We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$267
Vio.comUS$267
eDreamsUS$251
PricelineUS$251
TripadvisorUS$251
Algotels
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,988)
Filter reviews
1,988 results
Traveller rating
978
626
266
89
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
978
626
266
89
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chimney corner eagles nest west wing hot tub chair lift first tracks ski school early season spring skiing ski hill ski resort lift tickets your luggage gondola ride mountain lodge ski lockers loft room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,453 - 1,458 of 1,988 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2016

My new bride and I spent 4 days and 5 nights here at Sunshine Mountain Lodge. Everything was first class. However, there are a few things you need to know before booking this hotel.

A. This hotel is located near the top of the mountain and is only accessible by an enclosed gondola. You cannot drive to the hotel and if you are arriving before or after the gondola closes, you will need to make special arrangements with the hotel so they can either drive you up the mountain or drive you down. They use a large SUV (at least in the winter) with tracks to transport you up and down. It's actually really cool!

B. The restaurant located in the hotel is good, but very pricey. You may want to ride the gondola down and drive into the town of Banff in order to get decently priced food.

Other than that, our stay was absolutely wonderful. The view was breathtaking, the room service was prompt and courteous, and the outdoor hot tub was incredible. The rooms come in a variety of sizes, but ours (one of the smaller rooms) was perfectly fine for the two of us.

Room tip: Make sure (if you are traveling in the winter) to rent an SUV if you are driving in from Calgary. The roads can be treacherous.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mark B, General Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

First off, congratulations to you and your new wife, Mike.

I am so thrilled that you chose the Sunshine Mountain Lodge as your honeymoon destination. It sounds like our team went above and beyond to make sure you had an excellent time which makes me very happy.

All the best to you in the future and we hope you will stay with us again.

Warmest regards,

Mark Bell
Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2016

We got a great deal which made booking this room for slush cup ideal. Normally it is way over priced and not worth the money. Loved the ease of being able to go back to the room to take off layers or relax.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mark B, General Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Thanks for the review, Trish.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time at our Slush Cup event.

See you next season!

Mark Bell
Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2016

We were there for 3 nights and 4 days.Great atmosphere, staff was friendly and helpful( concierge, front desk, housekeeping,lounge and restaurant staff, hope I did not miss anyone) Check in and check out seemed to be more efficient than in past years Clean rooms, good beds and meals, though the assistant chef needs to learn or take the time to be able to separate egg whites from the yoke. One of our party was allergic to whites, so this does limit breakfast.After we discussed it with the food manger it was done,nice not to have to go that route.Great hot tub. Nice room amenities such as housecoats, in room coffee and tea,etc. Not much could be done with mother nature., unseasonably warm,we choose not to ski, but they did a good job of hosting a successful slush cup, We had enjoyable.time.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank larry383
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mark B, General Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, Larry.

I'm always glad to hear when our team members go above and beyond and it sounds like they did so in your case.

See you next season!

Best regards,

Mark Bell
Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2016

We had a great time, the staff was friendly and knowledgeable, the room was fantastic and the restaurant was great. As a tip, don't forget they have a great games room too. Security was top notchhhhhhh

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mark B, General Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Thanks for the review, Tyler.

It makes me very happy to hear that your stay was top notch-- I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the entire Sunshine Mountain Lodge team.

All the best and we'll see you next season!

Mark Bell
Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2016

Went for the Saturday night of Slush Cup weekend. All staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed a good meal and good service at the lounge. On check out, we were offered concierge help to get our bags to the gondola, help we should have excepted because it was muddy out front and we didn't want to drag out bags through it! Hardly Sunshine's fault, blame that one on Mother Nature and the unseasonably warm winter/spring!

Let's hope for more snow next year!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K686LFleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mark B, General Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the slope-side Sunshine Mountain Lodge.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself during our final weekend of the season and that our team members made your stay even better.

On behalf of everyone at Sunshine Village, we'll see you next year!

Warm regards,

Mark Bell
Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews