We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Lodge!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Take a nice walk through fields to the wood and river and the bottom of the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CazMax
Cheshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Lodge!”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay! A very comfortable, clean and welcoming new lodge with good size rooms. We would love to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anon1911
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to stay ”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We were a party of 4 adults plus a dog. The lodge was perfectly equipped for everything we required. It was very clean and comfortable and we felt right at home. We found it a little difficult to find in the dark but Anna and Jim were on the other end of the phone to help and we got there fine in the end. The lodge is peaceful and quiet and is surrounded by fields and woods which provide a lovely walk. It wasn't too far from lovely tourist attractions such as Chatsworth House.

The lodge itself is laid out superbly and allows everyone in the party to feel as though they have plenty on space as well as all being able to hang out comfortably in the living space together. My partner and I shared the double bed room which has an en suite. This was great for us as even though we were on a family holiday we felt we also had space from the rest of the group - so got the perfect mix.

The showers are fantastic! And bathrooms are complete with towel rail which is a great feature. The radiators in the lodge heat it up very quickly. There is ample storage space for clothes,bags, shoes, etc. The garden was great for the dog as it was enclosed.

The only improvements we would make are:

1. The TV could be a wee bit temperamental at points

2. A lamp would be nice in the living area for nighttime

3. A hair dryer might be nice to have

Overall this lodge was at an extremely high standard. We absolutely loved it and can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S
1 review
“STUNNING CHALET NEAR PEAK DISTRICT”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed for 3 nights in August, family of 4 children are aged 10 and 7 plus a dog. Was very impressed with the chalet, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, everything is NEW! The chalet is very spacious in particular the main living area. There was everything you could possibly need/want during your stay. Kitchen included dishwasher, oven, microwave, full size fridge freezer etc. The dining table was plenty big enough and especially liked the view from the table. Sofas are large and very comfortable. The two bathrooms were great, really liked the heated towel rails and the shower was like one you find in a hotel. All the bedding, towels are provided, only needed toiletries and clothing. There is so much storage for clothing. Normally we leave stuff in suitcases as there isn't enough hanging space or drawers for everything but there is more than enough. Really well thought out.
It was particularly relaxing as we could let the children play in the secure garden and the dog could come and go as he pleased. There is seating outside. Anna (the owner) provided a starter kit of tea, coffee and milk which was very thoughtful. The owners are very friendly but also give you enough privacy, just the right balance.

THINGS TO DO

The base is perfect for days out, we were within 20 mins of Chatsworth House, had a wonderful day there, definitely worth a visiit. Dogs are allowed in all area with the exception of children's playground, farmyard and inside the house. The grounds are stunning.
We had a day out at Heights of Abraham, Matlock Bath, dogs are allowed on the cable cars and around the grounds but not inside the caverns. The views are spectacular. There is a free firework display at weekends for the month of September in Matlock Bath.
We visited The Tramway Museum and Village. Again, dogs are allowed here and can travel on the trams. There is a lovely woodland walk with fantastic sculptures carved from wood. Entry enables you to visit again within a 12 month period so we went twice. This is also inside 20 min drive.

Food & Drink

In Matlock Bath we stopped at a dog friendly cafe called F Coffee where they served superb milkshakes and the cakes looked divine, sadly didn't get to sample any.

Ashover is probably the nearest village with a selection of pubs only 10 min ride in the car. There we went for a meal at The Poets Corner, dog friendly, children friendly too. We went twice as we really enjoyed the food, atmosphere was very welcoming and friendly. Definitely recommend this pub. Sunday they do a curry night with a large choice of curries on the menu. It's probably mid price, the food was excellent. Children could choose from the main menu and they did a smaller portion size, still generous.

Had a great holiday here, we didn't wan to leave - highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marion t
March, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring, lovely surrounding, friendly hosts/owners.”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Dog friendly and safe especially if you have young children. Really is worth a visit, amazing location with lots of lovely walks. Lodge very clean and immaculate conditions. Would go again tomorrow.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talbot187...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful, peaceful stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We received a warm welcome to the cabin, even though we arrived early!
The cabin is spotlessly clean and furnished with good quality fittings, furniture, bedding and towels. The showers are good, the beds are comfy and the kitchen is fully equipped. The enclosed garden area was great for our two dogs to potter about in. A rural location so it's peaceful, quiet and very pretty, we found it to be a great base for exploring the local area, also has a lovely walk on the doorstep, perfect for the dogs morning walk. Just about everything has been considered by the owners but they are still open to suggestion for improvements. Would love to return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgemstone
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Rural Getaway”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my Family had an excellent time at this very high standard lodge. The Accomodation was modern and immaculate and the owners Jim and Anna were very friendly and approachable. Would highly recommend and would look to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmanca...
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ONE OF THE BEST PLACES TO STAY!”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing lodge in a rural area with excellent access to great days out.

The lodge provides everything you need for a wonderful stay.

The finishes and the furnishings are 5*.

The owners were polite, friendly and helpful, they also made us feel very welcome.

It's only 5 miles from chesterfield town and 45 minutes from Alton towers.

I highly recommend thorn tree lodge to anyone wishing a relaxing stay in the country side.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Thanyou for your kind comments I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay

Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing