We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Special Break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Coach House

Our farm at the foot of Wetton Hill showing the rear view of The Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our farm at the foot of Wetton Hill showing the rear view of The Coach House
The Coach House - converted barn on working peak district farm All this over your garden wall!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Our farm at the foot of Wetton Hill showing the rear view of The Coach House
The Coach House - converted barn on working peak district farm
All this over your garden wall!
Lounge with patio doors enjoys views of farm and Wetton Hill
Cuddles at lambing time.
Lambing Live from mid March to May - book your stay now
The Coach House nestles at the foot of Wetton Hill on our farmstead in the beautiful Peak District
Lambing time at Gateham Grange
Coach House - Spacious well equipped kitchen/diner
Private garden has lovely views down the valley
Pretty Double Bedroom with vanity unit
Lisa and Declan the Bull
Spacious family bedroom with antique furnishings
New arrivals!
During your stay challenge yourself to climb to the top of  Wetton Hill
Nearby Thor's Cave
View from inside Thor's Cave
Alton Towers, the country's top attraction if less that half an hours drive away
One frosty morning at Gateham Grange
Entrance to Gateham Grange, Alstonefield
Nearby Dovedale
All free range!
Carsington Water just a short drive away
A helping hand
View of our farmstead from the top of Wetton Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shemilt
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Special Break”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My family comes from the Derbyshire Peak District so this was a return to ancestral lands. A really lovely, very comfortable cottage deep in the countryside but easy access to friendly villages with good shops & great pubs/restaurants. The Peak District is like the Lake district with rivers instead of the Lakes.
We were allowed to include our much loved Labradoodle, Truffle, who enjoyed his holiday as much as we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A1Reading
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent farm holiday in stunning location.”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A homely, well equiped cottage with plenty of room for the whole family including young children.
Great view of the working farm, seeing plenty of animals and the day to day goings on.
The owners were very friendly and helpful, especially Sam who told us all about the farm.
Set in a stunning location and close to lots of the main attractions of the peak district.
We definitely hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being on a farm
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, great opportunity to take part in life on a farm”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage was exactly as advertised, homely rather than minimalist - ideal for our young daughter. She couldn't fine anything to break, which made our stay much more relaxing. It's well set up for families, with a cot and high chair available.

The highlight for us (especially me) was being made so welcome to participate on the farm - it was lambing time, and we were always welcome in the farm yard (children would need to be supervised) and to join in with whatever was happening. including watching lambs being born and bottle feeding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bottle feeding the lambs!
Liked least: We prefer a wider double bed, but we knew in advance that this cottage had standard width ones.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie P
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful escape to the country”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed for a week in October with family and dog, and were welcomed from the start by the owners. The cottage is warm, well-equipped, quiet and very comfortable. There is easy access walking to beautiful scenery, welcoming pubs and pretty local villages. Chatsworth is a brilliant day out too. We particularly liked escaping from the mobile phone for a week. On the last night a new calf was born in the stable opposite. Perfect place for families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
N. Worcs
Reviewed September 18, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home away from home / freedom for the kids
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ZooPip197...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Perfect Get Away - VERY Family Friendly”
Reviewed June 26, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The Coach House is a pretty little cottage situated in the middle of a working farm. The cottage is deceptively big on the inside whilst still be comfortable and cozy. We went at the height of the lambing season and there were lambs literally outside our bedroom window. The owners are really welcoming and friendly, the children got to hold and feed lambs every morning of our stay. The views are beautiful and you get the full country experience, on the first morning we were there we saw a calf being born! The pricing is fantastically reasonable, the bedrooms are well sized and the kitchen very well equipped, the bathroom is a little dated but you spend so little time in the bathroom is doesn't matter. We went with our 2 children aged 3 and 7 who slept in the bunkbeds situated in our bedroom and two other family members who had the double bedroom next door. The cottage is wonderfully placed for enjoying the Peak District , especially Chatsworth which was well worth the visit. We would definitely go back again if opportunity arose. We came back fully relaxed and the children had a wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and Family Friendly Farm Experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing