We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average for the price you pay in the summer. Good for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
mommyshann
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average for the price you pay in the summer. Good for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Outdoor corridors, motor inn style. Rooms are clean and have been updated. We stayed in a split room with 2 queens. This means that there is 2 bedrooms each with its own queen bed, with the bathroom and a kitchenette between the rooms. Great for families with younger children who need to go to bed earlier than mom and dad. One bedroom has a door you can close so kids or others in your party can go to sleep. The other bedroom has no door, just a doorway to the kitchenette. Room did not have a view of anything besides the next hotel and the parking lot.
Pool is nice with windows to outside and there are 2 hot tubs. A good 10 minute walk to centre of town which is not a problem in the summer but might be in winter. Good stay for one night while Travelling through but not a place for romance or a special getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommyshann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    292
    153
    56
    45
See reviews for
209
365
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed at the Charlton's Cedar Court for a two night stay (purchased through living social) in a loft suite and enjoyed a bottle of sparkling wine and truffles upon check-in. Room was very clean and the free breakfast provided daily was really good. Very fresh fruit, hard/soft boiled eggs, breads, yogurts and plenty of other fresh and healty items to enjoy. We also had the pleasure of enjoying a 25 dollar dinner credit at their sister hotel/restaurant two hotels down the road called the Evergreen. Great food and nice dinning area. Their sister property is ran just as well as the Cedar Court is so if ya can't find room at the Charlton Cedar Court I absolutly suggest the Delta hotel/Evergreen restuarant. Every employee we had the please of chat'n with at either property was very friendly and professonal. Exellent job all around! Thank, Ken N

Room Tip: Loft rooms have a great layout as long as the spiral staircase is not an issue. If so there are many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ken420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Hello. Website description & pictures were fair representation of facilities & rooms. Staff were friendly & we had a positive experience 10Feb12. Items for note: Have to walk outside to access rooms & pools (not sure if all rooms setup this way). The pool shower was either really hot or really cold. Family room #227 worked well for 2-adults & 2-kids: A kitchen & bathroom were situated in-between 2- rooms (queen bed, TV, chairs on one side and 2- twin beds on the other) In addition, each room had separate entrances. Around 1:30am we were awoken by what sounded like a bathtub being filled with water. We got back to sleep after 3:30am when the "boiler heating system" stopped. (The front desk said they would mention it to maintenance, but my thought was they can not change the design & the hotel needs heat)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The loft suite was nice, enjoyed the fireplace and a two flat screen/big screen tvs one on the lower level and one in the bedroom. The lower level was cold but luckily we brought a blanket a long and wore warm clothing (and turned the fireplace on). We enjoyed the pool, hot tub and continental breakfast.

My main complaint was that the bed was too hard and being pregnant, it hurt my hips so much that we both had a terrible sleep. We left early and didn't stay the second night due to this. The hotel didn't offer to pay us back or anything, they showed little remorse. It also was annoying that we had to go outdoors to get to anything in the hotel (pool/lobby/breakfast area,etc.) seeing as it was winter.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ac9827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Pro's:
The contential breakfast has a nice spread. Toast, bagels, jam/jelly/cream cheese, hard boiled eggs, fruit salad, yogurt, pastry, juices.
Staff, though very busy, were helpful. Offered extra help to those with kids. :-) Thank you!
Swimming pool was a big hit! Though it's VERY CHILLY, kids are just thrilled to have one available to splash in. Hot tub was a much nicer temperature.
Deep bathtubs! Though slow to fill, are very relaxing.
HUGE shower - very nice. Bathrooms were very nice overall.
Parking right near our main floor door was very handy.
Fantastic pillows!
I liked having a tiled foyer. It kept things cleaner being able to leave dirty shoes there.

Con's:
The walls are very thin, you'll hear anything over a cough.
Requests for rooms near other guests were not possible despite early notice.
I very much enjoyed our room (2 queens), however my siblings each got a room with kitchenette, 1 double bed, and 2 singles (traveling with children). The bedrooms are seperated by the kitchenette and washroom. Poor layout. The TV and phone was located in the room with the 2 single beds, so the kids were in charge of the wake up call ... needless to say they overslept.
Steam room in pool area is on continual overdrive. No difference when turning it to a lower setting - you instantly cook. Need to prop door open with something.

Overall I'd stay here again. But with all the other hotels in Banff that I haven't stayed in ... might as well try them all!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LianaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay at the Charlton's Cedar Court. We can benefit from your review as it points out the Good with the Bad. I have passed along your comments regarding the steam room to our maintenance team to have this fixed immediately. I am sorry you found the room layout of the kitchenette not to your liking, but am happy you can see we have other room types to choose from. We look forward to improving the product for your next stay.
Sincerely,
Liisa Acheson Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Even with a living social coupon, this place was a waste of our money. It's old, dark and dingy. Our kitchenette was a joke. The two large elements did not work and there was only one pan and two pots. We couldn't even cook a full meal properly - what's the point of a kitchette? We stayed an extra night in the suite and it was so over-priced. We couldn't believe it. The beds were terrible and we didn't get a good night's sleep once. DO NOT STAY HERE! your money will be better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny3861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking an opportunity to post a review on your recent stay with us, as we read each guest review in order to improve our product and service. Your comments are very concerning to us, and we hope you were able to make us aware of these concerns during your stay. We would appreciate the opportunity to recover your bad stay and leave you pleased with your stay before departing from the hotel. I hope you will decide to stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to provide you a comfortable, welcoming stay that we are known to provide.
Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,
Liisa Acheson
Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We received very little sleep one night due to the noise in an adjacent room....otherwise we enjoyed our stay. The loft was very hot and the downstairs was cold!!

Room Tip: Get a room where there are no young children adjacent to yours!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay at Charlton's Cedar Court, although we apologize for the inconvenience you received from the neighbouring rooms during your stay. Although at times, noise from adjacent rooms is hard to control, we do our very best to assist from the Front Desk Agents should noise become a problem during your stay.
We would like each and every guest to have a quite yet fun and memorable stay. Thank you again for your review!
Sincerely,
Liisa Acheson
Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.5 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#18 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.1 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charlton's Banff Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing