We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, better than basic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hallstead, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean, better than basic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Executive suite: king sized bed, refrigerator, microwave, small sofa, large television, patio with balcony (no view), gas fireplace. Two sinks, hairdryer, jetted bathtub, separate steam shower. We stayed three nights. The room was quiet and comfortable. The premises had one or two busloads of youth/young adults who appeared a bit rowdy when you saw them outdoors, but they were not causing any problems and we could not hear them at all from inside our unit. The premises has a pool, fitness room, hot tub and steam sauna. Breakfast is not provided. There is no restaurant. The only complaint would be the mattress was foam, form-fitting, and sunk in (too much) to your shape. The mattress is probably okay for those who sleep on their back, but uncomfortable on your side or stomach. All-in-all not bad and on the cheaper end of Banff pricing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syv_Peppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    372
    184
    95
    50
See reviews for
320
440
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nice cabin, housekeeping wasnt very good. There was a pile of garbage beside the fire place, and the toilet clearly hadnt been cleaned. Around 12 am upon going to sleep we called the front desk to ask for bedding for the pullout coach and they informed us they didnt have any. This led for quite a cold sleep.Which is ridiculous. I found the front desk quite unhelpful. Ive worked at the front desk of hotels for a very long time, and these were simple requests and they were not met. There were people partying all night in a cabin down the way. It was just unfortunate. It was a lovely cabin with a great view I just with more of our general needs were met.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank islandgirl2413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Tunnel Mountain is a lovely spot, where the Tunnel Mountain Resort is situated you have a bus stop right outside to take you into town, across the road at an adjacent hotel is a convenience store & liquor store so it has closeby amenities for those that do not have a vehicle.

I cannot believe this place is called a resort - maybe 30, 40 years ago when it was built? There are 2 hot tubs, which are very old school (70s style very long pools with steps in them vs. an actual hot tub) - the jets didn't work in one of them, and in the other one only 1 or 2 jets were functioning. The pool is extremely small, if any kids/teenagers are there you likely wouldn't want to be there if you do not have kids yourself.

The ice machine was broken, and when I inquired at the front desk on our first night was told that maintenance had been called and they (front desk) would call our room when fixed. On our second night, the ice machine was still broken so we went across the road to the store & bought a bag of ice.

The toilet in our room was broken, it kept running and running, when I opened up the back of the toilet to play around with it, that was the filthiest and most disgusting toilet I have ever seen.

The rooms are all self-catered, which means they do not get cleaned everyday. This leads to more wear, tear and dirt building up over the years which is now pretty gross. If you are someone who expects a clean room, do not stay here. If you are someone who doesn't really care, as long as you have no issues you need to look at things closely (such as the toilet) then you should be fine.

There is no restaurant or lounge on site - so no room service for those that like that particular feature.

Overall, if you are us who have been to Banff numerous times, and are just looking for a nice place to getaway, if you can get a good deal, then it's okay. But otherwise, if you have never been to Banff before and are looking for a quality, nice stay - spend the money & stay elsewhere. We will look at other properties on the Tunnel Mountain in future as we did like the location, but would probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: The "Executive Suites" have been renovated - they have a new bed, flat screen TV, leather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunflower7829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We over-nighted in Banff at the last moment and found many rooms in town booked up so we headed out to this location. Our room was tastefully decorated and the amenities of the place were okay. For a "resort" title, it seems a little short on "resort". The pool and sauna were on the small side and crowded with teenagers that spilled over into the cafeteria and seemed a little small for the size of the facility. The service was fine; but lacks a bit of polish. I felt more like I was at hoe-down than over-nighting in Banff, but actually for large boisterous families, this place is fine. For couples or single travelers, eh. Stay in Banff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just returned from Tunnel Mountain in Banff. We obtained an email about a special rate for this resort in Nov 2011, and we called and booked a room for 4 nights for April 2012 directly with Tunnel Mountain with a credit card hold. An email confirmation at the special rate was received from the Tunnel Mountain management. No payment or transaction was made with any other organization.
Upon arrival to the Tunnel Mountain, I was shocked to learn that emailed confirmed rate would not be honoured! The reason and excuse given was a 'voucher' was required to get that special rate. There was never any mention of such a voucher on the confirmation, nor during my conversations with the front office staff days before my arrival date! We were decieved and robbed! The reserved and confirmed rate was not honoured, a shocking fact that I have never experienced in my many travels - I am fortunate to be able to travel multiple times every year in many parts of the world (over the past 4 months, travel has included St. Petersburg, Fl, Cartagena, Columbia, Montreal, Quebec, Toronto, Ontario, Secrets in Jamaica, Banff in April, and heading to Europe in May). I cannot trust the poor management or confirmations at Tunnel Mountain, and they have no understanding of the value of customer service, even a repeat customer. Sadly, a good hotel/resort run by incompetent, dishonest people.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jag2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youknowwhoIam, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
As explained to you numerous times throughout your stay:

You called the hotel and told the reservations department that you had invested in a limited time promotion offered through Travelzoo.com which entitled guests to a discounted stay. People who bought into this limited time promotion received a voucher which is used for payment for the room which needs to be presented at check in. All of this is clearly stated on all of the promotional material and communications issued by Travelzoo.com. We issued you a confirmation letter based on information which we assumed was accurate and not deceiving.

When you arrived at the property you informed us that you actually HAD NOT bought into the limited time promotion, but insisted on getting the discounted rate that was no longer available. You admitted to knowingly giving us wrong information at the time of making your reservation. As we are contractually obligated to not offer this discount without inclusion of Travelzoo.com, we did not offer you the Travelzoo.com promotional discount. We did offer you a substantial discount for your entire 3 night stay based on your repeat business which you happily accepted. Over 250 guests have enjoyed and understood the Travelzoo.com promotion without incident or confusion so we are confident that we are acting honestly, with integrity and at a high level of accuracy.
We suggest that in future travels you provide accurate, non misleading information when booking rooms to avoid similar confusions or disappointments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We love this place, and have been going there every winter for years! We always stay in either a chalet or a suite with a wood burning fireplace and a complete kitchen. It's a couple of minutes out of town with more nature (deer looking in your window, etc) than if you were in town. They've done some renovations recently, and our bathroom this year had a jacuzzi tub! But I like using the hot tub near the lobby with the glass walls, so you can look at the mountains as you relax.

Room Tip: The chalets look to the mountain side with no roads - feels like you are alone in the woods. The su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArleneM158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The facilities were clean and function well, service was great, staffs were very friendly.

Room Tip: One bedroom is good for four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettydongliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.4 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Tunnel Mountain Resort Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing