We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good position”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Rooms good size. Poor lighting plenty of space but noice prevention

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    404
    209
    101
    52
See reviews for
359
480
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

After visiting many other hotels in Banff, we decided to take the cheaper route and try out tunnel mountain. Very affordable and not a bad place at all! My boyfriend and I stayed in the deluxe suite with the steam shower and one person jetted tub and it was very nice! The pool and the hot tub weren't the best we've ever seen, but all and all the hotel was definitely worth the price. The staff could probably handle being a bit friendlier.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent the Alberta family day weekend at this hotel. We rented a one bedroom loft chalet (bedroom with a queen bed downstairs and two double beds in the loft upstairs). The hotel is definitely showing its age. The beds were fairly comfortable but the pillows are old and really need to be replaced. The kitchen needs more dishes to make it easier to prepare meals. The couch in the living area was very worn and grungy (it was kind of gross to sit on) and the t.v. was an old tube style with poor reception on many of the channels. The tile on the floor is quite nicked up and needs to be replaced. The furnace did not work all that well, it and the fridge ran constantly which created noise. The swimming pool was your typical very small hotel pool. The hot tub was in the basement of a separate building and this room felt claustrophobic and definitely in need of a reno.

Parking was a problem. The resort was not designed with enough space to provide a parking stall for each room. Our room,118, had a very narrow parking area between it the the building across the parking lot so if you got back to your room too late you could not park near your room.

Overall the hotel had the basics that we were looking for but considering its condition, the price was very inflated (due to the holiday weekend). I know that many hotels do this on a long weekend but we felt that the price for Tunnel Mountain was far beyond the value of the accommodations. If the price had been more fair we probably would have felt that we made a good choice. We will make a different choice in the future. We have stayed in other hotels on Banff Avenue which we prefer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Well, that was quite something.
First you got to know that we`ve been there in Oct 2008 and had to deal with mice in our wall who kept us awake all night. We had to move to a different unit the remaining nights.

It took me more then 3 years to recover but not completely. My wife had to insist that it was a smoking Expedia deal at 100$ per night with kitchen and separate bedroom. So I did the mistake again, I actually give my money to these guys to be sleepless for 3 days.

Mice were not involved this time, the boiler room was the guilty inadvertent reason. Room 166 sits above the boiler room. It came with extra dose of noise (lets say like 3 fridges that run non-stop in your kitchen) and an extra dose of heat coming through the floor. We kept the thermostat to zero for all the stay and never got the temperature below 25-26 degrees C. (even tough we kept window open all the time)

So when its time to sleep in there, forget it. Too hot, you wake up at night breaking in sweat wondering if you will ever see the sun again.

The hotel was full booked so we had to tough it out in there. They brought us a fan. We slept with it next night and felt a little better exception made me and my wife caught a cold out of it!

Next night, we could have moved but since we were living the morning, felt too lazy to move the luggage, pantry and fridge stuff over. So we tough it out one more time. We put the kids in the bedroom and took the sofa bed thinking we would survive better by the window.

Well, that was not great, the noise was more present in the living room and the mattress was more of a cheap box spring than anything.

It`s got to be the most extenuating 3 day week end I ever had. Banff has so much more to offer than crappy place like Tunnel Mountain Resort, Don`t be fool by their pictures. Everything is old and beat up in there. The kitchen main electrical receptacle was falling apart. The ceiling in the bathroom had water stain. The kitchen faucet has enough flow to burn yourself alive if you use hot water. The door dead bolt bracket was falling apart. The fry pan came from the 60`s. I don't mind steel cast but when dirt remain embedded in it, its useless. Can`t find a spatula in there. No serving ware or cup or glass are the same... Its really the chaos in these cabinet. You will discover the thinnest cooking pot never made in China ever!!! That thing touch the stove and burn instantaneously anything that can be in it...

I manage to lock myself out once and had to wait more then 20 minutes to get a new card. The poor girl at the front desk was alone and dealing with so many issues and check in ... The guy in front of me raise the tone on her cause he was pissed off to wait so long to check in. Its tough to be around this place, it must suck to work there. They must really need money...

Room Tip: Avoid room 166, right above boiler room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youknowwhoIam, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Mr. Breton.
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We do appreciate any feedback we receive and use it for further training and to improve our product.
I apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your most recent stay. Please be assured that we will use this information to train our front desk staff to further highlight and communicate that there are air conditioning units in the sitting area of the unit you stayed in. We will be reviewing the housekeeping shortcomings you experienced and I again assure you that this is not the standard of product we strive to provide to our valued guest. I am happy to advise you that we have replaced the one ceiling tile that had the 5” water mark, the electrical outlet that had a little wiggle in it has been tightened and we have confirmed that the locking mechanism on the door is sound.
Thank you once again for your review, please contact me directly to discuss anything further at your convenience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Loved Tunnel mountain, just up the road from main town of Banff. Lots of trees and nature. Very clean with all amenities. Room layout of loft room great for 6 people. King bed and half bath in upstairs loft. Queen bedroom as you enter. Galley style kitchen with full fridge, stove, dishwasher, toaster, microwave and all utensils you need to cook for 6. Living area has fireplace, comfortable pull out double couch, table and chairs. TV's in living area and both bedrooms. Balcony off main living area and in loft with great mountain views. Deep jacuzzi tub in bath. Resort pool is smaller, but very nice hot tub areas with sauna and steam room.

Only con was really no firewood unless purchase, but we knew that and brought out own.

Room Tip: loft 4plex rooms on second floor very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I hope your review provides useful advice to those future travellers to Banff National Park and all the highlights of Tunnel Mountain Resort!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here recently and we are always pleased with our stay. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and its great for families. I love that they have a kitchen. Every time we stay we always bring food to save a bit on costs. Also having 2 children its not the easiest to go out for dinner.
My kids also enjoy seeing all the deer in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youknowwhoIam, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest, I am so pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us here in Banff, and that you enjoyed the amenities and our wonderful staff. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to your return :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,025 reviews
1.4 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
2.4 km away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Resort Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing