We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Marvellous March at the Barn”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Barlow, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kenneth I
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marvellous March at the Barn”
Reviewed March 30, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

It had started to snow as we arrived, but the Barn was warm and cosy ready for our arrival. The owners Fran and David think of everything for their guests they really are the perfect hosts! The Barn appears quite small from the outside but inside it's Tardis like and tastefully styled with everything you need plus little touches of luxury. Across the road is a quaint cafe serving excellent food. About 50yards farther on is The Peacock. The food, surroundings, views, and service is second to none! We had a wonderful week and WILL RETURN first chance we get!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review. Hope to see you again. Keep in touch. Let me know in plenty of time as we are getting pretty chocker.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dparry706
Wallington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 18, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A lovely well equipped and comfortable Barn. Very tasteful and modern facilities.We have enjoyed our stay as it was like a from home. We will define come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Thanks for the kind words, hoping to see you again when you are next in the area. Fran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah J
2 reviews
“Clean, cosy & comfortable”
Reviewed February 6, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Me & my boyfriend fancied a quiey weekend away in the peak district and stumpled upon this barn conversion in lovely barlow. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the barn. It was so clean, beautiful decor, comfortable bed and sofa... everything you could wish for. There were books and games provided, and everything you would need in the kitchen area. There was free wifi, a gorgeous big fire & bluetooth so we could listen to music with speakers in the corners. Was fabulous. Definately stopping again! Fran was very friendly as well came over when we first arrived to make sure we had everything and knew how to work the fire and combi oven. Truly a fab cosy break!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind words, looking forward to seeing you again.
Fran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 1, 2018 for a stay in April 2017

Fantastic and well furnished cottage, a joy to stay in. We are originally from the area but returned to visit friends and take part in the Sheffield Half Marathon along with our two boys.
We were really impressed with the quality and space, not to mention the step across the road for a lovely pub meal and a drink!
Would highly recommend The Barn for small families and couples alike.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind words, looking forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C
1 review
“Beautifully appointed home away from home”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Picturesque renovated barn in a rural location in Derbyshire. Convenient to the Peak District, Peacock Pub and Chesterfield. The accommodation is cosy and comfortable - like being at home. The Woodland Barn has been tastefully renovated with stylish decor and modern amenities. We would definitely stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind comments hoping to see you next time you visit. Fran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cailin D
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Centrally Located”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very beautiful barn conversion, very clean and has all mod cons. We particularly liked the village location and access to the little café and local pubs. Centrally located to explore the beautiful countryside. Whilst access to the family garden is definitely a bonus and was offered freely, we found it uncomfortable when our host joined on our last night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Many thanks for the lovely comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila747
Wokingham
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful barn conversion in lovely village”
Reviewed March 1, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fran and David give you a very warm welcome to The Barn which has been beautifully converted. Although it was February when we stayed we were very warm and cosy with both central heating and fire. There is everything you need for a self catering holiday although we didn't actually do any cooking ourselves as there is a superb pub offering excellent food right opposite The Barn. The Barn is well located for all areas of the Peak District and we will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2017
Many thanks for the kind me words, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again. Fran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing