We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Family fun:)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family fun:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

What a great way to spend time with family! Our one-bedroom with loft unit was roomy enough for 6 to sleep comfortably- and for all 14 of us to gather for a casual meal.
My only complaint is that the upstairs loft tended to get too warm.

Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear our One Bedroom Loft Condo provided all the space you were looking for and we will be sure to pass on your comment regarding the room temperature. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    385
    147
    61
    33
See reviews for
593
136
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This place can't be beat for a fun get away with family and friends. Ski all day and enjoy the watersides and play centre in the evening. Our kids love this place. Very inexpensive and so much fun.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OsikaAirdrie_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It’s good to hear about your stay with us and that everyone had a fun time using our amenities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Douglas Fir Resort was a great get away for our family of five including three boys under the age of six. We stayed in a loft condo which was a bit rustic, but had a very convenient/practical layout with all the amenities a family needs. The loft area had 2 full size beds (for the boys) with separate washroom and wall mounted TV. The main floor had a combined kitchen/living room with wall mounted TV including access panel, wood burning fireplace and balcony, separate bedroom with a third TV for the parents and a full bathroom. The total area of the unit was not large, but the space was well used and did not feel cramped. The kitchen was well equipped for our needs.

The indoor playground and the waterslides were great entertainment for our boys and only a short walk from our room. Overall, the resort provided great value.

This is the first time posting a review on this web-site, but after the valuable information that I have gained previously from the TripAdvisor, I felt compelled to contribute.

Room Tip: We preferred a top level loft condo further away from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We certainly have enough to keep a family busy (especially with three boys under five) and it’s great to hear our in-room amenities as well as our pools, watersides and giant indoor Playzone kept everyone entertained. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed the last weekend of Jan and dont have a single complaint about this place. This was our first trip to Banff and would return to this hotel in a heart beat. Great Kids play place, Waterslides and great friendly Staff. We had deer come right up to our sliding glass door and they even let us pet them- once in a lifetime experience and great pictures. We enjoyed having a full kitchen in our place and enjoyed the wood burning fireplace. The suite was clean, beds werent too bad and they even had a little store and liquor store on site which is convient. When we make a return to Banff one day I will Only Stay Here.

Room Tip: Room 177 is in a great location and thats where you can sit and see all the deer eating and they wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear you and your family thoroughly enjoyed all of our fantastic amenities, not to mention our friendly wildlife neighbours! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Douglas Fir Resort in Banff (Feb 2012). It was our first experience at this hotel, although we have been eyeing it for awhile. We got a great opportunity to stay there for two nights on a last minute price drop on the website page. We are a family of five with kids aged 9, 7, and 3. This is a great hotel for ages up to 12 because of the huge indoor playground. This place entertained for hours. The water slides have a limited window of usage but a lot of fun regardless. The other pool is a great option if you don't want screaming kids in the background, but it is not located in the same area so if you do have kids, it is one option or the other. Fitness room is adequate and there is a games room for the video buff.
The room we stayed in was a loft in lodge room. Who knew that stairs in the room would entertain the kids that much! The kids stayed upstairs and it was great having a real fireplace to warm up the place. We didn't give five stars cause there were some glitches along the way. Room keys would not work properly, and the decor was only okay. We had a puddle of water from the radiator which they never fixed during our stay. Other than that, service was excellent and we had a great stay. FYI-your room key acts as a free bus pass if you don't want to deal with parking downtown and the indoor parking onsite was a bonus in winter.

All in all, our kids had a blast and with mountainous views right outside your bedroom, who can complain. I would definitely recommend this resort but wait for a special that makes it worth the expense. It is Banff, so everything is expensive. The resort wasn't five star, but the memories are.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheahan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It’s fantastic to hear everyone enjoyed our two giant indoor waterslides and kiddie’s playzone. We have a number of great promotions throughout the year! You can stay connected with us through our Facebook page, Twitter account and e-mail list for all the latest information on our best prices! We’re delighted to be a part of your family memories and we hope to be part of them once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legal, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Douglas Fir Resort is set up well for families. The rooms are cozy with wood fireplaces and plenty of wood to burn. The kids liked the murphy bed in the living room while we have a nice private room. Although the cabin was older, it was well maintained and the kitchen was full equipped. The waterslides are lots of fun and the hot tub was a great place for parents. The store that is attached to the facility made for quick snack runs after supper. I would definitely stay here again in the future. We got a good mid-week rate. My only complaint is that I find this place a little too expensive on weekends and if I am out all day and just looking for a place to sleep there are cheaper places in Banff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeannieSmallTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have a number of rooms and condos which provide private bedrooms for that much needed quiet time you deserve while on vacation (especially after a busy day on our waterslides!). We certainly have a lot of added value when it comes to our resort; with fully equipped kitchens which help families save, free firewood, free wireless internet, free and unlimited access to the town shuttle bus, free parking and not to mention our waterslides, private guest pool, hot tubs, saunas, steam rooms and giant indoor playzone which are all free of use to guests staying with us! When it comes to price, we have a number of great promotions throughout the year. You can stay connected with us through our Facebook page, Twitter account and e-mail list for all the latest information on our best prices! We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

From booking the reservation to checking out was a great expierence. Everything was so easy with the website when I booked our condo. Also on the day before we checked in I found out our dog sitter couldnt make it, I called to see if we could get a condo the was Pet Friendly and they helped me out right away. When we arrived early the we really accomadating us with an early check in. They helped me booked trips around the town of banff. Overerall everything was great. I found it to be like checking into a home away from home. The pet friendly condo didnt even seem like previous pets had stayed there, everything was so clean and comfy. I was coming down with a cold on our way to banff, and it had really taken over when I arrived. Even though I was sick I still had a great time, I honestly think it was cause I was really comforatable in our room, and was able to rest and relax Everytime I go to Banff I will be staying here.

Room Tip: Pet Friendly Condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCharles04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your great feedback. It’s fantastic to hear how ‘at home’ you felt during your stay with us. With our cosy rooms, fireplaces and fully equipped kitchen, we pride ourselves on being your ‘home away from home’. We are extremely pleased to hear how our staff went above and beyond to accommodate your every need and we will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments. Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.1 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.8 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing