We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,799)
Filter reviews
1,799 results
Traveller rating
677
565
311
156
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
565
311
156
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premier room hot tub claw foot tub heated floors wood burning fireplace stainless steel wedding venue open fire real fireplace mountain lodge huge bathroom shuttle service our honeymoon free shuttle log cabin walk into town downtown banff
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,799 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

The room itself was ok but the noises from the plumbing ! Also very paper thin walls -can hear everything . Guess that's why they supplied ear plugs . Not a restful stay.
The Lodge itself is very rustic and attractive and there is a handy cafe which is a great idea.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Greetings,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience. This is not the standard of quality we want to be delivering to our valued guests and we apologize for any noise issues you experienced. We are going to pass on your notes to our management team to get this looked into straight away. We hope to be able to win back your favor in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

This place was amazing to stay at! The rooms are really cool, and have a fire place so you can light up a fire on cold nights. There is a cafe, a restaurant and a lounge bar on site which are all really nice! The staff are all really polite and helpful.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kennyjreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us in beautiful Banff National Park. We appreciate your business as well as your taking the time to leave a kind review after your visit with us. We hope to host you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The lodge is very nice and ver well located a bit outside Banff city center. It is well maintained and it's quite nice. The restaurant although a bit pricy was very good and the service was nice and helpful.However, when we arrived in our room we reqalized we did not get the room we have booked. The booking we made was for the "Buffalo Room with one king bed features a separate bedroom outfitted with a cable LCD television and blu-ray player. The living area features a wood burning fieldstone fireplace, which is stocked with complimentary firewood daily, as well as a small kitchenette with stove top burner, fridge and microwave. A pull-out sofa in the living area and full bathroom complete this guest room."The reason for this choice was that we wanted a king size bed for the last three days of our two week trip in Canada and we also wanted to have a kitchenette to be able to cook.However, upon arrival we were given another room with a queen size bed and a single room with no cooking facilities. When we asked about it (it was not mentioned during the check in) we were told that the room we had booked was not available and that we had been upgraded. However, the "upgrade" did not have the things that we had been looking forward to enjoy. The room was nice but we didn't need as bathtub (which indeed we never used), we didn´t need heating in the bathroom floor nor a balcony that did not have any kind of views since there were only trees outside.At the end we received a 80CAD discount at check out (which certainly didn´t compensate for the meals we had to do in restaurants during three days instead of being able to prepare our own meals) but it's still not ok to change the booking without consulation and without providing the minimum requirements why the booking was made.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Korphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for bringing this issue forward and we apologize for any inconvenience the complimentary upgrade caused. The intention was to give you a larger and more updated accommodation, but our team should have touched base with you to ensure if you needed the kitchenette or not. This is not a normal occurrence at the lodge and we hope to have the chance to try and win back your favor in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

I appreciated everything, location, room, facilities, they could have a better price for breakfast and remodel the furniture in the rooms and improve the cleanliness of the rooms on a daily basis. good

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leaoric2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for your review! We are so appreciative of your business and are delighted to have had you stay with us. We really strive to give guests wonderful memories and vacations when they choose us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018

The site was scruffy, and the room pretty awful. There was not one piece of furniture that matched - and all the tops were covered with missing varnish, cup marks, scratches - it could have been things lined up for students in a furniture restoration class. We were there for just one night but put on the second floor, so had to haul all our furniture up and down difficult external stairs including in the dark in the early morning. If there were guests downstairs they were probably fairly unhappy!
The coffee making stuff was woeful.
The pillows were pretty disgusting - the worse we found in a three week tour which took in 13 hotels.
Would absolutely not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonofbiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We apologize if your visit fell short due to some troubles and shortcomings in the room. We have let our Management team know as we want all of our guests to feel comfortable and like they are getting amazing value for money. We hope to host you again soon, perhaps in our more updated Premier Suites, for a more comfortable and memorable stay. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews