We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$357
US$315
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$304
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$413
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$288
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$686
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$581
US$501
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$345
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$339/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$467
US$454
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,195)
Filter reviews
1,195 results
Traveller rating
290
421
289
128
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
421
289
128
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomelette stationmeatballsmeatball restaurantunderground parkinghot breakfastshops and restaurantsexcellent locationbreakfast was includedthe main streetyogurtpremium roomclose to downtownski busbeds were very comfortableski triplake louisetown centre
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,195 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2017

This hotel is situated at a really great spot along Banff Ave. There is not the crazy crowds and noise of the center core but you are walking distance to everything which is fantastic!

We did get a pretty good deal on the room rate which also included a breakfast each morning.
The breakfast was more than just a continental, it included an omelet/ fried egg station, a breakfast meat (bacon or sausage), toast, muffins, cereal, yogurt, fruit salad, scrambled eggs and hash browns as well as either French toast or pancakes depending on the morning. A great way to start the day!

The hotel is definitely a bit worn and dated but the room was quite clean and had some nice amenities such as a fridge and the electric kettle was a great addition too.
The view was nonexistent we looked right onto the next building over or the other side of the hotel perhaps, either way it was not a nice view at all.

The hot tub area was pretty disappointing. The sauna never did heat up, the steam room got steamy but stayed quite cool and only one of the hot tubs was warm.

I think if we got a really good rate again, I would stay but it wouldn't be top of my list as we do like a nice hot tub and some kind of view when we are staying in such a beautiful place as Banff.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbMtnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

After reading the various reviews of the hotels and looking at costs, we were glad we chose to stop at this hotel in Banff. The location is good, with a short walk to the town centre. The room was clean and had a great view of the mountains. The free breakfast was good. The only annoyance, which was no fault of the hotel, was a coach load of people in the breakfast area at the same time we went. This left other people having to eat in a different part of the hotel. The restaurant has a good selection on its menu should you not wish to go out. The hotel is ideally located for the town. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sprog1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017

We visited Banff from Toronto in October to celebrate our anniversary. This was our third visit to the Ptarmigan Inn although we hadn’t in the last 2 years as we had read some reviews that said the accommodation was looking and feeling somewhat ‘tired’ and in need of a ‘facelift’ - although we had previously found the inn a most comfortable and convenient place to stay. We were very pleasantly surprised on our arrival to find that all the rooms had been completely refurbished in the past year and we were assigned a lovely suite on the 3rd floor ... with an amazingly comfortable King bed, gas fireplace with cultured stone surround and inset large screen TV, a large modern bathroom with a fantastic shower and separate bath. The icing on the cake was a bottle of wine which we found on our return to our room that evening with a card wishing us a happy anniversary from the hotel staff and management!

The buffet breakfast (included) was very good. Although not a vast selection, everything was tasty and freshly-prepared, including a serve-yourself coffee and juice bar, hot and cold breakfast options and a ‘custom made omelette’ station. We were more than satisfied.

Our weekend was most enjoyable and topped off by the pleasant and courteous staff and added touches by management. (Special thanks to Katy on the front desk and to manager David Pearson.)

This hotel is a most charming and comfortable place to stay in Banff - ideally located steps from the town centre, shops and restaurants and surrounded by amazing mountain views. Highly recommend and we plan to return!

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter further from elevators
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauriedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn after much deliberation from previous reviews. We were on the top floor with a room that had a huge picture window overlooking another hotel. You open the door and. A large atrium was below. It is true they are renovating and at the moment it is the 2nd floor. Work was suspended for the weekend but resumed on Mon. Usually had stopped by the time we came home from an outing.We were there for 1 week.

Our room was updated had a sitting room and a tv in both bedroom and sitting room. We had enough space and the bathroom was clean and well taken care of on a daily basis.

The daily breakfast buffet was more than adequate. Not your typical continental cuisine. You could have eggs cooked to order as well as omelets.

I personally do not see what all the negative reviews are about. They had a nice bar, friendly staff and great thin crust pizza. Plenty of good restaurants close by as well.I am glad we took the leap of faith and stayed there. It is centrally located ,the price was right and it even had free underground parking. What more could you ask for?

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank nancyjdupree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. Location was great. Walking distance to everything downtown. Rooms were well equipped and quiet. My only complaints would be LIGHTING - or lack there of in the bedroom. There was only wall lighting, very annoying, and yes breakfast could be a bit of a nightmare if there was a lot of tours in, but a lot of that was due to the tour groups, not the restaurant. Staff were fabulous

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alis0np40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews