We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect several time-share presentations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expect several time-share presentations”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We were even attacked at the airport and the supermarket! Anyway, one of the presentations is at the Mayan Palace, so expect one of your mornings to be wasted on that. The staff (maids, bellboys and cart drivers) are extremely friendly. The restaurants have great food (except Taco Break-- don't eat there), but if you didn't get the all-inclusive, are rather expensive. Overall, a good place to stay if you get a good deal and you know what to expect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldgait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,816
    842
    367
    161
    152
See reviews for
1,713
811
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I just got home from The Grand Mayan. I was leery at first reading reviews on here that gave it a terrible rating. But once I got there I was like how can you say anything bad about this place. The place was clean and spacious. The grounds were inpeccable. The people were incredible. One of the best vacations I have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travlinguy517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The grounds of this hotel are stunning. There are elaborate gardens and pools, and the lazy river is fantastic. We could not believe the size of the suite. It was impressive.

The aspects that we didn't like were the lack of night time entertainment, the early closing of the pool, the huge size of the resort, and the remoteness of it.

Although I had read that this hotel was not near town, I was not expecting it to seem so far from things. We like to experience the local culture, and the long bus ride (2 connecting buses) to get to Puerto Vallarta seemed to take more than an hour each way.

I like the Puerto Vallarta area, but if I visit again, I will stay closer to Puerto Vallarta rather than staying in Nuevo Vallarta.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HHTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanCouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom grand master suite -- it had two separate bedrooms, a living room and full kitchen ( minus an oven). Kitchen had toaster, blender, cooking utensils ( no scissors), plates, bowls, mugs, glasses, and wine glasses. There was no plastic for little kids, so we ended up breaking a couple glasses.

The bedrooms were big, one with a trundle bed that slept two, and the other with a liitle loveseat and chairs for a sitting area. Both beds were kings. Two more trundles in the living room slept 4 more. More than enough space for our group of 8 (4 adults, 4 kids).
Plusses: 1) rooms were great, suited our needs, maids were great, deck was nice, with dunk pool. 2). Grounds were amazing; lush with plants and trees, pools were fantastic, especially for kids -- lazy river, wave pool, kids club area, ceramic painting station, activities centre.
3) beach was amazing, you could walk for miles, they had boogie board rentals and other activities. 4). There's a turtle sanctuary you should check out for any rescued baby sea turtles. 5). We stumbled on the new train station one night before it officially opened and it is stunning.

Minuses: 1) they nickel and dime you. After spending so much for the room, you have to pay ++ more for in - room wifi. Not even available for free in lobby. They had an Internet cafe on site, which was more reasonable (buy 30 or 60 minutes for 50/80 pesos and can carryover any unused minutes to the next day for the length of you stay), but you had to ask about this yourself, nobody told us. Also have to keep very close track of your towel, with a card exchange system, otherwise you get charged. 2). You have to sit down with the concierge and ask for lists of kid - friendly activities specifically aside from kids club. We stumbled upon them, they 're not exactly advertised. 3). Lots of rules not consistently enforced. Example: we had friends from home also on vacation in pv, and they wanted to come visit us for an afternoon. We asked the concierge 3 separate times if this was ok and how to go about it. The day our friends came, after getting the ok from e concierge for the visit, and after our friends had driven for 45 minutes to get there, they were told in the lobby they weren't allowed to be there! "nothing we can do" they kept repeating. It was maddening! We finally just left with our friends and took them to the pool anyway, but an hour later the security guard found us (after searching our room no less) and told us our friends couldn't be in the pool without a special wristband. So we got out of the pool walked to the lobby and asked for a wrist band. "no problem" the guy said and readily handed over 4 wristbands for our guests. wtf? I understand the need for security in these places but really, wtf? At any rate, we were made to feel like common criminals and this totally tainted our view of the place. 4) the place is pretty remote - not near any towns, you can 't walk to do groceries, taking 6$ cab ride to walmart for big shop is only option. Prices in restaurants not that cheap. 5). There were no ocean view rooms when we checked in- we were told they give owners first priority. We stayed over golf course which was fine - quiet. 6). There is a general feeling of paranoia or mistrust of the staff, at least within my own party, in part bred by the trip advisor reviews warning about the time share pressure, in part bred by the way we were treated there, and this feeling kind of hung in the background the whole time, such that I never felt totally carefree.

Bottom line, our trip was still great, the kids (4 boys age 4-9) all had a great time, the youngest two even learned to swim in the dunk pool which was a high light for us! But I don't thi k I'd go back.

Room Tip: Our check in notice said 5pm check in, but we disregarded and checked in at 1pm which was fine. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mofo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We enjoyed our 5 day trip here. Stayed in the hotel style room which is not our usual but we didn't want to take time to shop and had a $200 resort credit to use so we figured we'd just eat at their restaurants. Prices on food and drink were a little high for this caliber resort, but with the $200 credit, our food and drink bill was reasonable.
We LOVED the pool over by the Grand Bliss.The fountain in the pool and the view of the ocean and mountains are just perfect...what more could you ask for! The gardens on the walk over to this pool are gorgeous. The lazy river was so relaxing. The pools by the Mayan Palace and Grand Mayan were a bit crowded and hectic for us, so we were happy to find the "fountain pool". There are far fewer people here, very few kids and no one saving seats with towels. Not sure why it was so quiet, but was happy on all counts.
All in all, we enjoyed the scenery and service here. Knew that we were far from PV so didn't think we would go there anyway. We were happy to just relax and read.
Next time, I would stay a week and get a suite with kitchen. Usually it's just breakfast in the room but that beats a $30 breakfast buffet everyday...FYI cheaper b4 8am.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank missthesunbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Great:

-The beach is great and faces west. It is probably over a mile long. My wife and I sat out there almost every night to watch the sunset. There seems to be plenty of beach chairs to go around.

-The rooms are very nice and are kept very clean. It has an almost full kitchen (no oven). There is a cool plunge pool on the back patio. We cooked almost every evening.

-The Wal-Mart grocery store is a 70 peso cab ride away. They have everything you need and they take plastic.

-Great tennis courts. You have to reserve them at the Golf Pro Shop. If you are staying in the Mayan Palace or Sea Garden you will get charged $5 per hour. If you are staying at the Grand Mayan or above it is included.

-Great workout facility. If you are staying in the Mayan Palace or Sea Garden you will get charged $5 to use it.

-There is an OXXO convenience store by the Sea Garden. They sell drinks and basic convenience store stuff at a much cheaper rate then the shop at the resort. They take dollars and will give you change in Peso's.

-They have some great pools that are close to the building. There is a lazy river, water slide and wave pool. They have a great Kiddie pool. To use these pools you are supposed to have a Grand Mayan (or above) wrist band, but I didn't see anyone actually monitoring it.

-Eddies Place Nopal Beach. This is a great place to eat. Leave the property, turn left at the OXXO and walk about a half mile. Greatest Chili Relleno ever. See my review for his place.

The Not so Great:
-Many of the owners downgrade to the Grand Mayan to be closer to the pool. They end up getting the ocean view rooms. This pushes the Grand Mayan owners to the back side of the building. They are doing a lot of construction on this property and I think I may have learned how to weld by watching all of the work going on. They are working very hard to add things to this property.

-You do a lot of walking here. I would guess it is at least a 10 minute walk to the beach from the lobby.

-I tried to move to an ocean front room, but wasn't able to. I stopped in at the lobby every day, and called every night and never got one. If you really want one get it at check-in.
-You will get approached by people trying to sell you stuff on the beach. If you don't like it you can go to the pool in front of the Mayan Palace and they won't come in there.

The Bad:
-The timeshare (sorry...fractional ownership) presentation. If you don't want to go to this...just say no. and then say no again, and again, and again.

-Taxi back to the airport is over $20.

All in all this is a great place. Really, really great Beach. If I would have had an Ocean View room I would have given them a 5.

Room Tip: Get a Ocean View room at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bkmDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had a great time. The grounds and the hotel was beautiful. Frank Basanez at Vida was very helpful. We would highly recommend this to other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
7.4 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
1.1 km away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,032 reviews
1.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,279 reviews
7.4 km away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Property: The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayarit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing