We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Hydra River Guides tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Hydra River Guides
from US$44.10
More Info
from US$63.60
More Info
from US$44.10
More Info
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
662
46
7
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
46
7
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bbq lunch white water rafting safety talk classic trip safety briefing class rapids splash jackets potato salad rafting trip wet suits these guys great fun adrenaline rush awesome experience rafting companies great guide a lot of fun
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 723 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Excellent experience, friendly and funny guides. All kit provided. Great to meet other people. Hard to fault our experience.

Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

This trip was so well organized, so well presented and so interesting. The guide we had, named Mick, was charismatic, funny and had loads of great information to keep you engaged the entire time. I brought my 3 and 6 year-old sons on the trip and they LOVED it! My 3-year-old was so excited that he got to paddle (they wouldn't let him at Lake Louise on a prior excursion) and they even had a kid sized paddle for him, and my 6-year old loved looking for beaver dens and listening to Mick's great info. The length of time was absolutely perfect and the scenery was stunning. I couldn't have been happier with this excursion or the company who ran it.

1  Thank Sealegs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018

The safety talk was informative, thorough & yet hilarious at the same time! All staff were friendly & helpful, Ricky our guide was awesome, he put everyone at ease, was informative about the area and had us laughing all afternoon! Overall great fun, an amazing experience & an excellent way to spend an afternoon.

Thank Steveandjulie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

Superb bbq to start off our afternoon rafting. All rafting guides are brilliant; we always felt safe, they’re highly knowledgeable and very friendly. Great fun rafting with exquisite views from the river!

Thank Ellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya P, General Manager at Hydra River Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Hello Ellie P. Thank you for your positive review. We always enjoy the BBQ during the Kicking Horse Classic rafting trip. As safety is a priority of the Hydra River Guides team, it is nice to hear that you felt as though your group was in good hands. It makes it that much easier to enjoy the spectacular views as you've noted! We hope that we have the chance to see you during another rafting season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

What a great day! We arrived in time for a sumptuous lunch fresh off the grill. We then had a very informative safety demo and received our gear. The weather was blue skies and warm - perfect! Our guide, David E, was so knowledgeable and trusting and funny. We also had a great team. I highly recommend. And the photos! OMG - you get them all for a great price. Amazing! Can't wait to go again!

Thank CandaceW811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Great afternoon rafting on the river after a yummi burger! Staff very nice and funny. Although the safety speech can get scary, don’t let it get you!

Thank EliR918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

The team at Hydra are great! from the moment we arrived everything was easy going and organized.
This time of year the rapids aren't as big so if you are after bigger rapids I qpuld go earlier in the season .
However we still had a great time, our guide Ricky was amazing and had a laugh with everyone and told us lots about the river and the surrounding areas.

would highly recommend rafting with these guys!

1  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

My kids loved this. We did the mild because we have a 9 year old, so the only complaint I got from my older kids is that they wanted to do more rapids. Our guide was great, provided some history on the Kicking Horse River, wildlife information and just made sure everyone had a good time. They have a few volleyball courts to play on once you are done and waiting for the bbq which was great. I would do this again in a heartbeat. Awesome guides!!!

Thank jlafranca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya P, General Manager at Hydra River Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Hello jlafranca1. The Mild Trip is perfect for guests with young children. We're happy that the whole family had a good time with Hydra on the Kicking Horse River! Hopefully next time you can come visit us and take part in the Kicking Horse Classic so that your kids can experience the Class 4 rapids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

What an amazing experience with Hydra River Guides rafting on Kicking Horse River!!!!! We were greeted with a friendly group of staff on our visit, food was good, facilities were clean, the safety meeting was informative. Our guide, Dave E was a hoot!!!! He knew the people in our boat were thrill seekers and made sure we laughed & screamed throughout the entire adventure. Thanks Dave E for putting up with our singing, our ‘given’ names and the overall experience will always be remembered!!!! We will definitely be returning for another trip down the river!!

Thank Kimchomyk1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya P, General Manager at Hydra River Guides, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Hello Kimchomyk1982,
Thank you for reviewing the Kicking Horse Classic rafting trip with Hydra! Our staff do an excellent job of welcoming people to the river base. We're happy that they made you feel excited to raft. Dave E is one of our most experienced rafters and he has a great sense of humour! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Had an excellent time white water rafting. Our guide Jose was very experienced and knowledgeable and despite the river being low we still had a fun time. Well organised and so glad we tried this- we want to do it again!

Thank Tracey1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews