We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calgary to Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Douglas Firs in a Loft in The Lodge suite. It was clean and spacious and the kitchen was useful for making our breakfast. We didn't use the pool as we were out and about viewing all that Banff and the surrounding area has to offer. Having a parking space was a bonus. We were pleased to learn that we got free bus travel into Banff and back.

Room Tip: Our room 415 had a small veranda and a very nice view of Rundle Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

I did come to Banff many times allready with my kids. There is so many place to stay that it's difficult to judge where it's the best.
I was very pleased to stay 3 days at the douglas fir resort & chalet for the first time, as the unit with one bedroom and kitchenette has a lot of space, it's clean, it's a nice decoration. For a family with 2 kids, it's the best with the flat tv in the bedroom. The kitchenette is bigger than usual kitchenette and there is more stuff than expected.
Even when kids are not that interested to see landscapes and walk around, we can still do it on the morning then they can enjoy the pool and the 2 amazing waterslides and also the playzone. It was a nice time, we all liked it a lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view as our has so many trees in front of the balcony, we could not see the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraBBQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Chose the Douglas Fir Resort because it is pet freindly plus had reasonable rates for families. We were upgraded to a family suite for the same price as a one bedroom chalet. Rooms clean, large and well presented. Water slide a huge bonus for young children. They also enjoyed the playground.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed in a loft suite this August. There was a good amount of space for all of us and the kitchen had enough equipment to make a meal. Everything was rather dark, gloomy and a little shabby but it was clean. The indoor pools and slides, although fun, were so heavily chlorinated that the girls did not want to keep going. There was a nice indoor and outdoor play area which went down well but all in all the place is rather soulless. Don't expect to be in the centre of Banff at this place--it is on the way up Tunnel Mountain, surrounded by other hotels. There is a free shuttle bus service provided by Banff town. A good breakfast can be had at the Rocky Mountain Resort on the opposite side of the road--pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Great facities, very friendly staff, fully equiped apartment - just what we needed after having spent the first three nights of our vacation in individual hotel rooms.

Will be looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Mount Rundle suite - excellent for large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here with Friends, we had a one-bedroom condo, that was clean...and had everything we needed. We're planning on turning this into a yearly mini-vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyoffour2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Nice view. Clean excellent lodge with fantastic wood burning fireplace.
Free bus service to downtown Banff, which allowed us to have a glass of wine with our meal at
a good pub.

Room Tip: Best cabins are from 141 to 150 with a good view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,190 reviews
1 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,244 reviews
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,513 reviews
1.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $166 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing