We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect, excellent all round stay”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Brew House

The Brew House is the East wing of Knighton Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Brew House is the East wing of Knighton Farmhouse
Second bedroom with twin beds and wooden cot Main bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The Brew House is the East wing of Knighton Farmhouse
Second bedroom with twin beds and wooden cot
Main bedroom with king size bed
Welcome hamper with a selection of Isle of Wight produce
The second bedroom has beautiful views from the window
Main bedroom with door to second bedroom
Rocking chair to relax in
Lots of information is provided on things to see and do on the Island
Plenty of books and magazines to read
The secluded courtyard with outdoor table and chairs
Sheltered courtyard for outdoor eating
A sunny spot in the courtyard for quiet relaxation
Sit in the shade in the shared wooded garden
The sitting room has plenty of books and games
Sitting room with beamed ceiling
Cozy sitting room with inglenook fireplace and wood-burning stove
A cozy place to relax
Fully-equipped kitchen
Bathroom (with bath and shower)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newchurch, Sandown, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kb5353
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect, excellent all round stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a great holiday in this wonderful area. The Brewhouse is very comfortable and cosy with plenty of toys for our 2 year old to enjoy. The family owners were very approachable and could not do enough to make our stay perfect. Thank you to Ali and family for an outstanding stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie E
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic little spot of tranquility!”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Have just returned today from a week at The Brew House. A beautiful, tranquil farmhouse in a lovely part of the island. The owners have thought of everything you will need to make it feel like 'home from home'. We travelled with our 11 month old daughter and felt completely at ease, had everything needed provided from stair gates, highchair and even a teddynd for her to cuddle at night!! With a welcomslae hamper on arrival to indulge in we were able to settle in straight away. Ideal place to stay for getting around the island. Thank you for a lovely relaxing week - we will be returning asap!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cfleetwoo...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage with an unrivalled welcome!”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just returned from a few days on the Isle of Wight - we stayed in The Brew House, a gorgeous cottage,.
We entered the cottage through a really pretty courtyard garden with pots of beautiful Spring flowers. The cottage was warm and cosy, and so welcoming with fresh flowers in every room, in the kitchen there was a basket of home made goodies, jam, chutneys, flapjack, and the most delicious chocolate cake adorned with candles for my husbands birthday. I think it would be very difficult to receive such a warm welcome ......
The cottage was equipped with everything you would need, and was more of a home than a holiday cottage. We travelled with older teenagers but if you had younger children the property would be perfect as there are so many games, toys, activities for younger members of a family, including a cot and stair gate if required.
A perfect setting for a relaxing holiday and a great base for exploring the island.
We walked over the fields to The Garlic Farm, which is an interesting place to visit with a great coffee shop and restaurant, Osbourne House is a great day out - lots to see and do for the whole family, The Donkey Sanctuary is free and you can wander through the paddocks with the donkeys, The Model Village at Godshill is a jolly place to visit.
A beautiful property, the warmest of welcomes, go and stay at The Brew House for a wonderful stay on The Isle of Wight - you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome, quality of accommodation
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLBurnell
1 review
“A hidden gem! We will be back!”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break at The Brew House and we are already thinking about when we can go back. It's a beautiful, cosy, little place; immaculately decorated, adorned and furnished to make it a stunning home-from-home. Perfect for our family of 4, with an abundance of toys and games suitable for ages and lots of child-suitable items in the cupboards eg cups, beakers, egg cups etc. you want for nothing! The stairs are steep and narrow, but stair gates were provided. Every little detail has been carefully thought through and because of this, made for a very relaxing stay. You can tell how much the Cripps family adore The Brew House and equally how much they enjoy sharing it with others. We were welcomed by the very lovely and friendly Ali and an amazing hamper of goodies, including a homemade chocolate cake, homemade marmalade and jam and a plethora of other delicious locally-sourced items. Thank you once again for a lovely time. We appreciated all the fine details and extra effort that went into making our stay so enjoyable. It really was the perfect inland base for our Isle of Wight adventures. Hopefully see you again soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris_Emm...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, family friendly, well equipped, warm welcome... will go back again”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We found the cottage on Tripadvisor/Owners Direct and thought the reviews were possibly too good to be true. They are not. We could not recommend the Brew House enough.

We stayed at the Brew House at the end of September with our two children who are aged 2 and 4. When making the booking Ali very helpfully gave us advice for ferries and pre-arrival information. Upon arrival Ali was there to meet us and show us around the Brew House. The Brew House truly is a home away from home and it is clear that Ali, David and James make it so. A marvellous welcome hamper and key provisions were a great help and gave us our first taste of the local produce.

Our girls loved exploring the Brew House and were overwhelmed with the choice of toys to play with. And there truly is something for all ages (including adults) at this house, books, games, toys, DVDs, outdoor ride-ons.

This was our first trip to the Isle of Wight, we had no idea how far away the activities were and had not made any plans. With Ali's directions we found a childrens play area next to the beach in Ryde which became a firm favourite. The visitors book provided a wealth of ideas for activities, days outs, pubs and other hidden gems.

It seemed that nowhere was really too far away from the Brew House, we were so fortunate with the weather that we were able to be out most days but always able to get back and know that our little ones would be entertained.

We look forward to going back to the Brew House again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome and toys / games / books
Liked least: Getting into the car to come home
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing