We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand New Hotel within walking distance to the main part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moose Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brand New Hotel within walking distance to the main part of town”
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed at the moose with our family of 5 the week they opened and were not disappointed. Staff was awesome and hotel is a beautiful blend of rustic meets modern! The Pacini restaurant was wonderful and located right in the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffGM, General Manager at Moose Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2016
Thank you for your review of the new Moose Hotel & Suites! We are thrilled your family enjoyed their stay - 'rustic meets modern' - I like that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    138
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
178
222
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016

This hotel is perfectly located within a very short walking distance to stores and restaurants. The rooms were very well appointed, clean, extremely quiet and very comfortable. Unfortunately, the pool wasn't open during our visit but it didn't deter us in the slightest. Although still under construction we weren't inconvenienced at all. Hoping to book again for a ski trip this coming winter.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBTravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffGM, General Manager at Moose Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2016
Thank you for your review of the new Moose Hotel & Suites! We're happy the fact that all of our amenities were not available didn't distract you from having an exceptional stay. I am pleased to report that our pools are now open and we offer two outdoor rooftop hot pools (100F-105F) to keep you warm in the winter during your future stay. There is also an indoor pool as well. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Very nice great location. Would definitely stay again when the pool and restaurant are open. Room was clean, however there were some paint stains on the floor and wall and the led light behind the bed was malfunctioning. New hotel glitches I guess.

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Edmonton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffGM, General Manager at Moose Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2016
Thank you for your review of the new Moose Hotel & Suites! I will admit that we have had some growing pains but I am happy to announce that the pool and the restaurant are now open. We hope to welcome you back to show you our finishing touches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

The Moose Hotel and Suites is a new hotel direct in downtown of Banff. Only short walking distance to restaurants, shops and trip bookings as well as a bus station right at the outside of the hotel.

I was in a one King Bed Suite but I originally booked a standard room. I got this upgrade complimentary for all 8 nights!! The suite is great. Enough space, two TV's, large shower,.... Not good: No bathtub and gas fired fireplace smells while used. Got headache because of it; tried it several times. Very nice staff at reception and room service.

I visited the hotel during the build up of restaurant and spa. Noise was okay due to the fact that nobody works tonight. Therefore I couldn't test these parts of the hotel. Though they offered me to use the hot pools of the adjacent hotel (Ptarmigan Inn) for free!

Stayed July 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffGM, General Manager at Moose Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2016
Thank you for your review of the new Moose Hotel & Suites! I am happy to report that the pool and the restaurant are now open. With regards to the fireplace, I hope that once the 'new smell' has dissipated that it will no longer be a problem. Partly based on your review, I had the maintenance team attend to all the fireplaces and turned them on for a period of time in an effort to remove the unappealing smell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hightstown, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed July 23 & 24. I booked after reading Trip Advisor reviews saying the hotel was occupied, but construction was almost finished in March. I assumed by July it would be finished. The booking site did not mention any construction.

Some areas of the hotel were closed and signed "Under Construction" and part of the garage was been used to store construction materials. This was not very much of an inconvenience for us. There was no construction noise while we were there.

The restaurant opened two days before we arrived and was still training staff. The service was slow but they gave us a free dessert as compensation.

Othewise, the hotel and our room was comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very helpful, but obviously trainees.

Once the kinks are worked out, I expect this hotel will be excellent so I would consider staying there again.

If you are concerned about construction or whether specific ammenities are available, check on the construction status before you book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside for the best views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lordstark45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffGM, General Manager at Moose Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2016
Thank you for your review of the new Moose Hotel & Suites! We are working out the kinks and we appreciate your patience with us. I am thrilled to hear that you believe that we will one day be excellent. I share your thoughts. I am happy to report that the rooftop pools are now open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016

we were on route to Kelowna area from Red Deer and booked for 1 night, room clean and modern but power cut at 11pm to 7.45am next morning, most of Banff was out....Husband went to get details and apparently had a generation ready but for some unknow reason did not work !!!! we were on the bottom floor at the back with a shared balcony and it looked like a building site, no restaurant, workmen still working there, we were on our honeymoon from England, even though receptionist were helpful there was no liquid milk for tea so I had to go to store for carton then couldnt have a drink of tea as no power...dont think we will stop there again, we stayed July10th

Room Tip: go for breakfast to 'TooLouLous'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffGM, General Manager at Moose Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2016
Thank you for your review of the new Moose Hotel & Suites! We're sorry your stay was interrupted by a power outage. We do not have a generator on site and our emergency lighting is only set up to power for about an hour. We are currently in the process of adding our balcony partitions. I can assure you that if you were to return, you would be met with an above average experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

As we are in Banff almost every weekend we've watched this hotel being built and were excited to give it a try. When visitors from Ontario were coming out I decided this was a perfect opportunity to book a room. We paid the low introductory rate as the restaurant, pool, as well as the top floors were not yet finished. We choose to upgrade to the 1 bedroom suite as there were 3 of us girls and each wanted our own bed. The rooms are of course nice and spotless being new with a fireplace in the living room as well as the sofa bed. The balcony is shared with the room beside and didn't really like that they could peer into our window. This could be a real problem if the neighbours were travelling with kids who don't understand personal boundaries. The bathroom which appeared to be nice and luxurious actually has a bit of space problem when there are 3 people wanting to store make up bags, hair appliances etc.

The location is great if you want to be able to walk to the shops and restaurants and the real stand out is the staff as they go out of their way to assist you. I would think first time visitors would appreciate this as they can give you advice on what you might want to do or see. The Roam bus pass is included and there is underground parking so you can leave the car and explore without having to worry about where to park.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MandMMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffGM, General Manager at Moose Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2016
Thank you for your review of the new Moose Hotel & Suites! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Moose. I would like to not that the restaurant and rooftop pools are now open and we are currently adding balcony partitions to prevent the aforementioned 'peering in'. We hope to welcome you back at the Moose Hotel & Suites whenever you return to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,160 reviews
1.8 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
0.5 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,434 reviews
1.5 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
951 reviews
1.9 km away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Hotel and Suites

Property: Moose Hotel and Suites
Address: 345 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moose Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design of the Moose is Mountain elegance with warm, rich, natural materials. Located a 1 minute walk from the heart of downtown Banff, the Moose Hotel & Suites features 174 air conditioned guests rooms, with a combination of One and Two Bedroom Suites and hotel rooms. Amenities include the Meadow Spa & Pools with 10 treatment rooms and private outdoor hot pool, a bright indoor swimming pool and exercise room on the 3rd floor, and 2 spectacular rooftop hot pools with views of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. Dining is available at Pacini Italian Restaurant, featuring gourmet Italian food with unique and authentic flavours and a warm and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Moose Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Hotel And Suites Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing