We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stay in Banff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay in Banff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed for 3 nights close to down just down the hill by bus or car. About a 15-20min walk but hotel issues local bus pass so its easy to get up & down to town. Nice rooms, clean, cosy, fully stocked kitchen to use, great view from patio as well as just walking out the front door. Clean pool & spa, well worth the visit if you want to be just up the hill from town. Well recommend the stay for family groups and those just touring around.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room as it has a lot of space and small outdoor patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sean484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2016
sean484

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. It is always our goal to insure a relaxing and care free experience and am glad we were able to accomplish this during your stay with us.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    386
    191
    95
    50
See reviews for
333
451
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

Comfortable, good facilities, close grocery store opposite resort. The resort also provides a free shuttle bus down to Banff. Rooms were a bit dark - could do with a bit updating! But overall an enjoyable experience and would recommend

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2016
Peter O

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and were able to make use of some of our complementary amenities. We are in the process of planning a full room renovation which we hope will resolve the issues you had with our rooms.

Thank you again for your comments and I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

We had a suite with a kitchen and living room . Quite spacious ,but had a musty smell . The kitchen fan vented air back into the room , so there was fried food kind odd smell ! And the mattresses needs replacing !! The futon in the living room was bad !!!

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2016
Manny0307

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am sorry you were not overly impressed with your stay with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort, I have passed your comments onto both our housekeeping and maintenance manager and we hope to have all the issues you had resolved shortly.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The resort is in a great location only a few minutes from Banff central by car.
There is a free bus to and from the town which is very handy if you don't have a car.

Other useful facilities are a coin operated laundrette, free pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Another great touch is free kindling and firewood for our log burning fire in our chalet. A little shop is across the road but it is unbelievably expensive!

We had a chalet with a mezzanine loft for our teenage boys which was great. The beds are amazingly comfortable which is a highlight for me as I have arthritis.

There is a very basic kitchenette with only just the bare essentials. Don't expect to whip up any gourmet meals!

The chalet was a little tired and old and the decor could do with updating and appliances replaced.

Overall this place has bags of potential if a bit of money is spent on it, but for us it was OK as we were out most of the time.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cp452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2016
cp452014

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and were able to make use of some of our amenities. As mentioned in previous responses we are in the planning of a full room renovation which we hope to start soon which will not only update our rooms but offer more guest amenities and improve the overall experience.

I am glad you enjoyed our beds and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016

We had a nice big, spacious room with microwave and fridge, the hotel had a pool and spa but we didn't have time to use them. As the hotel is slightly outside of Banff they provide bus passes for guests which is very easy. Unfortunately when we arrived there was hair in the shower, however we asked at reception as we went out and it was cleaned fully when we returned. The rest of the room was spotless.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JillandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2016
JillandCharlie

Welcome home and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. I do apologise for the slight oversight in the housekeeping of your room but am glad we were able to rectify the situation in a timely manner.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We had a suite with King and queen. We arrived very late. And got checked in quickly. Yes it s dated but very reasonable for families with kids. We were concerned about previous reviews about cleanliness.

We were happy with our stay especially with very courteous staff at the resort. We had a bad smell on one of the rooms on the second day. The maintenance person came snd checked thoroughly. He ordered deep clean the next day. They did and the smell went away.

Yes the resort is rather old. But overall, we had good experience and the staff smiles and promptness are to thank for this. Bus pick up and drop to downtown is just outside the front desk and is free. Wifi was reasonable too.

I would stay there again.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank egfamily2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
egfamily2015

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. It is always our goal to insure a relaxing and care free experience and am glad we were able to achieve this during your visit with us. I am glad the staff were courteous and able to resolve any problems you had.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

Stayed early Aug 16 for 3 nights. Led to believe it was a hotel but found it was self catering. Would have been ok if we had had any self catering equipment - had to ask and got 2 bowls & spoons. Toilet unclean on arrival; informed office who sent someone to clean. 3 people arrived to clean room -5 minutes later they left - toilet still not clean. Did it ourselves but at these prices we shouldn't have to! Spa could only be described as disgusting and I would be surprised if any cleaners have been near it this ŷear. We are not fussy travellers and regularly stay in hostels and wilderness lodges. Value for money is exceptionally poor. We did speak to the office and received a small discount but not the point.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2016
Sarah B

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. I am sorry you felt misled about the property as we do advertise we are a self-catering hotel, all of our rooms have full kitchens except for our executive rooms. I have also passed on your comments onto our housekeeping manager as our hot tub area is cleaned daily.

I am glad however the front desk were able to provide you with the cutlery and dishware you requested.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.0 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
1.4 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Resort Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing