We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel. Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights during the summer and had a wonderful time. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.
We booked a suite with a fireplace and I would highly recommend this. The room had a decent sized kitchen, and nice bedroom and bathroom. The room also had a real fireplace which is so rare in hotel rooms. You can order wood for a small fee (five or ten bucks) and they bring you a pack of wood, kindling and newspaper.
The hotel has a ton of amenities including hot tubs, a gym and BBQs if you want to grill outdoors.
The restaurant in the hotel is good with great staff and reasonably rices food. We ate there several times and always had a great meal.
The hotel is located just pushed of baff (oly a couple minute srive) and had amazing views of the mountains. Parking is also easy to find
We absolutely loved this hotel and are planning on returning next summer. Loved it and highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank RealSaskTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is not clean, sheets were dirty. Duvet was stinky and not clean. Hair in bathroom , kitchen utensils dirty. They say they have shuttle service but is very limited and we had to take taxi. Very very disappointed would not stay here again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen D, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Thank you for your comments and please accept our apology and regrets.

Our sheets are laundered off property by a professional laundry company. We demand a crisp, clean product from them and hold them accountable to maintain this high standard.

Our complimentary shuttle service runs daily starting at 11:00 am until 11:00 pm. It leaves from the lobby and drops guests off in the downtown area. It runs every two hours in quiet times and on the hour in peak times such as weekends, June-September, spring break, and over the Christmas period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Very disappointing!
We just stayed at this resort in room 1508 for two nights, booked through a groupon voucher.
The resort was fine but the room itself is in dire need of a huge clean.
The bathroom on the main floor has black mold in the shower area as well as on the faucet taps in the sink.
The upstairs washroom also had black mood around the faucets.
The rugs were not vacuumed well at all. Under the beds is horrible.
We had our 9 month old grand daughter, and with her crawling around her clothes were filthy.
As previous guests stated pool area needs a huge Reno, and in the mean time a good cleaning!
Needless to say very disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Our family of 4 decided to book a one bedroom with kitchen and pull out sofa. Staff were awesome!! 5 stars for friendly and enthusiastic staff; Shuttle to dinner a bonus so I could have a drink and not worry about town parking. Our initial room was dirty and we requested a move (toenails on floor, musty smell). Pool and hot tub were great after a day on mountains, but close your eyes due to ceiling falling in, old tiles and rusty lockers. Pull out bed for the kids a nightmare. Worst I've ever felt! Main bed not too bad. Paid $210 for the night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Candicl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen D, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Thank you for your great comments regarding the "5 Star" staff. The ceiling issues relate directly to a roof issue which will be repaired in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for a couple nights earlier this week. The two bedroom unit we had was clean but a little tight for our group. Though the room was fairly clean, nothing else was!! There was garbage at the base of the stairs leading up to our room, cleaning staff stepped over it to access our room each day. The biggest problem was the pool area. The roof above the pool is caving in and dark dirty was dripping into pails that were strategically placed on the floor around the pool. There were band aids on the edge of the outdoor
hot tub and the indoor pool was very cold. My son and wife both broke out in a rash a few hours after swimming, my son is still red 5 days later. This place needs a serious cleaning and overhaul. I won't stay here again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank 359scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen D, Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thank you for your comments. Our pool chemicals are maintained by an automated system and the process includes regular tests by our maintenance team. Irregularities are rare and are dealt with immediately. You are correct that pool area roof is compromised. The problem initiates with the area's room top unit which sits above the area you are referring too. A new roof top unit is on order and once it arrives all the work will be expedited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We have fond memories of this resort when we stayed here 18 years ago. Last year, we returned for a 2-nights stay with family. We booked 3 rooms. Our stay was even better than the last time! Our 2 bedrooms 2 bath on the 2nd floor looks newly renovated and had comfy beds and furniture. Bathrooms were clean, complete with plush towels and toiletries. The kitchen was well equipped.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't use the facilities except the pool one evening. The Wifi was a tad slow. Other than that, our stay was great!

Room Tip: Second floor has a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvmaithai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

First things first, our condo (2 bed Wolf) was great. Very clean and quiet. Staff was all excellent and we were pleasantly surprised by the bistro in the lobby. Food was really good for the price!

Unfortunately the pool area is quite bad. The ceiling needs to be replaced and they are doing this in spring. Apart from this we were disappointed with the cleanliness. There were multiple used bandaid, rusted out lockers, broken tiles and dirty floors. Water seemed clean so that was good. I hope a reno of this area is in the cards.

I would stay again because of the great room and the friendliness of the staff.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Hopefullylost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.5 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,118 reviews
2.4 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
2.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#10 of 34 in Banff
2,225 reviews
3.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,012 reviews
3.3 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $104 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. Indoor 15m swimming pool • Indoor and Outdoor hot tub • 171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone • Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym • Tennis and squash courts • Onsite Laundry Facilities • Free parking and wireless internet access • Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing