We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great room, for a decent price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great room, for a decent price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2016

Me and my boyfriend love getting away for the weekend in Banff, however we don't have a large amount of money to spend. We love Tunnel Mountain as the room is spacious (with a huge King bed!) and for a good price. The hotel is out of the way of downtown, yet close enough to walk to all the nearest shops. Bus stops are narby and easy to navigate. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2016
Mairi O

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort; I thank you for your comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    386
    191
    95
    50
See reviews for
333
451
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2016

Hotel ok, Room nice and spacious . Parking very tight. Hotel property is very tight. Little Room for a vehicle . Don't bring anything large there. Too tight on the property. Room was comfortable with large bathroom. I would stay again I think but prices could come down.

Room Tip: Room gets very hot at night and need for constant cooling. Balcony door open but lots of traffic on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2016
Don G

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

The property can be tight when the occupancy is high and I am sorry the issue with parking made such an impact on your stay. We do have an underground parking lot to alleviate the pressure of parking which the front desk can direct you to.

I am very happy the rest of your stay was comfortable and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2016

We really enjoyed our stay. Was really nice and the staff was super friendly! We did request wood & a fire on our first night but no one came to our room though, which didn't overly concern me. Waking up to the wilderness just outside the door was refreshing and The kids really loved taking the bus downtown.

Stayed May 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank laceylavonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2016
Laceylavonne

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and that all the staff you encountered were friendly.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing time. The resort is about 1km from downtown which was perfect for me as I didn't mind the walking and the resort has more of a cottage feel because it wasn't right in the middle of town.
The room was great. I had a awesome steam shower and spa tub, a fire place and a balcony along with a super comfortable king size bed. I had really no issues. A lightbulb was burnt out but I really didn't care enough to ask for a new one because there was so many other lighting choices.
All in all, it is place I plan on returning to as soon as possible.

Stayed May 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2016
Heather P

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort.

Thank you again for your comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Decided to stay in Banff an extra night, but previous hotel couldn't accommodate us. Found this on booking.com and really fancied having a suite for 3 adults.
Unfortunately I was disappointed. The resort apartments and environment looked really good on arrival, but unfortunately our suite/ apartment 260 was tired, not clean and in need of new furniture and floor lamp which was wobbly.
The sofa was shabby and really worn. The sheeting on the large queen bed was too small and didn't cover the mattress, the duvet cover was unpressed ( See photo). The wall in ensuite was splattered with other guests toothpaste and the pine cladding needed a good dust all the way across.
The following morning while having a shower the water stopped. Fortunately we had a kettle full as it didn't return. Reception didn't notify us and the water was completely off so we had to check out unprepared for our long journey.
Certain rooms definitely in need of an upgrade.
I emailed about some lost earrings and they were the only place not to reply.

Stayed May 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank drakey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2016
drakey00

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. Our goal is to always insure every stay is as relaxing and care free as possible and I am truly sorry we missed the mark on your visit. I have passed your comments onto both our housekeeping and maintenance manager and we are working diligently to resolve the issues you had. During your stay the Town of Banff did shut the water off to the hotel and unfortunately this was out of our control however I am sorry you were missed as we did inform all of our guests of the outage.

I do thank you for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the Tunnel Mountain Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Being a little (lot) bit of a cheapskate, I found it difficult to find an affordable place to stay in Banff with room for 7 of us. Considering how many people the condo/loft could accommodate (1 queen, 2 doubles and a pull-put), it was a great deal!
I was somewhat concerned with the mixed reviews, but was thrilled with the facility and little touches. As well as the pool (which we had all to ourselves the two times we went), there was a hot tub, steam room AND dry sauna. Towels were abundant and the room included dishwasher tabs, makeup wipes, and other cute touches. There was plenty of dishes and cutlery and even free firewood for your fireplace (I've never seen that offered anywhere else in any of my travels)!
The lady at the front desk Melissa was a joy to talk to as well as extremely efficient in getting you in and out. The Front desk also had a small shelf of books and board games. Lastly, the room included a great book of coupons for Banff stores and restaurants.
Even if you take a look at Air BnB like I did, you won't get this kind of value for a group. I would love to come back and stay in one of the loft units again.

Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2016
Rebecca F

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and Melissa was provided you with exceptional service. It seems you made full use of all our amenities and am glad it was able to enhance and make your stay even better.

Thank you again for your comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2016

The rooms were really nice. Australian girls at front desk were super helpful. The hotel was close to town and close to many hiking trails and the pool. Pool at hotel was good! Hot tub was huge and steam shower and sauna was amazing. We would come back to this location if it wasn't 300 for the room.

Room Tip: Just to expensive otherwise really good
See more room tips
Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sierrachantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2016
Sierrachantal

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and were able to make use of all of our amenities. We do keep our rates comparable with all the hotels in town but depending on room type and number of people staying the prices can fluctuate.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.0 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
1.4 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Resort Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing