We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Hotel In history”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alresford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This place has to be the worst place we have stayed in a very long time. The hotel itself was very rundown and unmaintained, very tired looking and very dirty in places. Our bathroom looked as if it had been made from spare building supplies as the tiles were odd, basin, toilet and shower units were all different and it was all squeezed into a space the size of a wardrobe. The Shower was more or less a dribble and there was black mould present. When the toilet flushed it made a awful deafening sound almost lawnmower like. As for the food, Im sure it was lovely in its past life before the swan got hold of it. Terrible over cooked vegetables, microwaved muck and generally a tastless unpaletable substance, that kind of resembled food. The bar at any given time, weither it be 10am or 10pm without fail was full of washed up alcoholics, having the same conversation/argument they have day in day out. It was almost intimitating to walk into as they almost give off the 'what are you doing here' vibe. Although we wernt really concerned as the average the was at least 70. With all that considered the real downfall of this establishment was the owner/management. This women had to be one of the most horrble humans on the face of the earth. If she wasnt dictating her waiting staff about she was breathing down the necks of her bar staff, commenting and harassing there every move. All and all a terrible experience which I wont be repeating. I would not recommend this to anybody.

Room Tip: by-pass this hotel at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here as it was recommended to us by some friends. We found the staff friendly and the food good. Overall a very pleasant stay and will definately do it again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Paradoxically, I find myself agreeing in part with both the raves and the brickbats.

I didn't find the squalid conditions mentioned by some reviewers, but the older parts of the hotel looked a bit tired and in need of refurbishment. It was also a bit disconcerting to find a notice in the window with a CCTV still asking for assistance in finding a burglar who had - ahem! - "visited" the premises. Not what I really wanted to see when I had come for a photography course nearby and had a shedload of camera gear in my room!

The place is also a pub. Plus side was the excellent state of the beer (and its reasonable cost by southern English standards); minus side was making my way in to the premises past some rather sweary customers, whose every other word began with F. Nor was I hugely impressed when the reception virtually had to send out a search party to locate a key for my room.

As far as food was concerned, the full English breakfast was served buffet style. It was adequate, but food can become a bit tired when kept hot from 0730 to 0930. Dinner, however, was really good. I had the DB&B option, which had a few choices on the fixed price menu. The fish that I had as main course was really good. Pity everything isn't up to the standard of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The hotel itself is generally faded and scruffy and our room was very dirty e.g. the sink had the remnants of the previous occupants soap still on it, the mirror was dirty and streaked with something unmentionable, the toothbrush holder had old toothpaste still on it, the bath was dirty, the shower panel was mouldy, the furniture was dusty... the list seemed endless.
To complain, we had to ring the outside reservations line as no-one answered any internal numbers such as reception or housekeeping. Eventually they did provide a cleaner who worked for a while in the bathroom before announcing 'that's the best I can do', leaving it more or less as before. The one saving grace was that the breakfast was OK.
We tried to find alternative accommodation but everywhere else was full so we just had to put up with it. When we left, we did complain again and the manager knocked ten pounds off the bill but we would have preferred them to spend the extra money on a decent cleaner. Never again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happyporkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel because we had a family do nearby. It was such a shame as the location of the hotel was really good - just the place was like Faulty Towers. (Actually worse - I would have liked to see Basil to cheer the place up). We stayed in the newer part of the hotel for one night. The room was not clean, the bedspread had lots of hairs and muck on it and the reception service was very poor. Considering we only stayed for sleep, shower and breakfast, the hotel was notable by its low standards.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cambio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Two couples stayed, both rooms were so outdated. The receptionist was not very welcoming. The breakfast was the worst any of us had experienced in a hotel before. The 'full english' ingredients were all overcooked and were very definitely not freshly cooked. We are amazed at seeing that others loved the food so maybe it was the chef's weekend off. We all felt that for a 2 star hotel, which definitely did not warrant any higher rating, should not be asking such a high price per night. If the receptionist had been around when we left we would have been able to say something then, however one of the breakfast staff had to deal with us as well as serve the guests.
There were rooms outside which we were not aware of when booking and these could be modern

Room Tip: Maybe try one of the outside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

After a recommendation from friends we decided to visit the swan hotel, we stayed in the deluxe room and enjoyed 2 fantastic nights and had our breakfast And dinner at the hotel, the bar is very welcoming with sofas and relaxing music, restaurant service was second to none, will be visiting again soon

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alresford
11.1 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
14.6 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
491 reviews
11.1 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
7.8 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,033 reviews
17.6 km away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 11 West Street | Alresford, Alresford SO24 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alresford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alresford
Price Range: $211 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel is a charming 18th-century hotel located in the centre of Alresford, just 15 minutes drive from Winchester. Looking down West Street in the Historic Town of Alresford in Hampshire. The Swan Hotel is situated on the left hand side where for over two hundred and fifty years it has served the community well from the original horse drawn coaches running from London to Southampton to modern day travellers. The hotel offers 22 bedrooms with the deluxe rooms being recently refurbished to a high standard. All of our rooms are en-suite and set out for a comfy night sleep. Choose to dine in either our restaurant, less formal Watercress Room or bar food in the Tap Room Stalls. Free parking located at the rear of the hotel. You'll benefit from: Ample free car parking onsite 22 en-suite bedrooms with flat screen TV and Sky Free WiFi for guests in public areas Large function rooms Restaurant, lounge and bar Wedding receptions a specialty ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing