We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gem of a cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Shippon

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gemcorma
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gem of a cottage”
Reviewed July 29, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage and garden amid amazing views. Thank you so much Audrey and Martin for making us so welcome and for all the special little touches/extras in the cottage. We loved it so much we have already booked a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! So glad you loved our little cottage and we look forward to your next visit.Super guests in every way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoventryD...
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Peak Bolthole”
Reviewed July 25, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Shippon was the perfect bolthole for weekend of walking and cycling in the Peaks.
Audrey was a very welcoming host - with lots of useful information - the cottage was immaculate and really well equipped. There was some lovely produce left out for breakfast and all the things you need without the necessity to nip out to the shops.
Easy stroll into the village for a pint and a meal at The George and we did a 6 mile walk straight from the property on the final day.
We had a lovely weekend and may well be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Thanks for your lovely review, so pleased you really enjoyed your stay here and of course, as great guests who were so friendly and immaculately tidy it would be great to see you again.Plenty of cycling and walking for another stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noel1003
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend break ”
Reviewed May 7, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage was very clean and surprisingly large considering it is a one bedroom. Could easily have stayed for a week.
Will use again if we return to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2018
Thank you for your review Noel , many people are surprised by how much space there is in our cottage.Welcome any time you were excellent guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosey base for beautiful walks”
Reviewed December 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Audrey greeted us warmly, the table was set for afternoon tea with home baking! Cosey little bolt hole for a weekend of walking and lazing in front of the log burning stove! We would highly recommend this little cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it.So glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage.It was lovely to meet you both and thank you for leaving everywhere so immaculately neat and tidy on departure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen a
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The old shippon”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful time in Derbyshire excellent accommodation in alstonefield at the old shippon . Audrey the owner is an absolute delight

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you really enjoyed your stay with us.It was so nice to meet you both, really hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little cottage in a peaceful location with friendly owners”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were welcomed by the owners who were very friendly and helpful with advice about the local area. The cottage was lovely with lots of special touches such as afternoon tea on arrival and walking poles which were very handy. Looking forward to planning another trip there in the future. Thanks for having us!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Hanna, so glad you enjoyed our little cottage. You were absolutely charming, friendly guests and it was an absolute delight to host you both. Would be lovely to have you stay again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved it. We were so well looked after. Everything was clean and comfortable. Warm and welcoming. A delightful stay. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
So glad you both enjoyed your stay, thank you for your lovely review and also for booking The Old Shippon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing