We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab 2/52 family tri training holiday”
Review of Tri-topia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingrandes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tri-topia
Ranked #1 of 4 Ingrandes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2014

2/52 of tri training heaven in S-W France. Fab company, great roads, 25m pool on site, gym with turbo or roller options, VO2 max testing, innumerable run routes all topped off with Lee, Sam and the team providing excellent food and training options on tap.
Downsides? Sleeping was disturbed by a lack of curtains and the early morning multiple cockerill crowing (remember this was very rural France). The former problem solved by airline facemasks, and the latter by ear-plugs, though they were not a complete solution. The food was very good but we did notice that the menu was replicated for our 2nd week which was a little disappointing.

On the plus side there were limitless wines which was part of the full board, although over-indulging did reduce the likelihood of that early morning pre-breakfast swim!!
Sam and team laid on a special table for us to help celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary. Our kids had a lovely time and all said they wanted to come back again next year. Lee was a fascinating coach and mentor who is scarily fast (Ironman PB of 9:30 ish).
Highly recommended whether you are into Tri or not.

Room Tip: Bring a shotgun to help reduce the local cockerill population
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Second year in a row but for two weeks this time. Wow what a brilliant holiday again. It just gets better and better. If you are looking for a holiday that provides comfort, activities for all, great food and company whether you are a Tri man veteran, a Tri newbie, a sporty wanabee, a kid with buckets of energy or just want to chill and read a book this is the holiday that CAN deliver something for everyone!

My only complaint is that I can stay for the whole summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I were a little apprehensive heading to Tri-Topia as we were Tri newby's and had two non-sporty kids in tow. On arriving we very quickly realised that we had nothing at all to worry about!

Lee and Sam, their family and the rest of the team make sure that everyone whatever their ability and wishes for the holiday are catered for and met to the fullest extent possible. The other families during our week included a couple of GB age-groupers a soon to be Ironman and a family who didn't really want to train but just have an active holiday - we all left discussing when we were going to book again!

There was plenty of opportunity during the week to join organised activities such as early morning swim sessions, easy group bike rides with the kids or a time trial or long bike ride to a lake for an open water swim. The decision to join was very relaxed and if you didn't fancy it you were welcome to spend time lazing around the pool or in the hot tub or set out for a run or walk on one of the signposted routes through the surrounding countryside.

Lee is a fantastic coach and offers various levels of assistance during the week. In addition to training plans and advice he organises swimming sessions for all levels and you are able to get video swim analysis and Vo2 Max and Metabolic testing and feedback. My wife had paid for a bunch of swim coaching before Tri-Topia but could still not get over her apprehension in the water enough to complete more than a length and a half. After time with Lee she completed the 400m swim in the end of week Tri.

The accommodation is lovely with cosy en-suite rooms and plenty of nooks and crannies in the shared areas to quietly read a book or have a sneaky beer. The food was phenomenal all week, catered to make sure that you could replace all the calories you were burning in a healthy and tasty way. A seemingly limitless amount of very drinkable white and red table wines is available with dinner.

So overall we all had a fantastic week, spent with great people and getting as much exercise/training out of it that we wanted. We will definitely be starting to do triathlons after getting the initial experience (even one of our normally Xbox bound teenagers seems to have caught the bug!) and will be back to Tri-Topia as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NikJMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

What a great experience! I learned so much in just one swim session. And then there is also cycling efficiency to be learned. Initially I was intimidated to sign up because I thought it was for elite athletes. Sam assured me that the camp can catered to my needs. It is a fabulous place for anyone who wants an active holiday or just to chilled out in the jacuzzi, or work in the garden. Tri-topia is a great hub where one can explore the area on foot or by bike. Thank you, Sam, Lee, Ollie and Miranda. Hope to see you all next year!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our second visit to Tri-Topia and we are already planning next year. It's the ideal way to train - the facilities are great, the setting is beautiful ,the food is healthy and the family - Lee , Sam and the children are so welcoming and not forgetting the forever smiling Miranda! There was a range of ages and training aims but all worked at own level and enjoyed exchanging tips. Every day we swam, biked and ran and still had time for visiting local villages and cafes!
Came back feeling very fit and healthy and ready to enter some more races! Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a week at TriTopia with our family, children aged 15,12 and 10. We had a great week, did some lovely bike rides and all vastly improved our swimming. We all loved doing our first Triathlon, Lee, Sam and the other guests were all very supportive and encouraging and it was great fun! The Tri Topia team looked after us really well, the mix of proper athletes, couples and familes works. Food was great, facilities fantastic and relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. We've all come back energised and enthusiatic and the kids have just entered their first junior event!! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If like us you're busy people with a young family who thought that a holiday with some training was never going to happen - look no further. Sam, Lee and the kids couldn't have been more welcoming. We ate well, slept well, swam every morning and even got to do some training rides together without having to worry about the kids. We came back refreshed and the kids can't wait to go back, which we certainly will do. This is my first review on trip advisor and something I have not felt compelled to do before but the week was outstanding. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tri-topia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri-topia

Address: 8 la Vallee, 36300 Ingrandes, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Ingrandes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ingrandes
Price Range: $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tri-topia has been created as a home away from home triathlon training and cycling HOLIDAY facility and is a truly a triathletes Utopia. You can train like a pro with us lookin after your every need.Our Tri camps accommodate everyone from Beginner triathlete, wanting to find out everything there is to know about their new chosen sport to the elite or more experienced just wanting to use us as a base for their own training. We provide a catered stay for 7 nights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing