We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$414
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$374
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$281
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$281
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$281/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$207
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$655
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
US$498
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$438
US$269
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$323/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,645)
Filter reviews
1,645 results
Traveller rating
654
701
188
66
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
654
701
188
66
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolahot tubeconomy roompremium roombreakfast was includedbreakfast staffbreakfast roomthe main streettwo sinksshops and restaurantsthird floorsteam roomunderground parkingski busstayed here for nightsski tripmini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 1,645 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We are a group of 3 from Calgary and UK and stayed for 3 nights in March 2018. We had two queen sized beds and the stay was very comfortable. Our room had the sink outside the bathroom so it made things easier to get ready. The breakfast was amazing and the outdoor hot tub was the highlight of our stay. Great location too. Would definitely recommend for groups of friends, solo travelers, and families.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank heidik85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you very much for your fantastic five star review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the outdoor hot tubs. I also agree that the sink being out of the bathroom can make it easier to get ready. Thank you very much for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you to Banff National Park again.
Thank you,
Monique Hendrickx - Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We came to Banff for a CBC event at the Banff centre Saturday night, figured since we had the kids being watched by the mother-in-law we’d take advantage and make a few days of it (we’re selfish like that). Here’s my personal pros and cons of the place. We stayed in room 112.

Pros:
-Staff here at the front desk are awesome, extremely helpful and very knowledgeable of the area. We come to Banff at least once/yr but travel extensively so we tend to get places mixed up. Any questions we had were answered

-Location is great, very easy to get everywhere by walking. We literally parked the car and didn’t need it the entire weekend.

-The hot tub area within the hotel is really nice, makes meeting people and mingling easy. They’re also quite relaxed with the alcohol policy in the hot tub area which is also a perk, having a glass of red or a nice cold Stella is perfect when soaking in the outdoor tub. Glass is forbidden, which makes perfect sense and also keeps things safe for all.

-The TV’s in the rooms are great, new Smart Samsungs so it made pairing the wife’s phone easy.

-Awesome little coffee shop/cafe just off the lobby. Great coffee!!

Cons:
-Breakfast is less than impressive. For $300/night I was definitely expecting a better spread. Also, our first morning, as we were waiting to be seated (Please wait to be seated sign) rather than come to the front and get us, the elderly fella whistled to us like dogs from across the buffet and pointed where we should sit. Obviously caught everyone’s attention because the whole place stopped and looked at us. We’re not shy people, but that seemed a little ridiculous. The glasses for juice are slightly larger than thimbles and you don’t get your own juice refills, plates aren’t much better. Powdered scrambled eggs? Meh.

-The acoustics in this place are brutal, honestly one of the worst places we’ve stayed for noise. From our room, we could hear EVERYTHING. Bathroom activity, conversations, couples “having fun”, footsteps, kids crying, luggage being rolled around, cleaning staff chatting, etc etc. The worst was toilets flushing, it woke me up nightly, sounded like the drainage pipe is within the wall by the headboard.

-Bed was not comfortable at all, we’re both looking forward to a sleep in our own bed tonight.

-No movies available in rooms, which normally isn’t a huge deal for us but if you’re trying to entertain kids, it might be.

-Shower is set abnormally low in the wall. I’m under six feet tall and had to duck to rinse, not a huge deal but if you’re above six feet tall you’re gonna be showering like Quasimodo.

-NO AIR CONDITIONING!! Grrr. We had our room thermostats off the entire weekend and it was still soooo hot. Made sleeping tough. They recommend leaving a window or patio door open in their guest booklet but common, we have a patio door on ground level facing the main road and our only window at waist/chest level to the hot tub area (pic from our window below) Not really a safe alternative either way you look at it.

-Our fold out couch was gross. We wanted to try it because of the hard bed, but when we pulled it out we found a bunch of long hairs and eyelashes on it. Obviously hasn’t been changed.

There you have it. It was nice to get away for the weekend and we had a great time, probably will look at other options next time however. Happy travelling guys!




Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SBurke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. We are glad to hear that our front desk staff were helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed the coffee at the Whitebark Cafe. The outdoor hot tubs are a great after ski common area to visit and mingle.
We appreciate your feedback very much, bringing these items to our attention is very beneficial to our management team. We are meeting about breakfast improvements this very week, we are unsure why our scrambled eggs may come across as powdered eggs when they are real cracked eggs. It is unfortunate to hear that your did not find the beds comfortable, they are a medium firmness to appeal to a wide range of guests, we will be sure to pay close attention to our fold out couches and apologize that the fold out couch in your room was not to our standard.
Thank you very much and we do look forward to rectifying all of the mentioned issues.
Monique Hendrickx - Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

The room was excellent, outdoor hot tubs were great especially after a long day in the snow. Staff was friendly and accommodating with any request. The breakfast was a 10/10, food selection and quality was best we've had when included with the room, and the wait staff was there to please. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for road side, great view of the mountains.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank awebb293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We pride ourselves on the quality of the foods served in our breakfast room and cafe, we are very happy that you enjoyed it as well. We are glad that you enjoyed the skiing in the area and were able to relax and rejuvenate in our hot tubs.
Thank you,
Monique Hendrickx - Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Had a fabulous 9 days here. This was our 4th stay at the Aspen Lodge and we have no complaints. Staff are friendly, efficient, nothing is ever too much trouble. Facilities are great, with excellent free wifi, free coffee and tea in the rooms with top-ups if you need them. Spa pools a lovely relax after the slopes. Well done!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms: choose the Norquay side
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SEAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

We stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for 4 nights. It was the perfect stay. I chose this hotel because of the outdoor hot tubs...and they did not disappoint. We went in them every day, they were the perfect temperature. The hotel offers a hot breakfast in the morning which is a nice, easy way to start your day. The hotel is located right on the main street of Banff. Within a 2 - 3 minute walk you will be in the heart of downtown. There is an IGA Grocery Store about 1 block from the hotel. The rooms are comfy and clean. Our room had a separate bedroom and seating area with a balcony overlooking Main Street. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hello Stacey,
Thank you very much for your review, we greatly appreciate it. We are glad that you had a chance to enjoy and relax in our outdoor hot tubs and that our convenient location and breakfast were enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Thank you,
Monique Hendrickx - Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews