We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days whilst on holiday. We liked it because the apartments were self-sufficient, had the right level of facilities and we were out of town. The apartment had a good kitchen, lounge, TV, bathroom and bedroom. We could also sit outside surrounded by forest. We had one meal in the bar that was nothing to write about but the staff were pleasant. The resort ran a regular minibus to town which was convenient and the motel location was great for getting to local attractions by car. If you are looking for self catering, this is good.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Icthio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this location previously and we like the location and how it's not right in town since we have a vehicle that works for us. Our stay was good. My only complaint was all the booking websites had me under the impression that all of the 1 bedroom condos were newly renovated. There's only new pictures provided and they talk about the renovations. Upon arrival I mentioned it being renovated and the man at the desk informed me we did not have a newly renovated condo. I was disappointed because I specifically booked that one for that reason. I felt like I had been almost lied to. Like booking a 4 star and showing up to a 2 star. He did offer to give me a renovated room for an up charge. We were only there one night so I decided and decided to at least go look at my room first. There was absolutely no difference in the rooms other then the fact of getting a renovated room for more money. When we did arrive at our room it was fine. It was clean and for 1 night it was nothing to complain about and we were totally happy there. I am just disappointed they make it seems like all the condos are redone when they are not.
Parking is slightly a nightmare where we were at so if you come back late don't expect to park close to your room.

The staff is super friendly and we would defiantly come back. We didn't use a lot of the amenities in the hotel so I can't comment on the shuttle, pool, hot tub or restaurants.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Vhubley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a condo for a week while we went skiing, first time in Canada. Beautiful views, not far from the town centre and the rooms were nice. Can't comment on the food as we were self catering, but had everything we needed to cook. We would definitely come back. We didn't have a car so relied on the shuttle bus. No problem there, it was very reliable. The staff were friendly and overall we had a great time. The outside hot tub was nice after skiing all day.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna_Q2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We were in Banff in Dec 2016 over the Christmas holidays for a skiing vacation and stayed at the Rocky Mountain Resort. Overall a great experience, we stayed in one of their recently upgraded rooms. The room was very functional, I would recommend it for a couple for more than 2 persons would suggest a bigger room. The staff were AWESOME very friendly and helpful. David (Manager) and all his team (Anthony, Daniel, Megan and others) would go above and beyond to help with any needs. On site bar is great, The outdoor hot tub is good and well maintained. The shuttle service to town which runs every hour in peak season is good. I would go back and stay at this place in a heartbeat. We (family of 3) enjoyed our stay, thank you for a great experience.

Room Tip: Selection of the room size is critical depending on your family size, Generally the layout of the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Value1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

nice place to stay for close to ski resort like sunshine and lake louise. there is settle to banff town center and to ski areas which included in your ski pass, it will cost 10 for one-way and 15 for round for someone doesn't have ski pass.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We stayed at the resort for a week in December, through our vacation club. We (two adults) stayed in a 1 BR condo which we were very happy with. It was clean and well equipped, although not extremely spacious. The kitchen was very functional and had all the basic necessities (appliances, dishes, etc.) and the bathroom had a nice tub and good shower pressure and plenty of hot water. There was a working wood burning fireplace, although we didn't try to use it. We only heard a little bit of noise from the upstairs unit which wasn't too disruptive. We used the pool/hot tubs at the complex which were very nice and not crowded at all (one indoor/one outdoor hot tub that were pretty big). The fitness room looked pretty large but we didn't use it. Our heating system shut down once during the stay but maintenance came over within 15 min and fixed the probably very quickly. Our main complaint was that the wireless internet was fairly slow for streaming video and service would cut out repeatedly throughout the day (briefly but often). The resort is very convenient to get to town and the highway, but not really within walking distance, particularly in winter. We had a rental car and it was only minutes to downtown Banff. I think there may be shuttles available from the hotel also. Overall this was a very comfortable and affordable resort for our stay in Banff.

Room Tip: upstairs would probably be quieter, but I'm not sure there are elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

For the price paid I'd expect cleaner and somewhat larger rooms. Beds were small and uncomfortable, WIFI is absolutely terrible.
Only good thing about this resort is that the staff are friendly.

Would definitely not visit here again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dkcpdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.5 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,118 reviews
2.4 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
2.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#10 of 34 in Banff
2,225 reviews
3.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,012 reviews
3.3 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $104 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. Indoor 15m swimming pool • Indoor and Outdoor hot tub • 171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone • Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym • Tennis and squash courts • Onsite Laundry Facilities • Free parking and wireless internet access • Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing