We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids and families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for kids and families”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Waterslides and hot tub! Room was very well appointed with all the dishes, bowls, cork screws, etc we could want to use. The pull out bed was actually very comfortable!! Never had that happen before! Carpet etc in room were not brand new, but nice enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecharaniafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets. I’m pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay. We recently replaced a number of our sofa beds to provide the perfect nights’ rest for our guests. We are in a continual process of updating our rooms and amenities and we appreciated the useful comments you have provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banff in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    409
    162
    69
    39
See reviews for
640
140
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We spent 2 nights here and we were happy enough. Clean quiet and of course lots to see and do.

Room Tip: We were on the main floor which was nice because you could go to the store or where ever by walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We were initially only going to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying an extra night as our family of 5 enjoyed it so much. All of the staff that we had contact with were very friendly and always helpful with advice and maps! The view from our room has so far been the best on our 5 week USA/Canada trip with fantastic views of the snow covered mountains. On our first night we saw deer eating out the front of our deck which was pretty cool. The room was big enough for us all with the kids watching TV in the upstairs loft. The log fire was also a nice touch especially with it snowing outside. The kitchen was nice to have to cook our own meals after eating out so much over the last few weeks. The inside playground was also enjoyed by our 3 kids along with the great pool/slide area. The spa pool was great to relax in after a great days skiing at Sunshine Village. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5KiwisinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is the second time we have been to this property in less than 6 months. Our kids (aged 4-8)love it and never want to leave! The hotel offers so many great activities that you need to stay at least 2 nights in order to spend the time enjoying them. Waterslides are fantastic but the kiddie pool leaves a lot to be desired. It is a tiny, colder water space with play slides that move around. The main pool is a great size and was just the right temperature for both of our visits. Life jackets were available for the kids in both areas. The changerooms in the main pool are not as nice compared to the waterslide area. Showers spray water all over the place and have very hot water. Indoor kids playground is large enought to keep the kids busy for quite awhile and accomodates lots of children. Plenty of space for parents to sit and wait. All amenities were exceptionally clean.

The rooms are incredible! Full kitchens and loft spaces in the larger rooms alllowed us to cook breakfast in the room (grocery and liquor store on site for extras). Kids could snack and rest in the room between activities. Quiet rooms made for a great sleep. Scenic views and wildlife outside our windows added to the relaxation. Lots of space and privacy. we loved having a bathroom in the loft area for the kids.

Some nice extras the hotel offered were packages that included groceries in the room and gift certificate for a restaurant. You can also travel the town bus for free with your room card. It stops across from the hotel and takes 5 minutes to take you to downtown Banff. Great service all around!

I definitely would have given this hotel a 5 except for the showers in the change rooms and a few cosmetic changes needed in the rooms - nothing that affected our stay. We love this hotel and plan to make it a favourite family get away for years to come!

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are in the same buidling as the pool, waterslides and playground so you do not need to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. It’s great to hear how accommodating you found our spacious loft units, holiday packages and family friendly amenities. May I also thank you for your feedback on where we can improve; we welcome all comments and use them to provide a better customer experience for our guests. Thank you for your repeat business, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Three of us shared a cabin. Plenty of room, very clean and cozy!! We definitly will be staying at Douglas Fir our next visit in Banff!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lybrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for your great comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, SK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a great 2 night stay at Douglas Fir! They had a play pen and baby gate to keep things safe. The kitchens were well equipped to cook a few meals in our room. The on-site grocery store is more of a convenience store (limited stock and somewhat high prices), but the Safeway in town was about the same as the one back home. The play area had a little corner somewhat sheltered from the big kids for our 11 month old to play and watch the chaos. We can't wait to go back - hopefully with some other relatives to babysit for us.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom condo had a great murphey bed in the living room - no fighting over who gets the pull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uncannycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I’m so pleased to hear your fantastic stay at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets. Our kitchens are certainly convenient for family meals, plus they help you save on dining out in Banff every night. If you’re looking to take the night off from your little ones, check out our Mom & Dads Date Night package which includes a $40 dinner voucher and 3hrs of professional babysitting! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

this was our second stay at the douglas fir, and we had a blast. the first stay we were not there long enough to enjoy it all. this time we had two full days, and got to enjoy it all.
for the kids, they just wanted to play 24-7, which was great, since there was free wireless accessible from the indoor playground, I was able to sit back and relax while they ran around and burned off energy. again, I must not the cleanliness of the play center is unheard of. I have never ever seen any such play area so clean. a difficult task in such a high static and 'self supervised' environment.
for me, I thoroughly enjoyed the wood fireplace, and large open room. we had the basic studio condo with the kitchen, double bed and pull out. the kitchen allowed me to save tons of money on food, and the larger room with lots of lamps meant I didn't have to sit in a dark room while the kids slept. the free bus is awesome, and the indoor parking was so nice, especially when it snows as much as it can there. the liquor store and convenience grocer on site saved me a few trips downtown too.
My room was located just over the wood chopping area of the garage, right by the door, so I did get a lot of noise during the evening from people using the axe, and the door opening and closing. was sort of annoying, but all in all everything was pretty great.

Room Tip: the rooms are sort of a maze, so if you have a lot of luggage or small kids to get around with, it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review on your recent stay. It’s wonderful to hear you had a great time and I will be sure to pass on your fantastic comments to our staff regarding the cleanliness of our giant indoor kids Playzone! We do have a very small number of rooms located near our parkade entrance. For your next visit please don’t hesitate to request a quiet room as we would be more than happy to accommodate your needs. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,027 reviews
0.2 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.0 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.8 km away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 33 in Banff
787 reviews
1.8 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing