The entrance lobby remains totally dark, presumably to enhance the feeling of a Mayan temple with 30 foot high black marble statues but these are actually very easy to trip over when one enters from the sunlight. Check in is reasonably efficient provided you do not want an ocean view room-- which are now completely blocked by Grand Luxxe owners on 4 week stays and for whom the Grupo Maya has not yet completed their accomodation. As Luxxe owners can book 8 months in advance they have a 2 month advantage over mere Grand Mayan owners or RCI exchange guests. Nobody wants to be on the "golf view" side of the hotel as most of the rooms either face the multi story parking garage and laundry and only very few have a partial view of a muddy pond and glimpse of the golf course over the roof of the golf clubhouse. Apart from the ghastly "artwork" on the walls, the suites are well furnished and bright and clean. But the kitchen facilities are totally inadequate. There is a very old fashioned 4 burner electric stove which is very slow to heat up and a microwave oven. However, no microwaveable dishes or casseroles are provided so the microwave is essentially useless for anything but a cup of water. While there is a coffee maker, there is no electric kettle (and of course no teapot) and as every tea drinker knows you cannot make tea in something that has been used for coffee.
The bathrooms are very elaborate but again impractical-- how does one wash in a wash basin that does not have a plug for the drain, especially when the tap is a tall goose neck over the centre which cannot be swivelled? Privacy in the toilet? Forget it as the toilet door is lightly frosted glass which instantly becomes transparent when the light is switched on.
If you want to read in bed you would be well advised to bring some high powered light bulbs with you, or a porable reading light as the bedroom lighting is very poor
Water supply in the hotel is good and we never have problems drinking it, despite their efforts to get you to buy bottled water (for which they charge heavily whether you use it or not).
We wanted the water charge removed when we checked out and we wanted our 10% discount on restaurant/bar charges as promised for doing one of their interminable "presentations" (read: high pressure sales pitch to get you to upgrade), this resulted in lengthy consultations with numerous staff and lists and the whole check out process took more than three quarters of an hour. Fortunately, we did not have a plane to catch!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean side on third floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RIVALBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was our third year at the Grand Mayan in PV. Still love it. The suites are starting to look a little faded, but they are being redone this year (they re do them every five years). The staff is amazing. If you dont want to do the timeshare presentation, just say no politely but firmly. We have never felt hassled about it. The restaurants are mostly amazing. The Blue Fish hs the best ceviche we have ever had, and Gong, the Asian restaurant, is delightful if you are adventurous. If you are expecting North American style Chinese, go somewhere else. A lot of peopl go to the Walmart for breakfast stuff; great idea. We have found for us that room service is actually a good deal... the quantities are overly geneerous so we order one meal for the two of us. The trips you can organize from the hotel are very good.

Room Tip: Unless you have a time share, ocean rooms are almost impossible to get... if you are not on the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthAtlanticBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
7.4 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
3.0 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,406 reviews
1.1 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,019 reviews
7.4 km away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
1,249 reviews
1.6 km away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Property: The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayarit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing