We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ptarmigan Inn, Banff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ptarmigan Inn, Banff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2016

Hotel was very nice, staff very friendly. Rooms were clean and looked after.
When I called to book the room, the girl I spoke with did some checking and found me a great deal, including breakfast each morning. The hotel is right downtown and an easy walk to all the other amenities. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2016
788rickl

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn and managed to get a great deal.

I do thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    365
    272
    118
    62
See reviews for
245
471
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2016

This is still only a 3 star hotel but for snowboarding Lake Louise and Sunshine this location is unbeatable. I could not believe the price as it is comparable to what we pay for a hostel in the snow at Thredbo (which says more about the prices in Thredbo). This hotel had the shuttles stop right in front (no joke, you could fall out of the reception area to the bus stop). Had a hot breakfast each morning before riding. It was included in the room rate. But note they had no non-dairy milk for cereal but i was allowed to store soy in the hotel fridge. The walk to town is very easy. Safeway is even closer. The room was a good size with plenty of hanging space for jackets etc. Bathroom a good size. Not sure why there are three extra locks on the door but that made me feel extra safe. The hot tubs were in the basement and ample size (two of them) but got a rash on my legs afterwards so only used that once. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Top marks to them. I hope they fix the alarm clock, as the first night i was there it woke me up early in the morning (from the previous tenant setting it). Housekeeping should learn to reset the clocks to NO alarm but lesson for me is ALWAYS check the hotel alarm clock the night before to make sure it is switched off. This clock was faulty and I reported it. Just hope they replace it so the next victim is not unnecessarily woken up early in the morning. Could have stayed at a comparable priced hotel (connected with this chain) that was further outside the town and did not offer breakfast. It looked more upmarket but for the convenience and free brekkie stay here.

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PtarmiganBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2016
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and please accept my apologies for the alarm clock waking you early. We will certainly use this experience as a training tool for our housekeeping teams.
We are also happy to report that we are now offering almond milk for purchase at breakfast to help accommodate our dairy-free guests.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and I hope that we'll be able to welcome you back on your next visit to beautiful Banff. Until then, safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2016

Stayed in this hotel several times over last ten years This year was as good as always. Slight hiccup when in room but within 5 mins problem sorted. Staff so helpful and nothing to much for them. Have booked to stay next year

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eves55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PtarmiganBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your kind review. We take pride in our genuine customer service and I'm happy to hear that your room issue was solved efficiently. We'll be excited to have you back next year. Happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2016

We've stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last 20 years. It's getting old and tired.

Our room was a "two queen split" room. Good layout for a family (we have adult children). Reasonable price for Banff.

Room was not cleaned properly. Trash left in a couple of places. There was what appeared to be a body hair on one of the pillows.

The cover for the heating radiator in the bathroom was falling off. Toilet was an older model that felt "child sized".

The included breakfast was pedestrian. Great thanks to the omelette station for rescuing what was otherwise boring fare.

There was no fridge in the room.

In-room Wi-Fi worked well.

This would be an OK hotel for a sleep-and-go skiing weekend, but we probably won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelled222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PtarmiganBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2016
Please accept my apologies for your disappointing stay. I have discussed your issues with our housekeeping and maintenance teams and hope that these problems were resolved quickly by our staff. I'm happy to report that we will be undergoing a full room renovation in the coming year and have already begun this lengthy process. I'm confident that the look and feel of our new rooms will be just the update the hotel needs.
I hope that if you return to Banff, you'll consider staying with us again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

Great family spot. The rooms were nice with the bathroom set between the beds...great for a family of 3. The complementary breakfast was great with a made to order omelette bar. We did not eat at the restaurant other than breakfast, so many great options in banff.

Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Heath J

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn. Our split rooms we find our great for families as they give you that extra privacy.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2016

I was coming to a conference in Banff and booked this hotel as it was cheaper than the conference venue accommodations. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel, the comfort of the beds, and the free breakfast included (which includes an omelette bar). The location was very accessible to shops and restaurants in the town centre, and the conference venue was a quick walk or short scenic drive up the mountain. There were many ski troupes taking advantage of the shuttle the hotel provides to the mountain. The hotel seemed well suited for skiers, but the 3 am arrival of some after a day of playing was loud and disruptive in the hallway in front of my room (not any fault of the hotel). I didn't get a chance to use the pool and hot tub but I looked in and they looked great. Wifi connection was strong and uninterrupted in the room. My only complaint (if you can call it that) is that the tub was dripping silently…not disruptive to anything other than the late night tub soaks that had 'drip, drip, drip' into the water. I would highly recommend this venue for both cost and quality.

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawna247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Shawna247

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn. Our goal is to always insure guests have a relaxing and care free experience and I am so happy we were able to accomplish this on your visit.

I can let you know our maintenance department has rectified the issues you had with your bath tub and I am so happy you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2016

I booked the best of Banff package at the ptarmigan inn. When I arrived I was only given one part of the package and was told that the wine should be in my room. I had to look up the package that I booked online to show the people at the front desk all that it included before they would give me the movie tickets and bottle of wine. I booked a one bedroom room and received 2 beds, not a big deal, but the drapes were shredded and the bathroom is very tiny, there is barely enough room to close the door. What they classify as superior, is not very superior. I was not impressed with the customer service I received when I asked a question. Upon checking out I wanted to clarify that I had a 1pm checkout with the best of Banff package. I was told by the front desk that it was not part of the package, when that is what it says when you look at thepackage online. I did enjoy my stay here two years ago, but after this year I do not think I will be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: The premium rooms are the best quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraEB2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
SaraEB2016

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn, it is always our goal to make sure every stay is as memorable and care free as possible, unfortunately we did fall short in this occasion. Unless we know in advance we always ask what kind of wine you would like at check in, however the tickets and all other aspects of the package should have been organized prior to your arrival.

We have used this case as a training example to make sure this does not happen again. I would like to apologize again for the issues you had and should you like to discuss this matter in more detail please feel free to contact me at any time.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#17 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.8 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.7 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff
Banff Ptarmigan Inn Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing