We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
C$128
Fully refundable before Fri, May 3
Get rewarded with One Key
Official Hotel
C$135
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
C$126
Fully refundable before Fri, May 3
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Dale S
Calgary, Canada
Family friendly accommodations away from the busy town site.
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 19, 2024
Family friendly lodge, we found it comfortable and very spacious. Kitchen and full size appliances. Wood burning fireplace in most units.
Water slides and indoor/ outdoor hot tubs. We have been here a couple times and have enjoyed. Will be back.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Lodge is somewhat dated, but was clean
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$299
  • Hotels.com
    C$329
  • Agoda.com
    C$276
  • Expedia.com
    C$329
1.8 km from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Free Wifi
Booking.com
C$327
  • Hotels.com
    C$329
  • Agoda.com
    C$299
  • Trip.com
    C$329
1.4 km from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$225
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$269
  • Agoda.com
    C$204
  • Expedia.com
    C$269
1.4 km from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Free Wifi
The Fox Hotel and Suites Exterior Winter
Booking.com
C$197
  • Hotels.com
    C$229
  • Agoda.com
    C$178
  • Expedia.com
    C$229
0.9 km from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$156
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
  • Vio.com
    C$145
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
2.7 km from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$289
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$289
  • Vio.com
    C$225
  • Expedia.com
    C$289
0.6 km from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Booking.com
C$496
C$459
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$459
  • Expedia.com
    C$458
  • ZenHotels.com
3.7 km from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$162
  • Hotels.com
    C$169
  • Agoda.com
    C$151
  • Priceline
    C$169
2.0 km from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Free Wifi
Free parking
Fairmont
C$2,512
C$2,459
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$2,459
  • Hotels.com
    C$2,459
  • Priceline
    C$2,459
2.4 km from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Pool
Restaurant
StayForLong
  • Official Site
    C$159
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Banff
Reviews (1,287)
Filter reviews
1,287 results
Traveller rating
363
510
205
108
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
363
510
205
108
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor playground full kitchen play zone murphy bed bedroom condo wood burning fireplace main building convenience store outdoor hot tub free bus downtown banff underground parking waterslides dishwasher mountains units laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,287 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2024

Absolutely awful. The checkin was terrible, lady was very rude, felt very uncomfortable. We were maybe 5 people total staying at the resort, asked for a late checkout and was offered 11:30 am. Very confusing considering no one was staying at the resort. The carpets were disgusting, I could feel the dirt and dust on my feet, stove did not work, front door was very hard to open and close. Carpet has not been vacuumed since last summer Im sure, there were pebbles with every step we took. Bedding is from 1980 Im sure. Could be such an incredible resort with better front line staff and a few upgrades as well as better cleanliness. Bring your own bedding if you stay!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank I3247YRms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 19, 2024

The resort as a whole is dated and could use some upgrades, but it was very cozy and reminds me of "old" Banff when we used to go as kids. We were there during a cold snap, and, even though it was a bit cold by the windows (normal for anywhere in -45), we found the rooms cozy and had no issues with the cold. The rooms had a wood burning fire place with the resort supplying the wood, which was a nice perk. Underground, heated parking was very welcome as well (if you stayed in the lodge, but if you were in the cabins - they would give you a spot inside if you asked). Overall, yes - dated and needs up dates - but cozy and great for families and groups!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank loves2travel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 6, 2024

I was very disappointed with our stay at Douglas Fir. We had stayed a couple of years ago and had a great experience. But it appears that there has been no maintenance done or attention paid in that time. The hotel room was falling apart - hot water didn’t work, toilet didn’t flush, beds were very uncomfortable, and it just felt old and run down. The play place was dirty and we never saw it being cleaned. The hotel pool was shut down until further notice. The water park was open for limited hours - but the water smelled awful and left our skin feeling quite sensitive (we all showered well afterwards). I am so disappointed in how run down it has become. It used to be my top recommended accommodation for families. Now I tell people to stay away and look elsewhere.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Krista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 18, 2023

Sadly this Banff resort is well past its best-before date. While it is definitely more affordable than many Banff hotels, there is good reason. The decor dates from the 70s or 80s. Any repairs or updates have been done piece meal. We stayed in a 1-bedroom unit. While the kitchen was usable, there was not one comfortable piece of furniture. The bed sagged, the pillows were lumpy. The housekeeping was questionable. We accidentally broke a glass and with no broom or rag, had to wash the floor with paper towels. The filth on that floor was disgusting! Do not walk around barefoot in those rooms. The redeeming amenities there are the waterslide park and the play zone, making it good for families. But it's definitely a hangout for skiing buddies who are there to party through the night

Room tip: Bring cleaning supplies with you, including a carpet cleaner! Any maybe your own linens. The bedspreads are definitely from the 1970s - EW!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SueT1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 7, 2023

This is the first negative review that I have written for a hotel. The hotel had some good reviews so I did not expect it to be a dump. It looks like it hasn't had any maintenance for years - old, dirty carpets, paint peeling off wooden areas, cracked concrete outside our exterior door with a fallen downpipe in the walking area. For our first night we had cold showers as the hot water was not working. We couldn't sleep because the fridge sounded like a jackhammer. They also had the room's heat on - you couldn't change it - so the room was uncomfortably hot. The safe didn't work, the exterior doors didn't open properly and the fittings in the room were medieval. At least it was clean and you got a view of some mountains. The place is not located in Banff town either - you need to catch a bus to get to the town.

We complained to the woman at the front desk about the problems with the room, and asked for another room to move into. She said there wasn't another room that we could move into. She wasn't interested in helping and obviously had heard it all before. She sent a handyman to fix the problems. He couldn't fix the hot water so when we came back to the hotel later that day there was a note that we would need to move to another room - funny how another room magically appeared. In the next room that we were given the hot water didn't work again, but this time the hot water didn't work in the hotel at all. The fridge in the 'new' room was just as noisy as the other one and the room was just as dingy. This room was also hot and I spoke with a lady in the unit next to me who had the same problem.

On the plus side the kitchen was clean and well equipped and the hotel room is spacious.

Please take notice of the unfavorable reviews - they are accurate.

Room tip: Don't stay there unless you absolutely need to.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 127cathym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews