We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, great location”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay, great location”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel April 2 and enjoyed our stay. The location is wonderful. It is in the middle of the shops on Banff Ave, but also the tour busses for skiing and other events is located behind hotel. Rooms were nice. Bathroom could use some upgrades / lighting/ maintenance but was a clean, spacious room. Good front staff at check in and departure. Nice overall stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was pleased to see that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. You are not the first person to comment on our fantastic location, it is very convenient indeed. I will pass on your comments to our front-desk staff. They do try everyday to serve our guests in a timely manner and with professionalism. As for our bathrooms, you will be happy to know that renovations are slotted to start in the fall.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    406
    253
    119
    59
See reviews for
212
516
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great place to stay in Banff. A little pricey but worth it. It is in the centre of town close to everything and is clean and very comfortable. Tea and coffee in the room.....but no fridge That would be great ! I would defiantly stay there again. Beds were very comfortable too.

Room Tip: We chose a room at the back incase there was a lot of street noise. I don't think there would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodielee22565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to see that you had such a good experience while you were staying with us. I have to agree with you. Our location is perfect, no vehicle needed at all, everything is within walking distance. I was also glad to see that you liked our beds, we just changed them all recently. I will pass on all of your nice comments to our staff, thank-you.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we do take them to heart.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We arrived March 17th only to find our reservation cancelled. Front desk informed us that our reservation was cancelled, and they were full, but, put us in a suite for same rate! It was beautiful! Couldn't ask for better service or better room! Absolutely wonderful! Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Banff! It's on the same street as the candy store (yum), we went across the street to The Keg for dinner, which was very good, you can park and walk to your heart's content throughout town. Perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: Great room, great value, good service. Even though over a pub, very, very quiet! Room faced front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGEdmonton_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I’m not sure what happened with your reservation but I was happy to read that my front-desk staff took very good care of you. We do spend quite a bit of time training our staff to better serve our guests. I’m glad to see that you went to the candy store, it is an institution in Banff. Next time you visit us, make sure to try Tony Romas located inside the hotel and their famous ribs.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we do take them to heart.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, NC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is an older hotel with character. We stayed in a standard room which was small but comfortable. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of Banff walking distance to everything with an easy in easy out convenient parking lot. Area bus stop is right across the street for comfortable reliable transportation in the metro area if needed. Pub in the basement has good entertainment and is a friendly atmosphere.. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoinLexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very please to read that you had such a good experience while you were staying with us. I will pass on your nice comments to our staff. Location, location, location, I couldn’t agree with you more, seconds away from all that Banff has to offer. You will be pleased to know that we are in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms. They will look more modern and feel more comfortable.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel is in a great location. We stayed in the older part of the hotel in March (unusually warm March). It is still nice, clean and a good basic room that included a bar fridge, coffee maker and a tea kettle. The reason we have rated this a 4 and not a 5 is because the windows do NOT open in the old part. The room thermostat is set at 72F. I like it warm but this was too warm for us, so we turned it down substantially. After being so warm the first night and not being able to sleep well, we enquired at the front desk about the heat. We were told that the cooling system was not on in the winter (make sense) but the only way to cool our room off was to turn the heating system off. We did so on our second and final night to no relief. Had we been able to stay in the new part and open a window, it would have been great.

Room Tip: Stay in the new area of the hotel that has windows that open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyDanesRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was happy to read that overall, you had a good experience while you were at the hotel. We are an older historic hotel, some of our rooms do not have windows that open you are correct but most of our rooms do. We are currently in the process of renovating all of our room with new furniture’s, accessories, etc… I do agree with you that our location is unbeatable, seconds away from all that Banff has to offer.

Once again, Thank-you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The first time we stayed we booked a "romantic" package and they gave us a room which had a view of ... WAIT FOR IT...the side of their own building! How frickin romantic! They did nothing to change our room when we complained. We did not get a reduced rate when we booked so I didn't get why we got such a crappy room. The breakfast wasn't all that impressive.

We gave it another chance and stayed there again. This time we got a joined room and out neighbors had a dog which barked all night. Again the hotel wasn't willing to relocate us.

We will never stay there again. The service and maintenance isn't great either

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russian_queen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very sorry to read that your latest stay did not meet your expectations. First, let me assure you that we do not assign guest rooms based on rates. We always try to give the best room available at the time. If one of our guest in unhappy with his or her room, we do everything in power to help. We can offer a different room providing occupancy permits, this can be a difficult task when we are sold out or close to it.

Once again thank-you for your feedback and I sincerely apologize.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Arrived after a 9:30 hour flight to find confirmed superior room with King size bed was unaavailable as hotel had no record. Offered superior room 234 with twin Queen beds overlooking Banff Avenue. The room was extremely large and also had two armchairs and a table as well as the normal chest and desk. The bathroom was however the smallest I have seen in years. It could not accomodate two people and if the shower curtain was pulled across the bath due to the inedaquate lighting you could barely see the controls. The bathroom was also unheated, bear in mind it was very cold outside and snowing, and the electrical connection to the hairdryer would not be allowed in Europe! The beds were good but again power and light were thin on the ground. The hotel is badly in need of a complete refurbishment and survives on its history.

Room Tip: Ensure you are in the main hotel and not in the south wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was sorry to read about the confusion on check in. Our superior room with king size bed and superior room with 2 queen size beds are the same room category. We do allocate those rooms based on availability. As for the rooms itself, you will be happy to know that we are currently in the process of renovating all of our rooms. New furniture, etc… The lighting in the rooms will be much more adequate once the renovations are completed.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback and we hope to see you in the future.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,255 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 33 in Banff
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,434 reviews
0.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.9 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Mount Royal Hotel Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing