We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountains and White Tail Deer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stay in Banff on an average of 4 times per year. Our stop now is always at the Douglas Fir.
Nice fireplace and balcony. We had a half dozen white tails right up to our balcony. The view of the mountains is spectacular! Free bus service to downtown and return.

Room Tip: Rooms 145 to 150 offer the best view, although 170 t0 180 are adequate.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Director of Sales at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets time and again! I’m pleased to hear how accommodating you find your stay and how much you enjoy the wildlife visiting you each morning. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly so I can ensure you our best deal for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,028)
There are newer reviews for Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Booked a 3-bedroom suite ($500) mid-April 2012

+ all 3 bedrooms in the same suite, awesome for big family together (or not??)
+ big dining table, kitchen, lots of plates/glasses/utensils
+ B/c suite is indoors above parking garage, it has Elevators
+ Kids PlayZone was a hit, for kids
+ LCD TV, gaming console/interface (didn't use but nice to have)
+ Can order delivery to room (we ordered Boston Pizza, $4 delivery charge, and CC machine worked at our room door, whew~)


- Iffy Internet signal
- Far away from town, needs to drive. Bus is every 30-40 mins
- 3-bedroom suite is inside, not a standalone unit
- Parking garage indoor is nice, but my 15-passenger van is too tall for it so we had to park outside
- didn't get suite 421 which faced the mountain view. We got 422 which faced the Tunnel Mtn Rd

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerryHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you so much for your review. Our 3-Bedroom, 4-Bathroom Family Suites are our newest edition to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets and I’m thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in one. Do note that all of our Family Suites are located on the North facing side of the hotel with a view onto Cascade Mountain, alongside our Loft in Lodge rooms (421 included) on the top floor of the hotel. Please don’t hesitate to mention room requirements, such as a view, when making your next booking with us. We do our upmost to accommodate all requests from our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We wanted a night getaway with our baby (5 months old). Since we live in Calgary, we decided a night away in Banff was close. We stayed in a one bedroom condo, which was well equiped. The kitchen had all the basic needs. The bed was quite comfortable and we liked having the gas fireplace. The shower was powerful and there was alot of hot water. We took our son to the pool (as the kiddie pool wan't open until 10:00 AM) and it was quite cool (he teeth chattered). We sat on the edge of the hot tub abd splashed warm water on him. I can see when our son is older that we will come here and make use of the waterslides and play zone. Overall this is a great place for a family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadian Travel Bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! We’re happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Douglas Fir Resort and I’m pleased to hear you had a comfortable nights rest. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments regarding the temperature of our kiddie pool so we can improve our services for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed in a pet friendly room which was a little worn but too be expected with dogs in there every night. THe room was very spacious and well equipped. Great location if you have dogs as you can walk them on site with ease. We had an emergency situtation which meant that we had to ask for a later check out and the front desk staff did not hesitate to give us what we needed and offered assistance - first class response. I would recommend for families and those travelling with pets. We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you so much for your comments! I am extremely pleased to hear how well our staff handled your emergency situation. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Front Desk Agents. I look forward to welcoming you back to that Douglas Fir Resort once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

So nice to wake up and see deer grazing right outside of your balcony. This hotel is away from the hub-bub of downtown, in a nice quiet area, the rooms are clean & large and the woodburning fireplace with kindling ready to go was a great touch! The water slides are nice and the guest only pool is nice & relaxing. Will be coming back again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choochiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for your review on your recent getaway at the Douglas Fir Resort. I’m happy to hear how much you enjoyed our beautiful location away from the hustle and bustle of Banff Avenue. Our quiet rooms with cosy fireplaces and full kitchens certainly provide the comfort and convenience you need for a perfect mountain getaway. For our best deals and prices for your next stay be sure to stay connected with our Facebook page! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Waterslides and hot tub! Room was very well appointed with all the dishes, bowls, cork screws, etc we could want to use. The pull out bed was actually very comfortable!! Never had that happen before! Carpet etc in room were not brand new, but nice enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecharaniafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets. I’m pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay. We recently replaced a number of our sofa beds to provide the perfect nights’ rest for our guests. We are in a continual process of updating our rooms and amenities and we appreciated the useful comments you have provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banff in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We spent 2 nights here and we were happy enough. Clean quiet and of course lots to see and do.

Room Tip: We were on the main floor which was nice because you could go to the store or where ever by walking...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,077 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,149 reviews
1.0 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
974 reviews
1.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $158 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing