We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$342
US$315
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$281
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$229
US$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$290/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$686
US$379
Hidden Ridge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$527
US$500
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$301
US$286
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$281
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$454
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,195)
Filter reviews
1,195 results
Traveller rating
290
421
289
128
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
421
289
128
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomelette stationmeatballsmeatball restaurantunderground parkinghot breakfastshops and restaurantsexcellent locationbreakfast was includedthe main streetyogurtpremium roomclose to downtownski busbeds were very comfortableski triplake louisetown centre
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1,195 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018

All staff were attentive and friendly. Location was great, a few blocks to town, free shuttle to Lake Louise ski is literally at the front of the property. Acceptable free breakfast and coffee, as well as coffee in the room. Loved the canine assiatant manager at the front desk! Think it was like a ridgeback, he would stand at the counter and was paying attention like he was helping the employee with your check in! Free parking was great, ski lockers, big room, very fair pricing. They gave us a 10% off coupon for ski rentals down the street, which was a great place to get gear.

A few items to improve, no TV Channel guide, no do not disturb sign, they brought us one, shower soap empty, but all was handled immediately. The biggie for me is their “spa” needs to be blowed up, very old and grody, nasty tile/grout. The sauna felt like a chemical bath. With all the newer upgraded properties few blocks away, they should do this to keep up with the competition. For me it is a deciding factor when I am in the booking process.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018

Just came back from my second ski trip to Banff. The Ptarmigan Inn is a great location,mins from downtown shops and restaurants. The ski bus stop is right out from and they have convenient access to ski lockers.The room 342 was nicely appointed clean and modern. The bathroom was a little small but updated with a soap, conditioner and body wash dispenser with local soap very nice stuff. The closet space was small but had a coat hanging,Boot and shoe area near the door. Mini Fridge was nice to have and a Keurig coffee maker. carpet was clean but needs to be refreshed. Nice Balcony with a couple of chairs and nice shades to block out the light. The free breakfast was nice but needs an upgrade and more variety, it was very crowded early with everyone eating before the ski busses came. The hot tubs were small and inside but the steam room(my favorite) was large and very steamy. Hotel has two elevators which is great for moving people and skis in the am and end of the day. The bar was always busy but the pizza and chicken parm were great. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: rooms near the elevator or street side can be noisy in the am or pm
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ICU1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

We spent 7 wonderful days at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn during the last week of February 2018 as part of a ski club trip. The hotel check-in of our group of 55 was extremely efficient. When we began unpacking, I found that all of our clothes were wet as the suitcases were left in the rain by airport bagage handlers. Upon informing the front desk we were given a clothes rack and extra hangers. Throughout the week we enjoyed complimentary breakfasts, dinner and drinks in the lounge and use of the hot tubs and sauna. Free bus transportation to and from ski areas is available at the Inn. The location Is within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and points of interest.
I highly recommend staying at the Ptarmigan Inn.
The friendly and knowledgeable staff, quality of the rooms and location will make your stay delightful.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank davidlw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018

It is no frills, basic hotel, but it included breakfast (toast and freshly made omelette the only thing worth considering) but for a ski trip it was what we needed. We did not want to leave hotel in the morning looking for a breakfast or pay super-high hotel prices, so that was one of the main reasons we picked this hotel. Our room was basic but clean and service was good. Location is really excellent - ski buses stop in front of the lobby (no walking to hotel) and hotel is two minutes walk to the main shops and restaurants. It was really decent although some things were strange (ski lockers in basement with no exit outside other than an elevator and through a lobby?).

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaWestPalmBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Staff the front desk were excellent with answering our questions and giving us some options of things to do if we weren't snowboarding. Great location because the ski field buses stopped right outside the hotel and it's just a short walk to find nice places to eat.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews