We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the money! unique experience, unplugged!”
Review of Shadow Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadow Lake Lodge
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“worth the money! unique experience, unplugged!”
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Pack your backpack with things you will need for a few days, park your car and walk 8 miles on a gorgeous trail to this little oasis and GLAMP. Warm sweet clean cabin with a bed to melt into, a down comforter and no noise around except for nature and maybe a stray voice. Walking to the communal bathroom is really the only unglamorous part of staying at ShadowLake! The food is incredible, and as a vegetarian I was treated to equally amazing dinners as everyone else. Unplug there, because you can't make a call or check your email. Nada. Forced technology holiday. My husband and I truly loved our two nights there, hiking during the day, sleeping well at night, then packing up and walking the 8 miles back to the car was a beautiful treat and worth the high nightly rate because, well, where else do you stay where all your food is brought in on a horse to the middle of nowhere and cooked by a professional chef! too cool.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theworldover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
66
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We hiked in via the Arnica/Twin Lakes route - a great alternative to the more commonly used Red Earth Creek access trail (which is boring we heard) if weather permits. We were very fortunate with weather and timing as the larches were all in their autumn colours. It was absolutely stunning.
The stay at this lodge is very pricey and was a special treat for us, but we were not disappointed. Food is great, staff very friendly and the log cabins very comfortable. The king bed we had was huge, with a cozy comforter. The lighting is a bit dim, and in-room washing facilities basic, but this is to be expected from a back country facility.
Shadow Lake itself is beautiful (20 minute walk from the lodge) and we were very pleased to make the effort to see the early morning sunrise over Storm Mountain. A magical experience.
The stay at this lodge was the highlight of our trip and we can certainly recommend it if you wish to have a back-country experience with a bit of luxury (and can afford the price).

Room Tip: Get the cabin with king size bed if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 328miekev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

A truly unique and indulgent experience--to have mountains and many hiking options right out your door and to return to plentiful and delicious food (we especially enjoyed afternoon tea!), hot showers, cozy duvets. The best of all worlds! We stayed for four nights and this gave us an opportunity to really drop into the experience, enjoy the company of the very kind other guests, and really explore the nearby back-country. We almost exhausted all of the hiking options in that time, so we would not recommend more than 4 nights. We would also recommend taking the very scenic (and somewhat challenging) arnica LAke trail into Shadow Lake Lodge. While that means that you are eliminating one possible day hike option while you are there (the hike to Gibbon Pass), there are still enough other day hike options during one's stay at Shadow LAke Lodge to satisfy and the entire Arnica Lake hike leading to Shadow Lake Lodge is gorgeous and worth the effort. The hike to the ampitheater is worthwhile as is the hike to Ball Pass. Haiduk Lake is not much to write home about, and if you do the hike to Ball Pass, you cover much of the same ground. The one wish I had was that the staff was more detailed about weather forecasts--both in terms of what was in store for that day and also what the next day was forecasting. While I realize it is mountain weather, it still would have been helpful for planning purpose to have a better understanding of the weather predictions. We were also somewhat perplexed both by the request for gratuity and also how to address that. First, we weren't sure how to justify a gratuity when the cost of accommodations is so high, and second, it would have been helpful to understand what the gratuity was for and to get some direction in how to do right by the people to whom it was going. More explanation/guidance on this front would have been very welcome.

Room Tip: REdearth is close to the bathrooms, but there is a big tree in front which partially obscures the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank debrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Short version: a pricey but worthwhile back-country experience.

Booked two late-August nights at Shadow Lake Lodge. We hiked in on the popular Red Earth Creek trail—a moderate 14-km hike that took us roughly four hours including a brief stop for lunch (we are a fairly fit couple in our mid-50s). The first 10km or so runs along an old fire road—a pleasantly wide, smooth path with reasonably gradual grades. The scenery is pretty enough, but nothing spectacular. We hiked in on a drizzly day, though, so we were happy to take the easiest, most efficient route. The Arnica/Twin Lakes route (also 14km) would be a great alternative for energetic hikers in good weather—much more strenuous, but reportedly very scenic.

We arrived just in time for afternoon tea, served in the main lodge from 3-5pm each afternoon—a generous spread, and absolute heaven for we two damp and weary hikers.

A gourmet three-course dinner is served at 6:30, at tables seating 6-8 people (so, if you're travelling as a couple, be prepared to be sociable). Wine (roughly $40-$60, or $9/glass for house) and beer/cider ($8) are extra.

Breakfast (also quite decadent) is served at 8:30am, followed by an elaborate make-your-own lunch buffet to serve as provisions on your day hikes (there is a wide assortment of routes to choose from).

While at camp, you can choose to hang out in a communal lounge cabin, with a fireplace for cool days and an assortment of books and board games.

Our cabin was fairly rustic, and very cold when we arrived. A sign asked us to not adjust the heat ourselves—but, when we asked for help, a staff member merely nudged the thermostat slightly upward. After that we managed our own heat, thank you very much, keeping it slightly cool (to respect the challenge of bringing propane to such a remote location) and turning the thermostat way down whenever we left for the day. I'm sorry, but at these prices I'm not willing to freeze in my own room. The beds in our cabin were smallish but very comfortable (and some rooms come with larger beds).

The room was lit (rather dimly) with power supplied by solar panels. There were a couple of free outlets, making it possible to recharge cameras and other small electronics (though, this far out in the woods, there's obviously no cell coverage or wifi). In-room washing facilities consist of a pot and basin, with warm and cold running water available from a nearby outdoor tap. There are also communal washrooms (male and female) with (non-smelly) collection-tank toilets and single hot showers—be prepared to wait your turn if you're showering in the morning. I was lucky, and never had to wait more than a few minutes.

The lodge's name is slightly misleading—the stunningly gorgeous Shadow Lake is in fact a 20-minute hike away—but the lodge's alpine meadow setting is nonetheless quite lovely.

At the check-out table, a rather cheeky sign urges you to add a 10-per-cent gratuity "if you enjoyed your experience." Given the face-to-face process of checking out, the gratuity doesn't exactly feel optional. Two nights in Shadow Lake's cheapest room already represented (for us) an almost unconscionable splurge, so the extra $110 was a bit of an awkward surprise. I would prefer that Brewster's build appropriate staff compensation into its rates. That said, we were in no mood to shortchange our cheerful cooks/servers/hosts, so we ponied up.

Those expecting five-star luxury will be discouraged by Shadow Lake's somewhat rustic facilities, the understandable stinginess with precious resources (heat, electricity, water), and the strict "shoes off before entering" policy in the lodge, lounge, and cabins. To those of us accustomed to back-country backpacking and rough camping, however, Shadow Lake is sublime. Imagine coming off a damp day on the trail, and being greeted by hot tea, gourmet food, a dry bed, and a hot shower. The food was excellent and beyond plentiful. The staff was friendly and obliging, and the overall atmosphere was highly convivial, with fellow travellers from across North America and beyond.

Given the challenges of providing hospitality in such a remote back-country setting, Shadow Lake Lodge and its staff exceeded our expectations. Warmly recommended, assuming you can afford the prices.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TallDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We were completely rejuvenated after spending four nights at the lovely Shadow Lake Lodge The from-scratch cooking is delicious and well prepared with an emphasis on fresh ingredients, fresh vegetables, herb seasonings, and wholesome, nutritious and appealing dishes.All the the food was wonderful including the homemade seeded breads and desserts. The make- your- own hiker's lunch components were perfect for the day's excursions. We made own sandwich and selected fresh veggies, fruit, and homemade baked items and trail mix. We loved our log cabin and the porch where we sat in the sun and enjoyed a good read. The hiking was beautiful with something for every fitness level. Sitting by Shadow Lake was peaceful, serene and beautiful. The staff was pleasant, professional, knowledgeable, and eager to provide hints on how to make your hike a bit more adventuresome and rewarding. We met many nice couples and families as mealtimes are communal. The bathrooms were clean and it was not a problem at all not to have a bathroom in the cabin. It is important to bring a pair of sandals as shoes must be removed prior to entering the cabin, dining and community room. A great stay in a beautiful setting that exceeded our expectations.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maya r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We had a great stay at Shadow Lake Lodge. Scenery was beautiful, cabins were cute and tidy and the food was excellent! Some nice hikes to choose from. All in all a great way to see a slice of Banff National Park and avoid the crowds! Would definitely recommend! Only one small improvement I would make - get rid of the carpet in the cabins and replace with wood floors!

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We loved this place -stayed here for two nights. After hiking almost 9 miles we were greeted with shrimp, polenta fries, and lots of other yummy snacks. Food is great, and plentiful and we made great friends at our communal table. The cabins are spacious, and the beds are comfortable and clean. Would highly recommend Shadow Lake Lodge!!!

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
26.4 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
28.0 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
15.2 km away
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
26.9 km away
Fairmont Banff Springs
11.3 km away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Lake Lodge

Property: Shadow Lake Lodge
Address: Box 2606, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shadow Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the high alpine meadows of Banff National Park, Brewster's Shadow Lake Lodge is a remote back country lodge with private cabins, accessible only by hiking, cross country skiing or snowshoeing. Included in the rate are three mountain gourmet meals as well as afternoon tea served to you daily in our dining lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Lake Hotel Banff
Shadow Lake Lodge Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing