We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip!”
Review of Hydra River Guides

Hydra River Guides
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.51*
and up
Calgary Flames Hockey Tours
Ranked #2 of 47 Outdoor Activities in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rafting on the Kicking Horse is a MUST DO activity during your vacation to the Canadian Rockies. Let Hydra River Guides introduce you to the water we call home. We offer rafting trips to suit all budgets and abilities, starting at only $55. 180,000 rafters can’t be wrong. Are you ready to join us?
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

My kids loved this. We did the mild because we have a 9 year old, so the only complaint I got from my older kids is that they wanted to do more rapids. Our guide was great, provided some history on the Kicking Horse River, wildlife information and just made sure everyone had a good time. They have a few volleyball courts to play on once you are done and waiting for the bbq which was great. I would do this again in a heartbeat. Awesome guides!!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jlafranca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya P, General Manager at Hydra River Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Hello jlafranca1. The Mild Trip is perfect for guests with young children. We're happy that the whole family had a good time with Hydra on the Kicking Horse River! Hopefully next time you can come visit us and take part in the Kicking Horse Classic so that your kids can experience the Class 4 rapids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bbq lunch"
in 46 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 88 reviews
"safety talk"
in 42 reviews
"classic trip"
in 17 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 31 reviews
"wild ride"
in 7 reviews
"splash jackets"
in 8 reviews
"potato salad"
in 11 reviews
"class rapids"
in 29 reviews
"wet suits"
in 23 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 37 reviews
"great fun"
in 35 reviews
"these guys"
in 25 reviews
"adrenaline rush"
in 9 reviews
"awesome trip"
in 12 reviews
"brownie"
in 18 reviews
"guide sam"
in 7 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 743 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya P, General Manager at Hydra River Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

I’ve never done white water rafting before but Jose our guide at Hydra really made my boyfriend (who can’t swim) and I feel extremely comfortable and safe while making the experience SO much fun! Jose was also extremely knowledgeable about the river and the Banff as an environment as well. Visiting Hydra & taking part in the kicking horse white water rafting is a MUST do activity when out in Banff!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Scarlet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya P, General Manager at Hydra River Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Hi Scarlet L,
It's a priority of ours to make sure that people of all abilities feel safe when rafting with Hydra. It's nice to hear that your experience was no exception and that you felt so comfortable. Jose is great at making our guests' rafting trips a fun one! Hopefully you learned some interesting facts about the area. Rafting on the Kicking Horse River is definitely something that we recommend to everyone too. Thank you for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Great afternoon rafting on the Kicking Horse River!! The ride was exciting for all of us and our guide Yaro was great!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hydra River Guides also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Hydra River Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing