We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic holiday at Douglas Fir”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Yet another fantastic holiday at Douglas Fir, this time with the whole family (9 of us in two condos) for 10 days. Service excellent and can't praise the staff enough.

Facilities also excellent and something for all of us from from 2 years old through to 63. Kids and adults alike loved the water slides, and the fitness centre was great for the adults. Everyone enjoyed the visits from the deer and squirrels, and the younger children loved the Playzone.

The condos are roomy, extremely well equipped, with comfortable beds, flat screen TVs and plenty of storage space. At this time of year, the log fires (logs provided free of charge) were very welcome after a day out in the snow. We will definitely return on our next visit to Canada.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words on your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear that our staff went above and beyond your expectations and we will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments. We genuinely look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Douglas Fir Resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

We went to Banff to ski and the Douglas Fir Resort was a fantastic place to enjoy before and after the day. With the generous breakfast shopping offered at the beginning of the stay to the waterslide by night, the kids had a great time. Saw lots of elk right outside the window of our room. And, enjoyed the fireplace in the evening. Short drive up to Sunshine! Will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Water F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you so much for your review. Our Cook Your Own Breakfast package is a hit with a lot of families for the convenience it provides with groceries already in your fridge on your arrival. Be sure to check out our variety of year round packages if you’re thinking of staying with us again in the summer. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

What a great way to spend time with family! Our one-bedroom with loft unit was roomy enough for 6 to sleep comfortably- and for all 14 of us to gather for a casual meal.
My only complaint is that the upstairs loft tended to get too warm.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear our One Bedroom Loft Condo provided all the space you were looking for and we will be sure to pass on your comment regarding the room temperature. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This place can't be beat for a fun get away with family and friends. Ski all day and enjoy the watersides and play centre in the evening. Our kids love this place. Very inexpensive and so much fun.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsikaAirdrie_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review. It’s good to hear about your stay with us and that everyone had a fun time using our amenities. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Douglas Fir Resort was a great get away for our family of five including three boys under the age of six. We stayed in a loft condo which was a bit rustic, but had a very convenient/practical layout with all the amenities a family needs. The loft area had 2 full size beds (for the boys) with separate washroom and wall mounted TV. The main floor had a combined kitchen/living room with wall mounted TV including access panel, wood burning fireplace and balcony, separate bedroom with a third TV for the parents and a full bathroom. The total area of the unit was not large, but the space was well used and did not feel cramped. The kitchen was well equipped for our needs.

The indoor playground and the waterslides were great entertainment for our boys and only a short walk from our room. Overall, the resort provided great value.

This is the first time posting a review on this web-site, but after the valuable information that I have gained previously from the TripAdvisor, I felt compelled to contribute.

Room Tip: We preferred a top level loft condo further away from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We certainly have enough to keep a family busy (especially with three boys under five) and it’s great to hear our in-room amenities as well as our pools, watersides and giant indoor Playzone kept everyone entertained. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed the last weekend of Jan and dont have a single complaint about this place. This was our first trip to Banff and would return to this hotel in a heart beat. Great Kids play place, Waterslides and great friendly Staff. We had deer come right up to our sliding glass door and they even let us pet them- once in a lifetime experience and great pictures. We enjoyed having a full kitchen in our place and enjoyed the wood burning fireplace. The suite was clean, beds werent too bad and they even had a little store and liquor store on site which is convient. When we make a return to Banff one day I will Only Stay Here.

Room Tip: Room 177 is in a great location and thats where you can sit and see all the deer eating and they wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear you and your family thoroughly enjoyed all of our fantastic amenities, not to mention our friendly wildlife neighbours! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Douglas Fir Resort in Banff (Feb 2012). It was our first experience at this hotel, although we have been eyeing it for awhile. We got a great opportunity to stay there for two nights on a last minute price drop on the website page. We are a family of five with kids aged 9, 7, and 3. This is a great hotel for ages up to 12 because of the huge indoor playground. This place entertained for hours. The water slides have a limited window of usage but a lot of fun regardless. The other pool is a great option if you don't want screaming kids in the background, but it is not located in the same area so if you do have kids, it is one option or the other. Fitness room is adequate and there is a games room for the video buff.
The room we stayed in was a loft in lodge room. Who knew that stairs in the room would entertain the kids that much! The kids stayed upstairs and it was great having a real fireplace to warm up the place. We didn't give five stars cause there were some glitches along the way. Room keys would not work properly, and the decor was only okay. We had a puddle of water from the radiator which they never fixed during our stay. Other than that, service was excellent and we had a great stay. FYI-your room key acts as a free bus pass if you don't want to deal with parking downtown and the indoor parking onsite was a bonus in winter.

All in all, our kids had a blast and with mountainous views right outside your bedroom, who can complain. I would definitely recommend this resort but wait for a special that makes it worth the expense. It is Banff, so everything is expensive. The resort wasn't five star, but the memories are.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheahan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It’s fantastic to hear everyone enjoyed our two giant indoor waterslides and kiddie’s playzone. We have a number of great promotions throughout the year! You can stay connected with us through our Facebook page, Twitter account and e-mail list for all the latest information on our best prices! We’re delighted to be a part of your family memories and we hope to be part of them once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,087 reviews
1.0 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,195 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.6 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $160 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing