We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If you're staying in Banff, stay here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Beaver Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banff Beaver Cabins
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“If you're staying in Banff, stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011



My wife and I stayed in the Fox den cabin (the largest) and were very pleased with the space, given that it is right in the middle of Banff town.

We've never met a more friendly host. Laura prepared granola for us (delicious - even got the recipe!) and she invites everyone to have her home made cookies and continental breakfast every day, that is, unless a local deer gets there first!
 
A real treat to see 3 deer casually eating beside our cabin!

The cabin is lovely, spacious and clean. Laura is always around to help or offer tips on the area. And what an area. Right in the heart of Banff town (which itself is very pleasant), this is a peaceful area (except for the distant horn parp from the trains - we liked this!), but only 2 minutes walk to the busy Banff Avenue.

Overall, a lovely stay with a lovely host. Highly recommended (and, Laura, the beds *were* great!).

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

After 3 weeks travelling in Euopre landing at these historic cabins was divine .We drove right to our door,walked steps to the local market to gather our fresh vegetables,salmon,wine and cheese and prepared our meal in our cozy kitchen and ate outside on our own table.The sheets were hung on an outside clothesline to dry,comfy duvets and pillows,the hardwood floors sparkling clean,our morning walk up Tunnel mountain out our back door with our lattes in hand,returning to fresh homemade warm buns,organic jams,homemade granola,and warm cookies at 3pm was so rewarding after weeks without.The privacy ,our cabin window open to the fresh mountain air was the perfect rest .The owners appear to care for their business and understand what a guest craves when travelling.

Room Tip: Cabins backing onto Tunnel Mountain the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The location of the cabins are great and definitely a good value for Banff. Downtown Banff is in walking distance, but did not hear any noise at night. Hiking is in walking distance or a short drive from the cabins. Laura is very knowledgeable about hiking trails, activities and dining in the area. There was a small frig, tv and dvd player in our cabin. We stayed in the Lynx cabin (the smallest) for our 3 night stay. Although the cabin is small, it was very clean and adequate for our stay. We spent our days hiking and enjoyed watching dvd's at night. Dvd's can be rented down the street at the grocery store, and they had a fairly good selection. Delicious home made granola and rolls were provided each morning which were great before hiking. There was milk, coffee and tea in the room. Cookies and juice were provided in the afternoon. When Laura saw us return from hiking, she would ask how our stay was going and got us some juice....great service. Would recommend to travelers and will plan on staying again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Located on the street directly behind the Banff Information Centre, this location is excellent. You're away from the frenzy of Banff Ave. but can walk there in a minute or two. The only noise issues we had were people coming out of bars in the wee hours having to express themselves very loudly, but this can be heard at any of the hotels in the downtown area also. It also didn't last long. We stayed in the Elk cabin which had two bedrooms, a sitting/dining area and a galley kitchen. There is a full-size refrigerator, microwave, toaster, kettle, coffee maker, and lots of dishes and cutlery. There is also a one-burner hot plate which we did not use. Two barbeque grills are available in the yard along with an assortment of cooking spices. We used these all three nights we were there and found them spotlessly maintained and in perfect working order. There are several table and chair sets and a gazebo in the yard for guests' use on warm days. The beds were extremely comfortable and had lovely linens on them. The bathroom was a bit of a tight squeeze (don't think someone over about 250 lbs. would be able to get through the doorway without stepping into the shower stall first). It was clean and certainly adequate for our needs (although no electrical socket in that room). Laura, the owner, provided a litre of milk and container of granola upon arrival. Tea, coffee, sugar and sweetener are in the cabin already. Every afternoon at 4:00, she put freshly baked chocolate chip cookies and iced tea out on one of the picnic tables for everyone to help themselves. First thing in the morning, she put out homemade whole wheat buns along with butter and jam and some fresh fruit. All in all, a great experience and would recommend it without hesitation.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AuntyMoWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Historic-type dwellings in Banff. Cabins in back garden! All amenities supplied within cabin (we stayed in Lynx cabin). Comfortable bed, parking included and easy walking access to downtown. Friendly and informative hosts. Great place to stay - would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I've had a strange experience at Beaver Cabins during my visit in Canada in August.
I chose this accommodation because of its good reviews (breakfast, bed, location, etc...).
But I've to say that my experience was different.
I spent 3 nights at B.B.C. The first one my wife and I we couldn't sleep because we had a strange itch all over the body. In addition, in the morning, we found some some small red bubbles in some part of our body.
I said what has happened to me to the owner and she immediately changed our sheets. But the night after we kept on having the same strange itch. The day after nobody asked us about how things had gone the second night, neither the following day. I didn't even see anyone when I left the cabin.
What was the problem? I don't know exactly. Bed bags, spiders, other insects, who knows.
In addition, during my stay in the Bear Cabin, nobody washed my bathroom!
And as far as breakfast is concerned, we had only some rolls and a little bit of jam e fruits. Milk and granola were in the cabin. But for the price paid it's very little.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank SYD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurahollihan, Owner at Banff Beaver Cabins, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
I have no answer to our guest’s complaint about a strange itch, other than to say that in five years, no one has ever had a similar complaint. So perhaps a reaction to our laundry soap or mosquito bites during the day while being in the mountains, will never know? As indicated on our website, we provide a continental breakfast rather than a full hot breakfast. We are happy to provide additional fruit, homemade granola and breakfast buns to any of our guests, if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle River, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

This is in a perfect location. You can walk to any place in Banff from here. We stayed at the Fox which has two bedrooms and the cabin was spotless. The bed wa so comfortable and especially for me who has back problems. The owners are very pleasant and friendly. Laura has nice warm buns with homemade jam and a basket of fruit in the morning for breakfast. Each unit has a nice patio set to enjoy the outside.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjanisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
1.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.4 km away
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Beaver Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Beaver Cabins

Property: Banff Beaver Cabins
Address: 220 Beaver Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Beaver Cabins a Class B Heritage Site. Seven fully furnished cabins and suites with 1 or 2 bedrooms, washrooms, microwave kitchenettes, some with living rooms. One block away from main street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banff Beaver Cabins Hotel Banff
Banff Beaver Cabins Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing