We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time, and it still impresses....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Can't say enough about the douglas fir and what a great family spot it is...this was our second stay, and will not be our last. They recently replaced the water slides and look to be making small improvements throughout the property. We stayed in a studio suite while some friends of ours stayed in a loft suite within the lodge. Both rooms were super cozy and had everything one needed.

If you are looking for an inexpensive family getaway, this is the place for you. It doesn't break the pocket book, and has everything you need including: free waterslides, free pool, hotttubs, giant play zone, fully stocked kitchenettes, wood burning fireplace with free wood, free wifi throughout the resort, indoor heated parking (for some suites), beautiful mountain views, flat screen tv's with plug and play features.........the list is endless.

Room Tip: we really enjoy the suites in the lodge...can stay inside to get to all of the amenities, and get fr...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reddon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Our two giant waterslides, hot tubs, saunas, steam rooms, private guest pools and indoor playzone certainly mean kids (big ones too) aren’t stuck for things to do! Our onsite grocery store, liquor store and laundromat certainly provide the luxury of convenience for our guests. Our friendly wildlife neighbours also make sure you receive a warm welcome. Thank you for staying at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
There are newer reviews for Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is second time my entire extended family (10 adults, and 14 kids in total) planned a winter weekend away at Douglas Fir and we can't wait to come again! The well equipped kitchen allowed us save significant $$, as we did not need to eat put, and our room which was a loft in the main lodge easily accommodated nearly all my family for a communal breakfast in the mornings!

The pool and play area were a tireless source of fun for the kids, and even the adults had a good time racing eachother on the waterslides. There are are also beautiful walking trails on the grounds, giving us ample opportunity to guess what animal made the various tracks we found.

To top it off, friendly staff made our trip extra enjoyable. Would definitely recommend staying at the Douglas Fir, especially during the low season when prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lockhartinlacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments. From your review it seems like you and your extended family had a fantastic vacation with us. Our full kitchens in every room help our guests save and you certainly seemed to have made the most of them with cooking breakfast for 28 family members! Our location on Tunnel Mountain means you have the unsurpassed access to the best trails in Banff and not to mention wildlife at your doorstep. Next time you visit you may wish to consider one of our 3 Bedroom Family suites that accommodates 10 guests and will provide the family with even more space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

From the time you check into the Douglas Fir you feel like you are 'home'. The staff is unbelievably friendly and the resort is amazing!

We stayed in a loft suite inside the hotel, the most amazing thing was we didn't have to go outside when we had our bathing suites on (as we travelled in the winter) The one thing that I never thought of was flip flops... we had to wear our boots to the pool!! The pool/waterslide area was amazing the kids LOVED it!!! We did stay over a weekend and it got a little busy but not too bad just a couple people wait to go down the slide.

The playcenter in the hotel is GREAT!! It was awesome to sit and enjoy my coffee while the kids ran about :) My twins were a little small to get themselves up on the levels though (2 years old) so I had to go up a few times to help asist a few times.... but it was fun to be a kid again!

The room was also great, the wood burning fireplace was a hit with all of us, we had at least 2 a day! Very clean and had everything that we required.

I recommend this hotel on all levels!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that you felt at home during your time at the resort. Our giant indoor playzone is perfect for parents and kids alike and we designed it in mind of parents who want to assist their younger children/play in the playzone themselves. We will certainly pass on your positive comments to our staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My wife and I and our two children just stayed here last night, and I must say that I knew nothing about this resort since my wife had made the reservation. However, it was a kid's paradise with not one, but two waterslides and a fun Playzone area. Even Dad had a great time on the waterslides.

Jana was extremely helpful and friendly and did a great job of explaining where things were, with the exception of directions from our 3rd floor room to the pool area. She told us to go down to the 2nd floor and across the parkade, but we found out after our first trip barefoot across pavement that we simply needed to go the west end of the 3rd floor hallway we were already on and just take the stairs to where we wanted.

The point of this is to not criticize Jana - who would be an enormous asset at any hotel/resort - but to mention that the layout here is fun for people into labyrinths, but not so fun if you're not careful to read signs or don't enjoy climbing up and down several staircases to access the pools and waterslides and entering the parkade to access the Playzone. But I guess being a family-oriented resort, maybe this sort of bizarre design was intentional.

Speaking of bizarre design, let me discuss the underground parkade. Our satisfaction with the idea of underground parking was very short-lived. If you're unfortunate enough to have to park in the lower level, hopefully you will not encounter another vehicle coming your way up/down the ramp because one of you will have to back up to let the other through - unless perhaps both of you happen to be driving Smart cars. And once you arrive at your assigned parking stall, hopefully you will not find another vehicle parked there because there seems to be the absence of the enforcement of the towing policy when somebody else's vehicle is parked in your spot.

We showed up to park in our assigned stall only to find another vehicle already parked there. After reporting the license number to the office, we were informed a short time later that they didn't know whose it was (even though guests are required to write their plate number when they register), and instead of having it towed away like it should have been, since it must not have belonged to a guest, WE were asked to move (we had parked beside it) and park in the lower level. To say that this was a MAJOR inconvenience near the end of a long trip and busy day is an extreme understatement when all we wanted to do was relax.

To top that off, the area behind our stall seemed to be the place of choice for not only the wood cart but also some golf cart that was parked there when we tried to leave this morning that hadn't been there before. That part of the parkade is hard enough to back in to/out of without clutter in the way; we were fortunate that another guest was nearby who offered to guide us out of there without wrecking our van and/or their property.

Anyhow, back to the good news which I must emphasize FAR outweighs the bad-parkade news. The rooms and hallways didn't have strange or stale odors like most places, and the waterslides and pools weren't slimy or moldy, meaning the resort seems to be well-kept overall. We did not visit any of the on-site stores, so we cannot comment on those.

We loved having the kitchenette in our room and the option to get the fireplace going if we wanted to. The room was quiet plus the beds more comfortable than perhaps any other hotel/resort we've ever stayed at. We liked the new flat-screen TV and the DVD player and all the modern "connections", although I could tell by the rather slow wireless internet that they likely offer something like Shaw Lite-Speed as opposed to a fast option.

To top it off, we also had a rather large balcony that would be excellent in the summer, but nonetheless offered a great view of both Rundle and Tunnel Mountains in the cold of winter.

So the parking debacle aside, which was NOT a good first impression by the way (and for which I have to deduct a rating point), this resort redeemed itself by the other amenities. I can't possibly think of a better place for a family to spend their time in the Banff area, and look forward to what a summertime visit would have to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a nice view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that your overall experience at the resort was very positive, thought we do regret that the parking situation was not ideal for you. We are not able to modify some of the physical components of the parkade, however you have highlighted a few services areas that we can certainly improve upon. The resort first opened in 1946 and our waterslides were first installed in 1985 (thought we just put in brand new waterslides in Dec 2011). As the resort developed and added more amenities, this has led to the creation of some unique hallways for our guests to explore. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with great service, clean rooms and outstanding amenities and we are excited that you were able to experience what we have to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed in a bachelor suite complete with kitchen and a lovely mountain view. While the room itself is pretty simple and far from flashy, there were plenty of touches that show the resort staff are proud of what they're offering. All the dishes and utensils were stored/displayed nicely and we had a number of dishwashing towels to choose from (seems like a non-issue but when you don't have enough supplies to clean your messes, it's a total pain).

There were big fluffy stacks of towels in the bathroom and little shampoo/conditions/lotion bottles as you'd expect. We were also supplied with a couple packets of coffee and two teabags. Would have liked to have coffee filters in the room so we could brew our coffee from home, though.

The hot tub and pool were great. We stayed mid-week and never encountered anyone else there. Didn't have a chance to try the water slides, unfortunately.

Not only is the price right for the bachelor at this time of year, but the service was great too. I forgot a couple items in the room and when I called the hotel, they were happy to UPS them to me.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZoeyDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you for your great review. Our Bachelor Suites while being our best value option, still provides all of the same amenities as all of our other rooms including great mountain view from the balconies Coffee filters are provided in all rooms and are located in the coffee packets themselves. Perhaps better signage on our part would help communicate this better to our guests. We would love to have you stay with us again (if only to ensure you try out our waterslides next time). We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We came to Banff for a hockey tournament and the whole team stayed here. Great place to stay especially for families. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were great, clean with full kitchen. Waterpark and indoor playground were great, and no extra cost for it, the team loved it !! Just minutes from downtown by vehicle. Free bus service. I sat in the lobby reading while waiting for my son and husband to finish swimming, it was really neat to hear so many different accents from staff and other guests, it has such a great atmosphere. We only got to stay for two nights but vowed that we'd be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your recent stay. We love accommodating hockey teams and they certainly seem to love our giant indoor waterslides, indoor kid’s playzone, private guest pool, games room and more! It’s fantastic to hear you made good use of everything we have on offer and we would love to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed in a suite with a kitchen and fireplace. Kids loved LOVED the giant indoor playpark and waterslides - all free too. Seemed a bit far out from downtown banff but you get free bus service from the hotel. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLTSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are extremely pleased to hear your kids loved our giant playzone and two indoor waterslides (we see your kid’s thumbs up as the ultimate approval). Our free and unlimited bus service for all of our guests certainly makes it convenient for you get downtown. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,071 reviews
1.0 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
966 reviews
1.6 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $156 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing