We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveller rating
304
441
298
129
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
441
298
129
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews omelette station meatballs meatball restaurant underground parking hot breakfast shops and restaurants included breakfast the main street premium room yogurt close to downtown beds were very comfortable ski trip lake louise town centre hot springs balcony
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

We wanted something close to downtown which we got. The first room they gave us was an inner room overlooking the "atrium". It was small, dark, and felt like being in a closet. We requested a transfer; so for some more money (of course), we moved into the "superior" room which was anything but superior. Granted both rooms were neat, clean, and recently upgraded; they were both small and did not warrant the price tag. I was always much more impressed with the Mount Royal down the road; too bad its closed for restoration after the fire
Great view of the parking lot though!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank grabyourbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2017

We stayed at the Ptarmigan a little while ago, however I feel it's worth a mention. First of all when we turned up the staff on the desk were a model of efficiency, booked us in several hours early with no problem. It has ample secure parking along side and under the hotel, something we found a real premium when travelling around Alberta and British Columbia. Our room was a couple of floors up and looked over a central internal atrium rather than looking out over the street. Breakfast was excellent a varied buffet of hot and cold food with plenty of juice and coffee. Whilst the breakfast area was a reasonable space, it got extremely busy with people arriving after 0800hrs having to queue for somewhere to sit. We were up very early as we were driving on to Lake Louise then Jasper later that day so needed to make an early start. I wanted to mention the Ptarmigan as our first night the previous night was at a very unpleasant Inn in Canmore and was the start of our holiday. The Ptarmigan was the complete opposite we really liked it and wished we had spent the previous night there too.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RobfrBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2017

Well we entered a hockey tournament in Banff with one stipulation we stay at the Ptarmigan or we don't come. Well we got a little bit of a run around but things got straightened out. We were pleasantly surprised to see most of the rooms have been renovated and were very nice and comfortable. The breakfast which is included was excellent once again with a great head chef and staff. At the front desk Pamela is as good as you can get anywhere along with Adam they make a good team. The only negative thing was the noise of the renovations on the third floor. There was a slight up charge for a renovated room but Pamela made it not so bad and it was worth it. Over all if we come back for a third year of hockey we will be staying here or we likely won't come.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 4ELC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2017 via mobile

I didn't personally originally want to go to Banff because I much prefer skiing in and skiing out I have to say the bus for all the local ski fields stopped right outside once we got to the ski fields put our skis straight on and onto the lifts. Really great time there came with a complimentary breakfast and we enjoyed eating and drinking in the bar at night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

Room seemed OK at first however as soon as we walked through the door the heat was almost unbearable. Even with the thermostat turned down to the lowest setting it was still stifling hot. Woke up in the middle of the night and plugged in a portable fan that was in the room (clearly this was a common issue if there was a fan in there to begin with). Got very little sleep.

The room we stayed in was interior in the hotel, thus the balcony looked down on the lobby and had no access to outside fresh air and had no practical use. We could also clearly hear everything that was going on in the lobby first thing in the morning, the design of the room was odd.

Unless they solve the problem with air circulation I wouldn't recommend anyone staying there.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank DaveGNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews