We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coffee with a view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Coffee with a view.
Master bedroom with kingsize bed & en suite.
Twin with en suite.
Our woolly neighbours.
Enclosed garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bush54
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family cottage!”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Returned to the Cottage again this year for another 10 day stay at the end of Sept/beginning of Oct; very clean and homely. Easy access to Matlock and other top Peak District attractions. Lockable cycle store very handy and basic kitchen provisions available which was very helpful. We don't have a dog ourselves and the Cottage is cleaned to a standard that you wouldn't know pets had been there! The perfect base for myself, my husband and our little girl and we don't have to share a bedroom or bathroom! Thank you to Helen and Andy for being so welcoming

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
We were so pleased to welcome you back again this year, there is no better compliment than that! I hope you will visit us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_lin26w
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Its a winner!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Had a great stay at this really delightful cottage. Attention to detail amazing as is the artwork around. We felt at home immediately . The owners, Helen and Andy are welcoming but in now way invasive. Beautiful cottage in a gorgeous setting. We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thank you so much Lin & James we really appreciate your comments and so pleased you want to return to Cavendish cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_milogoos...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“IMPECCABLE ! IMMACULATE ! DOG FRIENDLY COTTAGE !”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Situated in delightful rich countryside abundance of wildlife, walks long and short from the garden gate .Local Marsh Farm shop and The Poets Corner Pub,, food and all staff so very friendly thoroughly recommend ! (Woof our dog does too !) Cavendish Cottage is very central to an array of places to visit sights to see pleasure for all age groups. Bakewell, Chesterfield, Cromford Canal, Haddon House Matlock bath and much MORE !! Cavendish Cottage is gorgeous so inviting exceptionally well equipped even dog bowls (home from home for woof ,) So much thought has been given by Helen and Andy , a welcome personal note flowers ,chocs and treats for the dog . My top title really says the rest ( i could say lots more ) THANK-YOU FOR AN OUTSTANDING STAY HELEN AND ANDY

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your review, we were blown away by it. We look forward to welcoming you all next year. All the best for 2018.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“First class holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Probably the best cottage that we have stayed in, in terms of quality of the accommodation. It is only a couple of minutes from the village where the Old Poets Inn is recommended.
The cottage is a good location for access to Matlock and the Peak District. We love walking, and this was an ideal base.
Since we have a dog, the fact that she was welcome at the cottage meant that she enjoyed the holiday, too.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect country cottage”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Immaculate and incredibly well equipped cottage in a beautiful setting. Well placed for Derbyshire's many attractions and within easy walking distance of a superb deli/cafe and a good pub. A walker's paradise - we loved it and plan to return.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage, it's nice to know you loved it and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your comments and hope you'll be back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dkr58
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous pet friendly modern recently renovated cottage in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed 4 nights at Cavendish Cottage with my dog and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The cottage is next to the owners' cottage so they are available if needed (great knowledge of places to see) but they are in no way intrusive.

We were greeted upon arrival and made to feel very welcome. There was a lovely touch of a personalised welcome note and treats for me and the dog. The owners Helen and Andy are very friendly. They even provided dog sitting for 2 of my days at a very reasonable price, which allowed me to sightsee without the dog and he had a great time on walks with them (which gave me another couple of hours of quiet time upon my return as he slept after his play/walks!).

They've really thought of everything at the cottage - the kitchen is well stocked with everything you could need for your stay and the bedrooms have plenty of pillows and extra blankets if needed. There are even dog bowls provided so that there is less to pack, which is always good!

The cottage is beautifully decorated with high quality fixtures and fittings. There is underfloor heating throughout and a rainfall shower in the master en-suite that I wished I could have taken home!

There are 2 bedrooms and 2 en-suites so no queuing for the bathroom! There is a bath in the twin room en-suite so you can have a soak after a long day but personally I loved the shower.

The cottage is in a great location with ease of access to lots of sights - Matlock, Bakewell (yes the traditional cake must be tried, yummy!), Buxton (drink some free natural spring water!), Chatsworth House and so much more. It was a treat to look out every day and see the sheep and llamas in the field next door (that is not a typing error there were 3 llamas too!).

There is a pub within a 10 minutes walk that serves food and a further 3 in the village that is only a pleasant 30 minutes walk away.

I was lucky to come across this cottage during my search and would definitely re-visit (hopefully soon!). If you're thinking of booking this then don't hesitate as I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
We really appreciate all the positive feedback you have given us and hope we will see both you and Trigger again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing