We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation, lovely location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Birch Cottage

The cosy sitting room. Birch Cottage has its own enclosed, dog proof garden so ideal for dog owners
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cosy sitting room. Birch Cottage has its own enclosed, dog proof garden so ideal for dog owners
Birch now has a hot tub available to hire Birch now has a hot tub available to hire!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
The cosy sitting room. Birch Cottage has its own enclosed, dog proof garden so ideal for dog owners
Birch now has a hot tub available to hire
Birch now has a hot tub available to hire!
Our fields in the snow
Birch Cottage in the snow
Birch Cottage in the snow
The Manifold Valley in the snow
Happy Christmas from Woody!
Christmas at Birch Cottage
Broadhurst Cottages in the snow
Christmas at Birch Cottage
Castern Hall- a wintery scene near Broadhurst
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Waterhouses, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gina1622
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation, lovely location!”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent stay, the dogs loved it too would recommended to family and friends and will definitely go back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 5 days. The cottage was very clean and comfy. We had forgotten our towels and I asked the owner if we could pay to hire some - she very kindly provided 2 each at no cost. The cottage has it's own lovely garden and is very convenient for Alton Towers and Ashbourne. We had our shopping delivered (although there is a M&S food just 10 minutes up the road!)
This is the second time we have stayed at these cottages and I think they are lovely. The setting is picturesque and it's a very reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The upstairs bedrooms
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verna K
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, great location”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed there from the 1st -3rd of June. Linda and Paul were very welcoming and accommodated for our every need. The location is ideal for Alton Towers. We would definitely recommend it and will hopefully be staying there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, well presented and friendly owners.”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this cottage over the weekend because it was cheap and in a perfect location. We didn't expect it to be such good value for money. The owners were very helpful and understanding RE our two dogs. The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen is massive with plenty of appliances! The cottage is surrounded by various different walks with great views. There is also nice pubs nearby and a shop 5 minutes down the road. If you are there for a week away there is also a large M&S only 15 minutes away. There are two shower rooms downstairs so if you are two couples staying as we were we had a bathroom each! The only criticism we had was that the living area could do with another armchair/sofa to make it feel a little more social/make better use of the space when relaxing in the cottage. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well the cottage was presented & the large enclosed garden for the dogs
Liked least: living area seating
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing