We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb quirky property with everything under one...”
Dining table seats 34 with amazing panoramic views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining table seats 34 with amazing panoramic views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Dining table seats 34 with amazing panoramic views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 13 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Waterhouses, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
djscully
Bradford, West Yorks, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb quirky property with everything under one roof”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd visit to the Mermaid after staying 3 years ago. From the moment we arrived it felt like home. We were welcomed by Mark, the housekeeper who was a really nice chap who showed us round the property.

The standard of the place was as we expected and hasn't deteriorated from its quality since our last visit. We love the quirkiness of the bar area which is very traditional from the previous role of the building. It would be good to have a few updates to the bar, but we love it as it is anyway.

It was wonderful again to be showing new guests around and their reaction to the picture window in the dining room never fails as it is just breathtaking. The dining room as a whole is great for a big group to eat across one long table whilst taking in the views.

There are 13 high quality en-suite bedrooms with some family rooms with bunk beds which the kids loved.

We had a pub night and quiz one night, visited Leek another day and came back as a group to have a BBQ in the large outside picnic area. On the final day we had a Great British Bake Off competition and watched sport and films on the big screen in the dining room.

Overall there is plenty of space for everyone to do whatever they like at the Mermaid. My group of family and friends love the place and we intend on booking again for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole size of the property and having en suite rooms
Liked least: Not that it matters, but there are little tweaks I would make to the bar area now if possible.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexianeM
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

House is in a wonderful location with beautiful views over surrounding hills. The house is very well furnished and extremely comfortable. The bar area (it used to be a public house) is great fun with a pool table and bar football, the kitchen is very well equipped and the dining room has amazing views. Will definitely return - a highly enjoyable stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison E
Cawood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding venue in a stunning location”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This group of 34 people holidays together every year, and this is our 11th year. We come from all over the UK, and the most important feature is to all be under the same roof. The Mermaid was perfect, the right size for us, a secluded location with fantastic views, and lots to do, inside and out within a reasonable distance. Highlights were Jodrell Bank, cycling on the Tissington Trail, Lyme Park (unfortunately without Colin Firth) and climbing the Roaches. The facilities were excellent, the dining area was amazing, and being able to eat all together was a real treat. We'll be back!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
55stu
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING venue for an incredible weekend!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

After an extensive search across the whole country, the Mermaid Inn was our first choice for our joint birthday celebrations. The location, layout and finish of the place is fantastic for a party and all 34 of us agreed it was perfect for our needs.

We had a BBQ on the massive BBQ on the Friday, then all helped out to produce an amazing curry night on Saturday, where we all sat down around the table and ate like kings! Then we push the tables back and danced the night away.

In the midst of all this, we also took a short walk over the beautiful hills to the 'Mermaid Pool' for an amazing wild swim.

I can not recommend this place enough! Thanks to the owners for setting it up so beautifully, and to everyone who came to the party... thanks for the memories!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bar and the dining table and the view and and...!
Liked least: The internet speed...
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikko1974...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Perfect for a weekend party”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The place is amazing. Isolated but by the road at the same time. Huge and can easily accommodate 35 people. The view from the dining room is spectacular. Inside the house there’s a pool table, a table football, 3 sitting room areas and 12 or so bedrooms. Bedrooms are separated from the other areas of the house so noise is never an issue if you are having a party. There’s a little lake nearby (20 mins walk) and we had a quick swim in there.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
888Sarah8...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place, I have been recommending it to everyone since we got back”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The property is fitted to a very high standard, we were thrilled with it (and much relieved that we managed a lot of cooking without setting off the sensitive fire alarm!).

We were a large group with lots of children. There was plenty of room for all. The kids loved the bar area, the dining room is stunning - a great place to watch the sunsets. The layout is great, with most bedrooms set well away from the living areas.

Lots of good walking and activities for the kids in the area. We will be back.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyRob...
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent House for large gatherings”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This house is fabulous. It is in the middle of nowhere but providing you are happy with that it is great. Everything you could wish for. Modern inside and all bedrooms are kept away from the noise of the rest of the party. Everything you need is provided and it is great that you can all sit together at meal times. We thoroughly enjoyed my daughter's hen weekend there. A;l age groups had a great time and all asked how I managed to find such an ace house.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing