We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“maze leads to the rumpus room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“maze leads to the rumpus room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Look its a great deal - but trying to find building B to go A and then to the rooftop hot pool without changing room to a corridor leading to a parking lot and then to what looks like a motel was interesting. The bar was like going to Little Jimmy's dads rumpus room bar with wood panelling from the 70's where you could mix cherry brandy with blue curacuao and Galliano.
I thought it was a pretty good deal. Appeared to be a lot of children running around screaming so pray you dont live next to a room with the little monsters because that is going to ruin any romance you want to have - screaming children in a hotel is sure way of preventing conception.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from families who are on a skiing trip. Prepare to beam back into your dad's wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaj k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    309
    311
    197
    146
See reviews for
309
401
44
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We had a great time skiining in Canada and the hotel was a good functional base, although it did feel very dated. The Room was huge but the bathroom was very small. Outdoor pool was great as was the basement bar and food was ok.

Main issue was after a days skiing it was quite a hike and maze inside the hotel to get to your room. Overall though it was Ok and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Banff is extremelly expensive though for eating and drinking!!! We spent £2500 just on food and dink for two of us over a 10 day period and that wasn't being silly just functional food with the odd nice meal!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you took advantage of our huge outdoor hot pool with its spectacular mountain views. It certainly is a wonderful place to relax after a hard day on the slopes. 'The Bears Den Pub' as you mentioned is a convenient and cozy place to retire to afterwards for food and drink in front of the live sport on our wide screen T.V.s. For guests on their first visit the hotel may be difficult to navigate, but our friendly front desk staff are available twenty four hours a day to help with directions and provide maps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Being a frequent traveler to Banff, I've stayed in various hotels with this stay being my second at the Inns of Banff. This time I booked my room through a travel agency (Marlin Travel).
Check In / Check Out:
Check In was very fast and easy. They will ask for your credit card to hold a $50 retainer for incidentals. I have yet to check and see if it has been refunded back on my card before I can state if there was any issues with that. We wanted a little more time before checking out and simply called the front desk and were permitted to stay until 1pm (instead of checking out at 11am) without any issues or additional fee's.

Parking:
We stayed in the Swiss area of the complex. There was no parking available in front of that area, however they do provide complimentary indoor heated parking which we used. It was a bonus considering the cold climate in the mountains in the winter.

Room:
The hallways appeared (and smelled) to have been freshly painted. However our room (#111) was a different story. The first thing that I noticed was that the overall appearance looked worn out. I then noticed that the ceiling which was made up of 12x12 ceiling tile had a TON of screws in it one area. It made me think that maybe they had some kind of mechanical issue (heat, plumbing etc.) that needed to be repaired at one point but no one cared enough to repair the ceiling properly after the fact, or perhaps it was simply shoddy workmanship in installing the tile all together. Regardless, It made me instantly feel like we were staying somewhere that was a little on the shabby side. The bathroom was very dirty! There was "stuff" that appeared to be old toothpaste on the counter top and in the sink, the bathtub being the worst with obvious ring marks that were noticed right away. In the morning we discovered that the drain in the bathtub was very slow and stood in a couple inches of dirty water while showering. Not very appealling at all. Now we know why there was rings in the bathtub! We only stayed the one night, otherwise we would have called the front desk for a new room or at least for this issue to be cleaned up.

Staff:
As previously mentioned, check in was great. Fast and effective service with no issues even when using a travel agent to book it for us. However, there was a room that was apparently being loud late that night (even though we didn't really find it bothersome) down a couple doors. The guy at the front desk kept coming to our room and telling us that he received complaints about us!!! We were pretty confused and I insisted that he had the wrong room. He kept coming back and then threatned to have us removed if we did not quiet down! Later he came back again, only this time with a security guard. I told him that it was very obvious that the noise was not coming from our room as my friend was already asleep and I was in my pajama's. I became very annoyed at this point and asked him if he EVER heard any noise coming from our room when he was in the hall, in which he admitted that he had not. He did not return after I confronted him and told him how I felt about being harassed especially after coming to my door after my friend was asleep. I will be filing a formal complaint about this issue directly with the hotel as I feel that the conduct of the staff was reckless and careless, especially approaching a room that contained two woman travelers late at night. The better approach would have been for him to first investigate where the noise was actually coming from then proceed from there. We feel very uneasy about this situation. We have stayed in Banff on numerous occasions and have never ever had any issues with noise violations, so this is very surprising!

Beds:
The beds were ok, but older. The pillows were nice, big and fluffy!

Location:
It is located on the edge of town, but with a very easy drive or long walk to downtown. You can also take ROAM (their bus system) to downtown. Most bus stops will tell you exactly how long until the next bus will arrive at your stop (which is a very cool feature!) or you can catch a cab for less then $10 CAD.

Amenities:
Restaurants, pub, gift store and hot tubs are on site. We didn't use any, so we can't honestly comment on this.

The hotel is very confusing to get around! You will need to request a map to figure your way about!

Overall, I would personally recommend seeking other accommodations while staying in or around Banff. It was a little over priced for what you get and there are other places around (or a little more) that would have offered a much better experience.

PLEASE NOTE!:
My rating on "service" is based on overall experience, therefore the guy who kept coming to our room as previously mentioned did make an impact on the score. The front desk upon check in / check out was great! Sleep quality was obviously also affected by this gentleman who kept coming to our door.

Room Tip: In order to make your stay more pleasureful, be sure to let the front desk know right away about any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank icannotthinkofaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your valued comments. The public areas of our 'Swiss Village' building have indeed just been fully updated with new carpets, paint and fittings and of course we would have immediately taken care of the maintenance issues in your room if we had been made aware of them. My apologies if the actions of a staff member caused offense during your stay and rest assured that extra training will be given where required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a very good time at Inns of Banff, for the price that we paid I feel that we got great value. The staff were friendly and very helpful at all times, the room was a good size and well maintained. With the hot pool as a huge positive I would say that the place does itself justice. Realising that the Inns of Banff could do with a facelift and modernisation I am happy to give 4 out of 5 for the review. Recommended for friends that are looking for a good deal in the area and easy access by under 15 minute walk to town centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am very glad to here you enjoyed your time at the hotel and found us to be great value for money. Our large outdoor hot pool is a wonderful facility with outstanding mountain views and I am very please to hear you enjoyed using it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here over Xmas & New Year had a good stay. My room was large & clean & the bed was very comfortable, the only minor issues would be more wardrobe/cupboard/storage needed (which could easily be fitted into the large room) & the heating was noisy & a bit too cool (don't know if all rooms are like this or I was a bit unlucky.) The reception staff are excellent, very helpful & friendly. The staff at the Bear's Den pub (downstairs) are very friendly & the food is very good. Though on the very edge of town the complimentary bus service is regular & reliable. Free ski lockers & safe are provided on request & the outdoor hot-tub is great (there is also an indoor pool & jacuzzi that I didn't use.) Ski buses stop right outside the front door. Overall, I would recommend the hotel - it could do with "sprucing up" but the staff more than make up for this.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We are extremely proud of all of our staff and I am glad to hear you found them to be helpful and friendly. I am also delighted to hear you found the complimentary bus pass useful for traveling the short distance to downtown Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Despite booking at the busiest time of the year ( New Years), there are certain characteristics to this hotel that can hold true regardless of the date. Simply put, this hotel is outdated and in need of a major renovation. Throughout the hotel, the carpets were filthy and the decor was rank. The mountain facing king suite which we paid $480 for was unforgiving on the senses, the bed uncomfortable. The best thing of the room was the mountain view, and the two sinks and large bathtub, I felt they played it up immensely, trying to sell its 'features'.The sushi joint upstairs was uncleanly.. trays were placed on top of the vents on the floors, and the well weathered carpet did nothing for our appetite.. which needed all the help it could get if we were to actually eat the food once it arrived, which, to put it mildly was uneddible.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bubblegum101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The hotel is serviceable and has parking (not covered). 4 of us headed to banff for a weekend and got a discounted rate using out SUTP coupon and on Sunday the two that didn't want to ski got some free passes to the hot springs that are near town.
It is not near the centre of town - we walked to dinner which was OK since it was only -5 but we cabbed it home as we were exhausted.
The hot tubs at the hotel are nice and big - roof top also so you can admire the view before it gets dark. Because it is open for all guests there's rules about drinks in the hot tub so bring your 'adult' beverages in a coffee cup or travel mug. Some small ish towels are provided and there are lockers for your stuff nearby. I'm not a big fan of hot tubs at hotels but this one was OK. The rooms are OK too, clean but for sure needing updates.
Not bad for $99/night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ProudCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear you took advantage of our large outdoor hot pool, but please accept my apologies that hotel rules do not permit food or drink of any kind in this area. The hotel does provide complimentary transit tickets for those guests that prefer not to walk to the center of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.6 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.2 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.8 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.4 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Property: Inns Of Banff
Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff
Inns Of Banff Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing