We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duck to die for, Ling Cod excellent but smaller portions ”
Review of The Juniper Bistro

The Juniper Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Juniper Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 155 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The wall-to-wall glass at the Juniper Bistro looks out over one of the most renowned vistas in North America. Join us for locally-inspired food that's the ideal complement to a day of hiking, cycling, skiing, or downtown shopping. Our meals are homemade and decadent, crafted to include our most treasured Canadian classics along with new discoveries inspired by worldwide travels. From our in-house bakery to the spirit of our menu, our chefs are proud to create delicious meals with a handcrafted and sustainable spirit.
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

A bit out of town so you need a car or a desire to walk. The small restaurant felt a bit of an afterthought (we ate downstairs) the service was friendly and the good made the visit worthwhile. $200 for five of us do not inexpensive.

Thank NotTimbuktu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperMgr, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Dear NotTimbuktu,

Thank you for your feedback, we very much appreciate your kind words and are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal! Juniper Bistro used to be The Timberline, and we have displayed in the foyer of the restaurant, original menus and photographs of The Timberline Dining Room dating back to the 1950s! Next time you come visit be sure to check out the original 67 year old menu! :)

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Irving
Restaurant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 182 of 878 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2017

Breakfast was a little slow...but we were a very large group at the hotel. Id make sure there were no big groups starting before I booked.

Thank Peachmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperMgr, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Dear Peachmm,

Thank you for your feedback! Breakfast has grown to be very popular, and has become one of our busiest services! As you can appreciate, larger groups always take more time, as we like to ensure every dish is the same, no matter how big or small the group! I would absolutely agree with you that anyone looking to come in should make a reservation to ensure smooth consistent service and satisfaction of our guests!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,

Chris Irving
Restaurant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2017

The food was incredible, I think it was the best duck dish of my life. I highly recommend this place. I believe the chef delivered the food to me by himself in order to keep it the right temperature. If I'm ever back to Banff area, I will stop there for meal for sure!

Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperMgr, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Dear Michaela D,

Thanks so much for your kind feedback! It was indeed myself that brought you your duck, and i am thrilled to hear you loved your meal! We definitely look forward to seeing you at Juniper Bistro again!

Warm Regards,

Chris Irving
Restaurant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

We only had breakfast here a couple of times, but it was fantastic! Limited, but unique menu. Our server Matt was super friendly and informative.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperMgr, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear Brian O,

Thank you very much for your review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your breakfast! I will pass your comments along to Matt!

We look forward to seeing you at Juniper Bistro again!

Warm Regards,

Chris Irving
Restaurant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Oh my goodness. Stopped here on our way from Calary to Lake Louise. Best Bison burgers ever. Best view. Best fire place. So friendly. Hope to get back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fairytalesinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuniperMgr, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear fairytalesinmotion,

Thank you so much for stopping by and enjoying our lounge to its maximum! The fireplace is certainly one of my favorite spots too!

From all of us at The Juniper Bistro, we look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,

Chris Irving
Restaurant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Juniper Bistro also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Juniper Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing