We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We visited Banff from Toronto in October to celebrate our anniversary. This was our third visit to the Ptarmigan Inn although we hadn’t in the last 2 years as we had read some reviews that said the accommodation was looking and feeling somewhat ‘tired’ and in need of a ‘facelift’ - although we had previously found the inn a most comfortable and convenient place to stay. We were very pleasantly surprised on our arrival to find that all the rooms had been completely refurbished in the past year and we were assigned a lovely suite on the 3rd floor ... with an amazingly comfortable King bed, gas fireplace with cultured stone surround and inset large screen TV, a large modern bathroom with a fantastic shower and separate bath. The icing on the cake was a bottle of wine which we found on our return to our room that evening with a card wishing us a happy anniversary from the hotel staff and management!

The buffet breakfast (included) was very good. Although not a vast selection, everything was tasty and freshly-prepared, including a serve-yourself coffee and juice bar, hot and cold breakfast options and a ‘custom made omelette’ station. We were more than satisfied.

Our weekend was most enjoyable and topped off by the pleasant and courteous staff and added touches by management. (Special thanks to Katy on the front desk and to manager David Pearson.)

This hotel is a most charming and comfortable place to stay in Banff - ideally located steps from the town centre, shops and restaurants and surrounded by amazing mountain views. Highly recommend and we plan to return!

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter further from elevators
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauriedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn after much deliberation from previous reviews. We were on the top floor with a room that had a huge picture window overlooking another hotel. You open the door and. A large atrium was below. It is true they are renovating and at the moment it is the 2nd floor. Work was suspended for the weekend but resumed on Mon. Usually had stopped by the time we came home from an outing.We were there for 1 week.

Our room was updated had a sitting room and a tv in both bedroom and sitting room. We had enough space and the bathroom was clean and well taken care of on a daily basis.

The daily breakfast buffet was more than adequate. Not your typical continental cuisine. You could have eggs cooked to order as well as omelets.

I personally do not see what all the negative reviews are about. They had a nice bar, friendly staff and great thin crust pizza. Plenty of good restaurants close by as well.I am glad we took the leap of faith and stayed there. It is centrally located ,the price was right and it even had free underground parking. What more could you ask for?

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank nancyjdupree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. Location was great. Walking distance to everything downtown. Rooms were well equipped and quiet. My only complaints would be LIGHTING - or lack there of in the bedroom. There was only wall lighting, very annoying, and yes breakfast could be a bit of a nightmare if there was a lot of tours in, but a lot of that was due to the tour groups, not the restaurant. Staff were fabulous

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alis0np40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we were upgraded by a very friendly young woman. She gave us all the information required about the hotel plus a great tip about a market in the town. Our room was at the front of the hotel and beautifully sunny. We were neither troubled by street noise or disturbance from the hotel itself. Breakfast was excellent even though there was at least 2 tour groups dining at the same time the food was hot and plentiful. The staff worked hard to successfully keep up the breakfast room tidy and 'next guest' ready. I would love to stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Let me start by saying that this was a lovely hotel.
The king size bed was very comfortable. The hot water pressure in the shower was excellent. The room appeared clean and was a good size. There was also a separate lounge area with a TV, which was very convenient when I wanted to go to bed and my partner wanted to stay up. The breakfast area and provisions were of a good standard too.

The one thing that let them down (in my opinion), was that the hotel did not have air conditioning. There was a heater for winter (which was switched off) but there was no cooling. Not even a ceiling fan. Plus the windows were nailed shut, so you couldn't open them for air circulation. Considering it had been an 30 degree day, with afternoon sun pelting onto the outside bricks, our room was very hot, with the temperature gage on the wall, showing 32 degrees! We asked at reception for a fan and they weren't very friendly. Seemed to put their noses up at us for daring to complain about the heat! However,we were assured one would be put in our room very shortly, so we went out for dinner. Returned 2 hours later and still no fan. Had to go and ask again. Finally got a small desk fan about an hour after that. Really put a damper on what would have otherwise been a lovely stay. Everything else was great.

Room Tip: If it's summer, ask for a room that doesn't get the afternoon sun - unless you like a really...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Motivated01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We were with a tour group along with two other groups and the staff were not ready for the crowd. Breakfast was rushed and the woman in charge was quite rude to one of our group. when he questioned the long wait he was told "We have guests from three different tour groups so you 're not the first to complain"???

Room Tip: Check the room for smell of glue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annelou42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We had a king size bed that was superiorly comfortable. Bathroom was small, but shower excellent with good water pressure and consistent temperature. Enjoyed sitting area with a second TV, helpful when my husband was watching football for much too long. Carpet had stains and hallway could use updating. Elevator quite slow and no stairs as an option. Breakfast included was mediocre, at best. Overall, my husband and I did not like the town of Banff, too touristy and crowded. We much prefer Canmore, which is prettier and more affordable.

Room Tip: Our first floor room faced a parking lot but was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank happyhiker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,500 reviews
0.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#10 of 34 in Banff
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,510 reviews
0.4 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $137 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff
Banff Ptarmigan Inn Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing