We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 21 April 2017

I've just spent a few weeks on vacation and stayed at the Ptarmigan. I would like to start by saying the staff that work at this hotel are amazing! They really do go above and beyond to ensure their customers are happy, whether its the front desk with room concerns, the breakfast staff or the two lovely gents that work on the bar. The rooms at the Ptarmigan have all just been renovated and are great, everything you could want. The beds are insanely comfy all equipped with an incredible amount of fluffy pillows. The housekeeping staff keep the rooms nice and clean throughout the stay, they even change the sheets every two to three days which is great. They have a variety of rooms at the hotels, some with windows, some with balconies- i must say i did enjoy having a balcony. The breakfast is super tasty, offering one of the best spreads in Banff i would say, (many hotels just do continental). They have everything from pancakes to omelettes, from muffins to hash browns- the selection is great and everything is delicious! The meatball (the restaurant) in the hotel also serves up an array of tasty dishes- I'm a massive fan of the salmon accompanied by a tasty tanqueray and tonic. They have a spa at the ptarmigan which does the job with two hot pools, a steam room and a sauna- a huge perk of staying at this hotel is you have access to all its sister hotels which includes the Moose which has the most amazing roof top hot pool! Another special mention must be paid to the location, its pretty much as close to town as you can get!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who's up for a nice relaxed stay in a cosy bed and looking to wake up to some tasty breakfast before heading to the slopes or out on your daily adventures!

I would also like to thank all the staff at the Ptarmigan who made the stay extra awesome!

Room Tip: Room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niamh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We wanted something close to downtown which we got. The first room they gave us was an inner room overlooking the "atrium". It was small, dark, and felt like being in a closet. We requested a transfer; so for some more money (of course), we moved into the "superior" room which was anything but superior. Granted both rooms were neat, clean, and recently upgraded; they were both small and did not warrant the price tag. I was always much more impressed with the Mount Royal down the road; too bad its closed for restoration after the fire
Great view of the parking lot though!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank grabyourbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We stayed at the Ptarmigan a little while ago, however I feel it's worth a mention. First of all when we turned up the staff on the desk were a model of efficiency, booked us in several hours early with no problem. It has ample secure parking along side and under the hotel, something we found a real premium when travelling around Alberta and British Columbia. Our room was a couple of floors up and looked over a central internal atrium rather than looking out over the street. Breakfast was excellent a varied buffet of hot and cold food with plenty of juice and coffee. Whilst the breakfast area was a reasonable space, it got extremely busy with people arriving after 0800hrs having to queue for somewhere to sit. We were up very early as we were driving on to Lake Louise then Jasper later that day so needed to make an early start. I wanted to mention the Ptarmigan as our first night the previous night was at a very unpleasant Inn in Canmore and was the start of our holiday. The Ptarmigan was the complete opposite we really liked it and wished we had spent the previous night there too.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RobfrBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Well we entered a hockey tournament in Banff with one stipulation we stay at the Ptarmigan or we don't come. Well we got a little bit of a run around but things got straightened out. We were pleasantly surprised to see most of the rooms have been renovated and were very nice and comfortable. The breakfast which is included was excellent once again with a great head chef and staff. At the front desk Pamela is as good as you can get anywhere along with Adam they make a good team. The only negative thing was the noise of the renovations on the third floor. There was a slight up charge for a renovated room but Pamela made it not so bad and it was worth it. Over all if we come back for a third year of hockey we will be staying here or we likely won't come.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 4ELC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

I didn't personally originally want to go to Banff because I much prefer skiing in and skiing out I have to say the bus for all the local ski fields stopped right outside once we got to the ski fields put our skis straight on and onto the lifts. Really great time there came with a complimentary breakfast and we enjoyed eating and drinking in the bar at night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Room seemed OK at first however as soon as we walked through the door the heat was almost unbearable. Even with the thermostat turned down to the lowest setting it was still stifling hot. Woke up in the middle of the night and plugged in a portable fan that was in the room (clearly this was a common issue if there was a fan in there to begin with). Got very little sleep.

The room we stayed in was interior in the hotel, thus the balcony looked down on the lobby and had no access to outside fresh air and had no practical use. We could also clearly hear everything that was going on in the lobby first thing in the morning, the design of the room was odd.

Unless they solve the problem with air circulation I wouldn't recommend anyone staying there.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank DaveGNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We had booked in to the Ptarmigan and once we got there, we could not stay. The girl at the desk was lovely and super helpful but the rooms were horrible. Although the room had just been renovated, it was still dark and gross and the smell of the new carpet was horrible! The rest of the place was really run down and needs a big reno as well. We went down the street and found a much better place ( Inns of Banff) for MUCH cheaper as well!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Globetrotting99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.1 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,459 reviews
0.4 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
0.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,213 reviews
0.1 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $118 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff
Banff Ptarmigan Inn Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing