We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
147
362
402
260
201
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
362
402
260
201
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus pass superior room free bus banff avenue the main street mountains skiing passes roam rockies snow
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Great view, and great place!! Seems a little sketchy in the beginning. It looks really bad when you open the door initially and look at the steps you have to walk up (we stayed on the first floor in block D) but when we saw the room it was great!!! Had three rooms, two bathrooms. Each room had a tv, we had a great view (not the mountains but it was green all around) and there's a bus pass included which takes you into town, to the gondolas too. The bus is right opposite the inn. It was super clean, kitchen was fully stocked up with plates etc. Overall it was great!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Zoya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2016

This hotel is one of the first hotels you will come to when you first enter Banff National Park, so it's a bit of a walk into town but definitely doable, especially on a nice day! The hotel staff were friendly and check-in fast; clean public areas, balconies and rooms; beds and bedding were comfortable and white (not dated like most other hotels)! We stayed in Room 549 - it had 2 queen beds, full bath, extra counter and sink, desk area, table with 2 chairs, flat-screen TV, mini fridge and balcony. NOTE: this hotel only has air conditioning in the hallways - none in the rooms! This didn't pose a problem for us, however, because we left our balcony doors open during the night. Pricey for a hotel but not for Banff - this hotel is reasonably priced compared to others. Coffee, tea, toiletries, blow dryer, fan and free wifi were very welcomed additions. Had breakfast at the restaurant on the main level and found both the staff and food exceptional.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GirlsTripsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

Ok...here is the list.

Balcony door didn't lock and are easily accessible by your neighbors, so we had to take our belongings with us to make sure we weren't robbed.

None of the security doors to the buildings are secured.

The rooms are hotter than Hades and, of course, there's no a/c.

The sheets were ripped.

The rooms have zero art and were in need of renovations 20 years ago, so you can imagine how dated they look now.

Lavender soap is all that's available. Believe it or not, not everyone likes lavender and I don't like my man reeking of that. He shouldn't smell girlier than me.

The shower doesn't have good water pressure, doesn't drain well and has the hottest water ever.

Apparently, the Do Not Disturb sign was invisible, as housekeeping knocked on our door before check out time and interrupted us at an inconvenient time.

We explained all of the issues to the front desk upon check out.

They said they'd make it right with us next visit, even though we make our home 10 hours away and this was our first trip ever.

As fate would have it, some bold weather rolled in after check out, forcing a Plan B option to our camping plans. We called the front desk and explained we would consider coming back the same day and what would they do to try and improve our experience?

After 3 hours of trying to call the hotel with no answer, calling their toll-free number and emails, we finally reached the front desk girl, Anne, who checked us out earlier in the day.

What the management was willing to do to "make it right" was to offer us a room 2 floors higher up in the hotel building that had a microwave at $10 more than what we paid the night before.

This door did lock but when you opened the windows or balcony to let in some fresh air and cool off the room, it kept rattling the front door from the suction draw all night.

Then the door wouldn't accept our key card when we returned from dinner.

Wow...thanks for making it right.

This kind of customer service, or lack thereof, can't be ignored by the public.

Don't let this hotel group get away with this kind of shoddy customer service.

Abysmal. Not what I would expect in a town like Banff.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank OneBumKnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

the room is simple, but had everything we needed. the bath maintenance left a little to be desired, perhaps new curtains and remove stains would appear more hygienic. but care for the animal was very good, they left a bed for my dog, along with a new toy, pots for water and meal and also snacks. I loved, unexceptional.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Daniella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Our room was booked via Canadian affair on the Rockies drive tour from Calgary through the Rockies to Vancouver. The hotel is very tired, dark, and depressing. The poor English receptionist was embarrassed each time we complained. We were first given our accommodation in the Swiss village. Which is a building to the right of the hotel. The room was very dark. Every door and door frame was scuffed and scratched so badly it looked like a grizzly had stayed. Door frames were painted dark green........? Why? The carpet filthy. The bathroom was dingey with a shower curtain that obviously had some history. We had a small balcony that was decorated with cigarette butts and burger bun cases. Within the hour we were there I counted 9 coaches reversing feet away from our balcony. Thought we'd take a look around and as we were leaving our room we happen to meet another British couple who were just as unhappy as us and warned us not to eat there. That made our minds up we decided to complain. We were given an upgrade to a room on the far side of the complex. It was much better, brighter and larger although there were definitely signs it was past its sell by date with the decorating and the furniture could do with updating. I did spot that the bathroom wasn't that brilliant with cleaning only to the bits on show. But the beds were comfortable and bedding clean. We had a fair nights sleep - no noise. The internet is slow. Do not purchase from the vending machines as chocolate is melted. I think the only plus point was as the hotel is the last from the town we were given complimentary bus tickets for the length of our stay - which meant we could hop on the bus into town which took 5 minutes and eat without having to use the car each time. My advice would be save harder and visit a different hotel for your visit

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jlegg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews