We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round hotel”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great all round hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed the stay. We had a ddeluxe room with a balcony that faced the back of the hotel and it was really nice. We had coffee/tea making facilities, a fridge and free wi-fi. Beds were super comfy and I got less activities done because I didn't want to get up! The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful too.

There's a coin op laundry onsite - it's $2.50 a large load. Have your loonies and quarters handy :)

Yes, the refrigerator makes a bit of noise but we unplugged it for the night. No big deal. And the trains do blow their horns nearby but not after about 11pm. So there's no reason not to stay here!

Room Tip: We had room 224 - recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Thank you for your review; so happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge! Look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Banff.
Christy – Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    614
    158
    56
    27
See reviews for
291
736
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for 4 nights in December. We booked directly through the hotel website, which offers a variety of special offers and packages. The hotel is positioned on the main street of Banff, just a 5 minute walk into the centre of town. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, modern and tastefully decorated. The hot pools were enjoyable after a day of winter activities. The hotel includes breakfast in the tarifs and has a free heated underground carpark. Overall, a modern hotel, with very good facilities and friendly service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiekeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerkom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here in January and were very happy with the free underground parking poss. The rooms were big enough and well maintained. Also pool area was nice. Only suggestion (and this would just put the dots on) would be the offer of bath robes and more variety on breakfast buffet. For the rest staff was really helpfull and friendly and defintly will be going back!!! very good location also.

Room Tip: would advice premium room, 3rd level, mountain view w sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvranckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Rooms are modern, clean and nice but on the small side. The rooms on the second and third floor are on the outside of the hotel so in the middle on the first floor they have the hottub and a small pool. This means that you need to walk "outside" toget to your room. Breakfast is small. You can make toast and there are some jams. Besides that you have cereals and some fruits.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GvP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We booked 5 nights at the Aspen in January. We stayed in a superior room for a great price. The room was spacious, clean and modern. The "in room" coffee was even superior. The hotel staff, regardless if they were behind the front desk or cleaning always greeted us. The hot tub/ steam room area was clean and maintained with towels. The hot tub was especially welcomed as we were in town during the -30 degree weather. The continental breakfast included a variety of fresh baking, fruit salad, yogurt, cereals and toast. The servers in the breakfast area were always hard at work. The underground parking was also a bonus,again because it was so cold when we were there. Obviously not for us but the rooms do not have a/c which I don't believe would ever be needed. We would definitely book here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We had a corner, superior suite which was large and not located along the hot tub corridor. This lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mi4Sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

To sum it up: we had to the choice to stay at the so-called 4.5* Rim Rock for the same price as the Banff Aspen. We are delighted to have stayed with the Banff Aspen due to location, bed/room layout, free breakfast, family friendly approach, and excellent customer service.

The location could not be beat. One block from the Safeway and Just two blocks from the 'action of downtown banff'… close enough to walk to everything… far enough to avoid all the crowds and noise. Tight but plentiful parking along and below the hotel. One thing I wish could be fixed was the wifi… new access codes had to be obtained from the front desk daily and the speed was as slow as any dial-up I had in the 90's. I was told this was partially due to the remote location of the room.

We otherwise got a great room (Superior category). Access was along an outside walkway. Towards the end corner of the hotel. Top floor. Very quiet. Perfect for our family (2 adults plus two children) with one king in one room, two twins in another room. Between the rooms was a walkway with two sinks and a separate bathroom with a toilet and shower. There was a small fridge perfect for holding lunch items for the day. The breakfast downstairs was more than adequate although it could use the (low cost )addition of hard boiled eggs. There were two hot tubs, a sauna, and a steam room… all of which was open to kids.

The hotel is not super fancy… if you enjoy that, I recommend that you stay here and eat your dinners at the Fairmont Banff Springs… all the glamour, views, and terrific food of the Fairmont with the lower lodging cost, better downtown location, better rooms, and family friendly atmosphere of the Banff Aspen.

Room Tip: Top Floor and along the outdoor walkway even though it's a cold run back from the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whirlyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

super hot tubes, and great service, you will like it!!!

And deers at the front door... http://yfrog.com/h7tfjdjj

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertino80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,139 reviews
1.7 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.4 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.5 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel
Banff Aspen Lodge Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing